We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Chester

Save
Share
Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (292)
Room & Suite (167)
Dining (52)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Chester
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 48 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English
2,177Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 986
  • 782
  • 268
  • 79
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DLStern wrote a review 19 Feb
London, United Kingdom55 contributions106 helpful votes
We found ourselves forced to travel in the midst of the February lockdown, and the team at the Crowne Plaza were one of the only ones willing and able to take us in. Despite the strangeness of the times, the team could not have been more pleasant and accommodating at every point - from navigating the contactless check-in, to delivering the room service only dinner, to laying out a breakfast buffet that given the situation was terrific. Beyond saving us from a homeless evening, the team managed to make us feel welcome and provide a one-night reminder of what hospitality is really like.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Tash wrote a review Jan 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
Due to all the changing regulations, we were struggling to find a last-minute honeymoon option for our wedding in December 2020 but found the Crowne Plaza and they could not have done more to make us feel special and make our stay great! We then had our reception cancelled, so contacted them and they found us a meeting room and put food on for us with less than 5 days’ notice! Our last-minute reception felt like it had been planned for months, the delicious food was served at the right times and it gave us plenty of time to chat and enjoy the evening. Of course, we hadn’t been able to sample the food prior, and we had landed so lucky with the Crowne Plaza, as the food was exceptional and very generous portions for the 14 guests including ourselves. The hotel was stunning inside, very nicely laid out, and spotlessly clean. We then stayed for a week as our honeymoon and felt like VIPs every day. The breakfast was delicious and well stocked, with both full English and continental options available. One day we had this delivered as room service and the portions were just as generous and delivered exactly on time. We stayed half board and each night we looked forward to our food and had great service every night. We would like to thank Ellen for waiting on us most nights and providing exceptional service. They also waited on us for the reception and we had many compliments from our guests on the service received, so thank you Ellen! We also wanted to thank Kim on reception for sorting out our every need. Somehow Kim remembered us every time we spoke and tailored our experience to make us feel so special! We would recommend the Crowne Plaza to anyone looking for exceptional staff, good location and elegant atmosphere. Cannot wait to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Central location, great quality
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
DBowmer wrote a review Dec 2020
Barnsley, United Kingdom3 contributions
My wife and I checked in for a weekend mini break after lockdown! First impressions were excellent and what I would expect from Crowne Plaza. Great check-in experience, Ryan(?) with a Philippines pin badge was super nice and made us feel immediately welcome in Chester. He later called to check our room was nice. No complaints with the room, great views across the racecourse and into Wales. The only thing I could find wrong was the handlebar next to the bath was loose - not an issue for me, but maybe for another guest. Room 154. Altogether a really good stay, would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester
Responded 14 Jan 2021
DBowmer, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely review from your recent stay. Great to read of your ''Classy and friendly'' experience. I really appreciate your specific comments about the team, we all love reading these. Thank you for letting us know about the handlebar in from 154, this has now been fixed off the back of your feedback, thank you! I hope we can welcome you back soon Keep safe Best wishes Sarah Turner General Manager
Read more
Benjamin H wrote a review Dec 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom6 contributions
Stayed for the night with family and can’t complain. The staff were all friendly and accommodating and the room was comfortable and clean. The shower was hot and powerful, which was good. The hot buffet breakfast was a bit cold but there was ample choice on offer. It was nice that check out wasn’t until 12pm, which gave us time for a leisurely morning. Definitely good value as it worked out at around £55 each. The location is fantastic as literally only a couple of hundred yards from Chester high-street. Would visit there again when we return to the city.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester
Responded 14 Jan 2021
benjaminhG7393GJ, Really appreciate you taking the time to leave your 4 star review of the hotel. Delighted you were able to take advantage of our central location with your family and also enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. I hope it won't be long till we can welcome you back to Chester Best wishes Sarah Turner General Manager
Read more
phileas f wrote a review Nov 2020
middlesbrough73 contributions74 helpful votes
We wanted a central location and this hotel certainly ticks that box. It is not a ‘nice looking’ hotel from the outside but the communal areas inside are of a good quality. We had a king deluxe room and I had to check with reception that we had been given the right room as it certainly wasn’t of deluxe quality. There was nothing in the room that made us feel ‘wow’ this is nice so that was a disappointment. The windows seals were poor so traffic noise was an issue overnight and the sound proofing between rooms is poor so again a poor experience during the night. The pool area was fine and average size for this type if hotel. The spa facilities were closed due to COVID so cannot comment on them. You have to book the pool and get 30 minutes. I had to go to reception to ask why it wasn’t open on a morning (staff late).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester
Responded 23 Nov 2020
phileasf2013, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review from your recent stay. I'm sorry to read that the executive room didn't meet your expectations. I'm pleased you were able to make use of our central location in the city. If I could request when you have a moment to please contact me directly on sarah.turner@valoreurope.com so I can follow up on a few of your points. Best regards, Sarah Turner General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza chester hotel chester, chester crowne plaza
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chester Moat House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Chester
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Chester?
Nearby attractions include Escapism Chester (0.3 miles), Breakout Chester (0.2 miles), and Chester Cathedral (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Chester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bean and Cole, Marmalade, and Picanha by Fazenda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Chester located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Chester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Chester?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Chester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Chester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (0.2 miles), Chester City Walls (0.2 miles), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (0.3 miles).