We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Save
Share
Manor Wood Mill Lane Coddington, Chester CH3 9EN England
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (4)
Pool & Beach (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 40 in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
162Reviews13Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 24
  • 10
  • 8
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rob g A wrote a review 5 Jun
Widnes, United Kingdom1 contribution
Lovely site but they have a warden with problems and unfortunately spoilt our holiday,he was nasty and aggressive and needs to be removed before he upsets other campers,he has no people skills whatsoever and we will not be returning......
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Natalie wrote a review May 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom50 contributions11 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay here in a tent. The location is really good, there’s some good attractions near by. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were all clean. There were 2 parks and a swimming pool. The cafe was lovely, we had breakfast here. Only thing that I would say could be improved was the shop having a wider range of products such as meats, but it’s still good to have a shop on site. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Olivia C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Stayed last weekend and was greeted by a friendly receptionist and the owner who couldn’t be more accommodating to us. Had a full English in the cafe which I must say had the best sausages I’ve ever tasted! The staff in the cafe made us feel welcome and we had a gorgeous view of the lake with our breakfast. The facilities are all clean and great for couples as well as families
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
jonesyboy27 wrote a review Feb 2022
282 contributions114 helpful votes
Easy to find welcome at reception friendly and efficient. Fully serviced pitch nice location minor gripe pitch was tight could be a little bit wider as muddy conditions Good facilities with cafe shop outdoor pool fishing lakes Would recommend to families and couples good value. Will definitely return and would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
nickiejones22 wrote a review Oct 2021
Wallasey, United Kingdom36 contributions31 helpful votes
So wow where do I start? Please read this long review, i can't have another family go though what we have just gone through. We come onto manorwood in April as a seasonal pitcher onto a pitch surrounded by mud and still under construction. But we saw the long game, even bought our own seeds to help the grass grow, watered it and looked after it, even though it was muddy and boggin. The pitch flooded everytime it rained. The electrics went off all the time and the showers had no hot water on numerous occasions. When this was mentioned on the private Facebook for seasonal holders the owner Angela responded with "use the other showers " yes with the crying laughing faces,  so professional. I have a screenshot of this too. Once the warm weather arrived some fantastic memories were made met some lovely people around us. Never had an issue with anyone never had any negative issues. Staff all appeared friendly (how false this was). In June I lost my grandad through horrendous and quick circumstances, caravanning was our thing until he moved to Spain with my nan in 2019 so I spent my summer grieving in the place I felt closest to him. At the end of Sept we went to reception to talk about moving pitches to get away from the trees. None were what we wanted so Said we will wait and keep in touch. Asked about the winter season and how it worked it was all explained. Then less than 10 days later we get a phone call to say we had to leave they had multiple complaints about us and how noisy we were and the fowl language and we had been warned. We had never been warned as we never made any noise. Others did but we were normally in bed by 10. So didn't bother us although they wanted people snitching, were not in school any more. We asked when? how? were? why? to be told " I can't discuss it with you my decision is final" We went up to see her she left before we could get there, told reception staff we had a meeting at 2pm the next day. That was made without our knowledge at a time completely inconvenient to us as she knows we work and have 2 small children, not accounting for the fact we also lived 50mins away, we rebooked for a time that suites us, she cancelled. We asked for everything to be but in writing so as its official she still hasn't done that, I wonder why, oh yes because she knew she made it all up and us having it in writing would mean we could take it further as we have proof she lied! Angela is a liar and so so unprofessional. When this was posted on the private group everyone around us said they never heard us and were gutted to see us leaving. Yet all these people were said to of complained about us. Again I have proof of all of this. My 2 small children are devastated and you hurt my children that's not something I will ever forget. Please please look it all up I'm not the only one this happened to. I will await the usual snotty reply as she cannot remain professional and her customer service is shocking. Please also don't hesitate to contact me as I have proof and don't mind sharing this. If your face doesn't fit they just make stuff up about you and tell you to leave. I couldnt bare someone else's children going through this. She also tries to remove any negative reviews or comes back with incrediblely rude responses just proving my point entirely. So I'll await the snotty response to this one too. On Facebook my name is nickie Jones please feel free to contact me to see proof that I can provide that she is in fact rude and a liar. I never thought this would happen I seen us spending many years here with the kids. She destroyed it. If you go and view please go and ask all the other seasonal what they think of her that will tell you everything you need to know. The fact that this place had so many people leave after the first season should tell it all we counted 18 empty pitches when we left and 3 others still had to leave. Please please don't site your caravan here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
carolinelarke123 wrote a review Sept 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom28 contributions8 helpful votes
Just packed up from a great week on this park. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The facilities were modern and spotless, and the pool, tennis courts and games room were great for our teenagers. The on site fishing was great. Caught some lovely 10lb plus carp. Cafe on site was very nice and catered well for my coeliac daughter. All round one of the best sites we have stayed on, very quiet at night as we were next to the fishing lake but some of the other parts near the play area where a bit busier with little children.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
William H wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Great site in beautiful surroundings with friendly staff. Considering it was virtually at full capacity the place and facilities were kept absolutely spotless. Nice and quiet from 10.30/11pm onwards, 3 small fishing lakes if your into fishing and one of these is for family fishing. Great location for exploring the local area and beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Emma-Louise J wrote a review Aug 2021
Warrington, United Kingdom65 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Visited this site 20th to 23rd August with my 2 children. We had a lovely stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Originally when arrived and checked in told my pitch number etc. Drove around and a motor home was overlapping onto my pitch with their awning and electric cable and a tent also pitched too far over. Went to reception and told to pitch on 16.so off I went and all good. There were 2 parks for the kids to explore which they did and loved both. One was in the middle of the tourer area.. An outdoor heated pool which was great. Kids loved it and wanted to stay forever. Had to book 30 minutes slots in the pool which was OK as meant wasn't too crowded but would have been nicer for 45 minutes slots but that's just being picky haha. Nice lakes to have a wander around with great wildlife to see. Loved hearing the birds in a morning. Much better than the noise at night. Decent size pitch and made friends with the fellow tent pitchers.. Only suggestions I would have for negatives of improvements is that the showers are a bit of a pain as not temperature adjustable so was far too hot for my son. Overall cleanliness was good perhaps a few more mops of inside the toilets and showers would be ideal as they did become quite grassy and slippery on a few occasions. Also a dust with a broom up high as loads of spiders and webs. Trust my son to notice haha. Ideally another sink unit for washing dishes would be perfect as was sometimes queuing for that. There's even space next to the existing one so wouldn't be too much of a bother I don't think. Was quite noisy at night. Even after 10pm kids were outside my tent kicking the ball despite no ball game rules. And running around playing tag and stuff which is a bit annoying when mine are younger and were settling down for the night Wasps were a real pain constantly 5 or 6 in the tent and around the parks and toilets obviously not the sites fault but just an observation really definitely needed a trap or something like they had near the front of the park.. There's a lakeside cafe but we didn't try it as my son has additional needs and was flapping about the wasps so we avoided a meltdown. Tennis courts where u can hire the bat's etc and a games room which we did go in but there was a man painting murals in there so didn't want to disturb or get in the way so we didn't stay long. Overall not to bad of a stay, we usually go further afield but decided to stay local as my sister had a young baby but sadly they and the 2 dogs actually didn't end up coming due to the weather forecast
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
steve l wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions17 helpful votes
Arrived on a Friday afternoon and began setting up our tent. We was soon approached by the warden who informed us it looked liked we were a little close to the other pitch , we explained we hadn’t got a peg in yet but would centre it after we worked out what pole went where. “ Is this your first time camping he exclaimed!” “No it’s just been a while” I responded. We finally set up and I sat down in triumph to enjoy a cold drink….. but we got “come on guys you need to move your car, it can’t stay here it needs to go go in the car park come on guys” Was this meant to be a relaxing holiday ? We knew the car had to be moved but to this strict timescale? Strangely the warden wasn’t present when the drunks started shouting, laughing, swearing at 11 o’clock! That said the site is nicely kept with great shower block and pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mark S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Good points. Clean. Beautiful countryside. Quiet on site. Pool and tennis is fun. Bad points. Plague of wasps buzzing around the tents a lot of people were using traps. Cafe on site £7 upwards for a sandwich. Road noise at night, cows nearby very noisy and the dawn chorus from the birds because of the numerous lakes. The owner Angela spoke to me like a 6 year old because I failed to book in two guests I should apparently have pre booked and paid for in advance prior to reception closing for the day. Angela then said her reception team had charged me wrong when I booked and said it was my fault and accused me of being dishonest for not realising the mistake she demanded I pay an extra £60 I decided to leave a night early because of this. (I have done 30 years in the Police and never been accused of dishonesty before) Owner charged me £2.00 for each guest. My Son lost the proximity card to get on or off the site and I was charged £20 for a replacement piece of plastic. (Angela said they are like "gold dust" ) Fishing is extra cost at £7.50 per day per person. You can only book the pool for 1x half an hour slot a day unless you return later in the day and there are free slots. More rules on site than the menu of a Chinese takeaway and if Angela thinks you have broken them be ready to be back in the Headmasters Office. I won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Dutton, Owner at Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Responded 24 Sept 2021
Of all the customers I have had the pleasure of meeting, you are the most memorable, simply because of your rudeness. So rude in fact that you saw fit to return to reception later to apologise for the way you had spoken to me - which I must say was very appreciative and your apology was gracefully accepted. I am astounded that as a police officer you thought it was acceptable to have 3 people staying at our Park but only pay for 2. Shop is small with essentials - we do not pretend to be anything other than a convenience to pick up tea bags, tooth brushes etc, all the items that very often are forgotten by our customers. We are situated in the middle of Cheshire countryside, it is a rural setting, the very reason why the Park is called Manor Wood COUNTRY caravan park, yes the WiFi is not fantastic, try running a business that is reliant on the internet but we are in the middle countryside and not situated on the edge of Chester. Visitors enjoy the bird song, our ponds, wildlife and insects, we have received a national Gold award for our commitment to nature and conservation, an award that we are exceptionally proud of. We do have T's and C's, yes, they will be implemented - else what's the point of having them ! Clearly we are not the Park for you - but we cant please everyone ! Next time, before booking a trip anywhere, my advise would be before you book read the Park's description and T's and C's, if you don't like what you see scroll to the next listing !
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$341 - US$613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Sandstone Trail (3.7 miles), Stretton Watermill (1.2 miles), and Bellis Brothers Farm Shop and Garden Centre (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cleopatra's Coffee Shop & Bistro, Cock O Barton, and The Nags Head, Lavister.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bunbury Mill (8.2 miles), Chester Cathedral (7.6 miles), and Chester City Walls (7.8 miles).
Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.