Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kilminorth

Looe, Cornwall, Looe PL13 2NE England
Traveller (234)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 apartments in Looe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Kilminorth Cottages: an ancient manor farm, now converted into a private village of cosy holiday homes. Whichever one you choose, all have been lovingly refurbished – preserving the original features, but offering fresh, modern design in an open-plan layout. And best of all, several come with their own hot tubs!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Tennis court
Children's playground
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
180Reviews6Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 11
  • 4
  • 2
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Natalie R wrote a review Jan 2020
Liskeard, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
I am based in Cornwall with a lot of family still in London and we wanted to meet for a Christmas get together. Kilmnorth was a perfect location to meet. It was a fabulous weekend made even better by beautiful accommodation stunning surroundings and a cheeky hot tub which you could tell was top of the range and very enjoyable.

There were recycling bins round the corner and delicately placed which is always welcomed to be able to continue to recycle on holiday.

Visiting in the winter months meant we were not that keen to visit any activities within the resort however this made for a cosy couple of nights in maximising use of the hot tub.

Thank you very much !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JayneL265, Owner at Kilminorth
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Natalie, Thank you for taking your time to post such a kind review, we hope to see you back at the cottages soon. Give us a call or email us on info@kilminorthcottages.co.uk if you have any questions regarding a stay. All the best, Kilminorth
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sallywill2002 wrote a review Sept 2020
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom32 contributions52 helpful votes
This was our second visit to Kilminorth Cottages - something I rarely do to be honest - but I absolutely love it here.
Since the pandemic had cancelled out our weekend here in March, I was just waiting to see if I could get a week away once restrictions were relaxed and I was so thrilled to grab 6 nights here in August-September.
The cleaning procedure is outstanding and social distancing always adhered.
As always the Cottage (Bridle) was perfect for myself, my husband, our son and girlfriend and our 8 month grandson.
The rooms were spacious and everything so tidy and clean. We were so lucky to be right next to the outside heated pool which was allowing just a small amount in at a time but to be honest we were always alone in there and it felt very exclusive.
The hot tub was obviously the perfect place to relax and watch the stars and listen to the owls.
Kilminorth is located just a short drive from Looe and Polperro or a 40 minute walk through the Wood and along the River to Looe is also lovely.
The staff at Kilminorth have obviously worked very hard to get the cottages and hamlet ready for visitors and I would give them a 10/10!
I can't wait to return :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kilminorth Cottages, General Manager at Kilminorth
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Hi Sally, Thanks for taking the time to give us a lovely review! We hope to see you and your family again in the future.. so you can explore some other cottage offerings we have here. We currently have a new cottage on its way called Beech, if you sign up to our newsletter on our website you will get some nice teasers when we resume the work. The team all work hard here at the cottages to ensure our standards are in-line, from cottages, grounds and hot tubs, and pool. I shall pass your comments back to the team. Thanks Kilminorth
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joneses wrote a review Sept 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
We Stayed in a 3 bed 2 storey attached cottage with beautiful surroundings from our decking area. Obviously many new procedures had been introduced recently but these were communicated well before our arrival, including information within the local area for food deliveries, check in times and swimming pool.

Since we made our booking, thriving for our first holiday this year, we we're very anxious about the protocols that would need to be in place to ensure our stay was safe, we witnessed the team doing some cleaning all in full protective attire with no short cuts in place.

Throughout our whole booking process, Kieron was always available to answer questions prior to our arrival. On our arrival day we we're shown to our cottage by Kieron who explained all the relevant information we needed.

The cottage was lovely, clean, warm with everything all setup, we we're informed a lot of the home furnishings had been removed due to ease of cleaning, and with the current circumstances this was fine, the cottage still held a lot of character (hayloft cottage) and we will definitely be returning.

Overall I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so good, every member of staff we came across went out of their way to give a smile or cheery greeting and really went above and beyond. It is always nice to see the staff enjoying where they work and take pride in doing so.

We shall see you again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Hayloft cottage for beautiful views and space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TallPaulLondon wrote a review Oct 2021
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom122 contributions152 helpful votes
Stayed with my wife and friends. The cottage complex is good, tucked away so really quiet and relaxing. We stayed in Bridle cottage which I think has yet to be refurbished having seen the insides of some of the other cottages and compared to some of the photos on here.

The cottage was a good size with two double bedrooms and one single. The living area was a good size and the beds were really comfortable. The hot tub was also good, this is serviced daily and new chlorie added.

In terms of improvement, the cleaning could be better, there were a number of cobwebs throughout the cottage and having looked under the sofas there was lots of dust and bottle tops which shows the cleaning is not as good as it should be especially given the current circumstances. The other big area of improvement could be consumables provided. The cottage had a dishwasher, however there was only one cleaning tab and the dishwasher needed salt and rinse aid, in my opinion all should be provided. As well as this a few sachets of coffee and a few tea bags wouldn't have gone a miss for the first night.

In terms of location the cottages are around 2 miles from Looe. The walk is through the woods and along the river which is pretty, however it is a steep drop to the river so may not be suitable for some. Also there is no lighting on this route to you can't walk back after dark. There are a distinctive lack of taxis in the area so if you do go into Looe in the evening then do book ahead otherwise you will become stranded, The nearest bus stop is approx. 1 mile away on the main road, the bus service runs hourly between Looe and Polpero although the last bus is at 1800.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jodie wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
+1
Well where do I start! These cottages have become our favourite place to be, we have just returned from our 3rd visit and each visit just gets better and better!!
We first visited and stayed in hayloft as a couple in summer months and let's just say we were hooked from the start!. Absolutely stunning grounds, views, walks, on this occasion we had shopping delivered and the staff had put it away in our cottage before we arrived so our drinks were lovely and chilled!(pre covid) The view from the hot tub in hayloft is stunning!
Our second visit was in the winter in Queen Park! Again as a couple and a quick get away! The cottage was lovely and warm and cozy. We were in the hot tub in the snow!!
We were hoping we would get snowed in and have to stay longer!! We went down to the town one evening and a taxi picked us up and dropped us off right outside our cottage! Very impressed.
This visit we returned as a family of 3 with our baby girl. And the inlaws. We booked hayloft for them as we knew they would love it as much as we did. We booked bridle this time for us! And wow!! Very spacious and right next to the swimming pool. Our baby had her first ever swimming experience in the pool which was heated and she loved it. More amazing memories. We found bridle better for the baby as it has a bathtub/shower. And lots of room for her to roll around as well as pushchair,travel cot etc..plenty of space.
We were blessed yet again with the weather and spent every day in the pool. We had the pool to ourselves! We also had a bbq this time which was dropped off with everything we need and taken away and cleaned for us!
Every time we have visited the standard of cleanliness has been great.
The extra care they are taking during covid is very reassuring.
We also have never had any issues with booking. Communication with Jayne has been brilliant every time. We were cancelled during covid understandably however Jayne was fab at re-booking us again.
We always book directly with Jayne via email and never had any issues.
We are returning again next year and its safe to say the inlaws are as hooked as us and will be returning too.
Thank you Jayne and team! We will see you all soon(and lil chief!!)
Stay safexxx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kilminorth Cottages, General Manager at Kilminorth
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Hi Jodie, Returning customers is what we love at Kilminorth as it allows us to get to know you all! I will be sure to pass your comments back to Jayne! We look forward to seeing you again in January for your stay in Ash Cottage If you need anything in the meantime, please drop us an email... Chief says HI. Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elle H wrote a review Feb 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom436 contributions101 helpful votes
We stayed in the Ash cottage for four nights, the cottage was very clean and spacious with great amenities. The hot tub was fantastic! (Which was checked twice daily)

The staff were onsite daily and was always on hand to help, they were super friendly and made us very welcome!

The walk to looe through the woulds was a great relaxing walk which took about 30-40 mins, easy to get a taxi back if needed £10-15. This time of year, Looe is pretty much closed, so be prepared not to have a lot of pubs or restaurants to visit, or even ice cream etc!

There are wash facilities £4 per load for a wash and dry. Takeaways will deliver etc to the cottage, list can be picked up from reception.

Now unfortunately the downsides! There was green lights under the deck shone through on the back bedrooms and made it uncomfortable to sleep. If your unlucky to be on the front bedroom, you get two spot lights shining through your window, we did our best to try block out the light.

Every night we had to sleep with ear plugs, as unfortunately other guests in hot tubs in other cottages could be heard as clear as day. Every night really loudly, could here them in the bedrooms and the lounges past 11pm onwards. Unfortunately this took away from the gorgeous get away cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kilminorth Cottages, General Manager at Kilminorth
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Hi, thank you for your email and for your kind words and feedback which we really appreciate as its exceedingly important that we try to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their time with us both within the cottages and on site. We will look into the sleeping situation in regards to the external lights you have mentioned and look to see if these can be altered in anyway so not to disturb the guests sleeping in those bedrooms. Regarding the noise from those close to you. As we are located in the heart of a very rural area, sound can inevitably travel. We do however, make people aware that there are neighbours in close proximity and request that they are considerate especially off an evening. We do have external security cameras around the site that we monitor for noise levels. We also advise at the point of check in that if there are any issues during your stay, then to please make us aware so that we can address/resolve any concerns, so that you may continue to enjoy your stay with us. We would always welcome the opportunity to deal with any concerns whilst you are on site with us, but hope that your experience will not deter you from staying with us again. As we would love to welcome you back to Kilninorth on another occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seb1954 wrote a review Sept 2021
Jersey, United Kingdom181 contributions53 helpful votes
I travelled to Looe with two friends for a fishing trip. Unfortunately the weather was awful that said it did not stop us having a great time. Kilminorth Cottages are superb sitting about two miles outside the centre of Looe in beautiful countryside. The cottage we rented was lovely with three lovely rooms, two single and one double room. There was a house bathroom which was well appointed with a great shower - loads of hot water. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed and everything was wonderfully new. The grounds around the apartments were lovely all nicely manicured lawns established shrubs with lots of private seating. Whilst we didn’t use it the swimming pool was lovely. No light pollution, very quiet made this a great destination. Looe, Polperro, Polruan and Fowey are just down the road. There’s lots to do and see. We will be back, thanks Jayne and the other staff who made us feel so welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Looe can be very busy, park outside of the town and walk in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dream169149 wrote a review Nov 2022
York, United Kingdom
My husband, our dog and I holidayed at Kilminorth Cottages in November 2022 staying in Saddle Cottage. The check in was quick and the cottage was ready on arrival. The cottage has two bedrooms, the kitchen was stylish and fully equipped with all of appliances required, including a dishwasher. The open plan living area had a flat screen television, two comfortable sofas and a nice dining table which would seat four comfortably. We had underfloor heating which was lovely and cosy.

The cottage was spotless, and a great deal of thought had been put into ensuring that all the little things were supplied, sponge, washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, etc.. They had also left a dog bowl, treats and a towel specifically for muddy paws.

The cottages are situated in beautiful, peaceful location. There is a large woodland within walking distance which was ideal for walking our dog. We were able to enjoy a lovely walk into the centre of Looe along the river.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this part of Cornwall and Kilminorth Cottages was the perfect place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CS75 wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for a week with our 2 teenagers and dog in South Meadow Cottage. The accommodation was comfortable and clean but we did find the bathroom quite small and a dishwasher plus a larger fridge/freezer would have been useful. Our garden area was very picturesque and well kept however other guests can walk straight past the front door and access the garden if they wish - we would have preferred a bit more privacy and an enclosed garden where our dog could explore off-lead safely. The bar area is charming but can be a bit chilly in the evenings so layer up, as it's outside under a tipi. The trampoline, tennis courts, swings and the pool areas are great and set within a beautiful setting. A car is a must as there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance and in peak season would need to be booked in advance, in nearby Looe and Polperro. There are no large supermarkets nearby; a couple of Co-ops in Looe but parking closeby can be a challenge. If we were to stay again we would try and book a cottage with a hot tub. The hosts are very friendly, welcoming and answer all your queries efficiently.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan H wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We had a fantastic holiday at Kilminorth Cottages. The location was beautiful, had great walks on the door step and our accommodation was amazing, clean, well equipped and decorated to a very high standard, we had everything we needed and wanted. Including underfloor heating and an immense smart TV. No signs of damp whatsoever, as previously mentioned on an earlier review. The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We walked into Looe one day, through the woods, along the river, our dog absolutely loved it and it was great to have a dog shower available for him on our return . There were plenty of taxi's available in Looe, even at this time of year (early Jan) and it was only £10 return for 4 of us and the pooch, well worth it as it is quite a steep walk back up the hill.
We highly recommend these beautiful cottages and will definitely be returning... Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kilminorth Cottages, General Manager at Kilminorth
Responded 31 Jan 2023
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking and the Pooches too! We will look forward to hopefully seeing you again and welcoming you all back to Kilminorth in the future. Many thanks Kilminorth Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reptilegirl0 asked a question Jul 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom83 contributions13 helpful votes
Hello, is the pool child friendly? Does it have a shallow end? Is it very deep?
Answer from Kilminorth C
Hi Yes we do - we have a laundry room with the facilities in as per Marks reply - Thanks @marktyler
Show all answers
Saz989 asked a question Apr 2019
Tamworth, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
Is there a pub/bar or somewhere to eat/drink on site?
Answer from Climber01966523371
Hi - we don't have a bar on site but Looe is c 40 mins walk and there is plenty of places to eat and drink in Looe. Hope this hew Thanks
Answer from SquelchSomerset
Landes, France114 contributions53 helpful votes
Also Jayne and the team are fab so I imagine they will be very helpful if asked. We are definitely going back, loved it.
Show all answers
Answer from Geoff T
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom69 contributions52 helpful votes
Hi cottage was spotless on arrival then down to you keep clean
Show all answers
Abingdoneater wrote a tip Jan 2024
Abingdon, United Kingdom60 contributions30 helpful votes
"Just relax and enjoy the silence"
Read full review
tommy s wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
"Enjoy because it is amazing "
Read full review
Cinnycat wrote a tip Dec 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom31 contributions18 helpful votes
"Free parking onsite"
Read full review
Kirsty70_11 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom8 contributions24 helpful votes
"Try and go along to one of Kilminorths seasonal events."
Read full review
Roger B wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
"Don’t rely on sat nav"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Looe area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallLooe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KILMINORTH - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos (Looe) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kilminorth
Which popular attractions are close to Kilminorth ?
Nearby attractions include Looe to Polperro walk (1.4 miles), Looe Island (2.1 miles), and East Looe Beach (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kilminorth ?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kilminorth ?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kilminorth ?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kilminorth ?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kilminorth ?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daisy's Cafe Looe, Fifty, and The Three Pilchards.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kilminorth ?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kilminorth ?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kilminorth ?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kilminorth ?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Guildhall Museum & Gaol (1.4 miles), Looe Harbour Heritage Centre & Coffee Shop (1.4 miles), and Talland Church (1.5 miles).