Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shellseekers Guest House

Shellseekers The Quay, Looe PL13 2BU England
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
No prepayment needed
£100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 11 guest houses in Looe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
'Shellseekers' Guest House is in the heart of Looe, Cornwall with fantastic views over Looe Harbour. All en-suite double rooms with tea/coffee facilities, digital TV, free Wi Fi only minutes from the beach Please Note: We no longer accept cash or cheques.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
136Reviews2Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 13
  • 4
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
77janeedwards1 wrote a review Sept 2022
Shropshire, United Kingdom9 contributions8 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Just arrived back home from Shellseekers Alan and Claire are so lovely, we stayed in room four with a balcony overlooking the harbour, it was absolutely lovely, the room was spotlessly clean, as was the dining room, breakfast was great and also a lovely touch was that you could have the use of the dining room for takeaways, with forks and plates supplied, parking at the mil pool car park in reserved spaces was good, as you could come and go as you wanted without worrying about getting a parking space on return, I will definitely be recommending friends and family to stay here, as I will do when I visit Looe again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Thank you Jane for your fantastic review excellent guests are always welcome. Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vacationer628184 wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom37 contributions33 helpful votes
Had a great 2 nights stay here in August 2020. Alan and Clare have a super little place and are fantastic hosts; nothing is too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome from the first moment. The rooms are cosy, clean and comfortable. We also had a great view of the river and East Looe. Breakfast was a 10/10 - lots of choice, quick and tasty. The BnB is on a super location in West Looe, right near the bridge, meaning it’s just a short walk to the town. Looe is a quaint little town with idyllic classical Cornish streets. There are lots of places to eat and drink, although we recommend booking the better restaurants before arriving as they get booked up very quickly. We will definitely be returning to this BnB and Looe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for your excellent review. kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaynor E wrote a review Aug 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom1,728 contribution192 helpful votes
+1
Just had a lovely 2 night stay at shellseekers in Looe
When you arrive in Looe park up in the loading bay opposite the hotel and Take your luggage to your room . Your then given a parking permit for the local carpark which is a 5 minute walk . Our room was a ground floor room Over Looking the estuary,it had a small balcony which was lovely complete with 2 chairs with cushions and a table . ( lovely sitting there with a bottle of wine watching the world go by ) it’s a lovely room with a en-suite shower room . Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and beautifully presented. Yogurts and cereals delivered on a little trolley so no one is wondering round . Lots of lovely walks and plenty of restaurants and bars . The host was very nice .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room with the balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you very much for your fantastic review, excellent guest are always welcome Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sassyjb47 wrote a review Aug 2022
Walsall, United Kingdom21 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed overnight when in Looe for the Duck race. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Claire, given our keys and car park pass that is £5 per night. We were staying in room 2, the bedroom is tastefully decorated in a seaside/beach theme. En-suite is ample for the room and stocked well with towels, shower gel and toilet roll.
The room itself was quite big, plenty of room and storage. Tea and coffee making was fine, usual selection with a couple of biscuits.
The bed was very comfortable we as were the pillows and we both slept really well.
At Breakfast we were welcomed by Alan, who took our orders and brought tea and coffee.
Breakfast was a good selection, cereals, fruit, yoghurts and some pastries, with juice and the options of a full English or sandwiches and lighter options.
Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. I personally really enjoined the granary toast, it was delicious.
Checkout was a breeze, just leave your key and parking permit in the box by the front door.
Thank you Alan and Claire for a lovely stay. We will definitely be back, to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Thank you for your fantastic review, excellent guests are always welcome Kind regards Alan & Claire shellseekers.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
licklesweetie wrote a review Mar 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom54 contributions21 helpful votes
Recently stayed here for 6 days and what a perfect stay it was for us. We stayed in Room 2 and it was beautifully decorated and had a fantastic view of the harbour. It was quite spacious aswell and the shower was powerful and hot.
The breakfasts were cooked perfectly by Claire, everything we had and plenty cereals to choose from aswell as toast and jam etc with choice of tea or coffee. At breakfast Alan was making sure we had all we needed and a lovely friendly chat, asking about our plans and how it went the previous day.
On arrival Claire was very friendly, let us check in early and made sure we had all we needed an told us to let her know if we had any problems. Overall we couldn't of asked for better ppl to stay with while visiting Looe.
The rooms are well equipped with everything we needed for the trip and I loved the touch of the hosts wearing t-shirts with Shellseekers written on to the bottles in the room and cushions with the same.
The guest house is the perfect place to explore the harbour, restaurants, bars, shops etc and also for walks along the coast path.
We will definitely be back to stay here again to explore more of Cornwall.
Thank you again for a perfect stay Alan and Claire.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is on a car park about a 5 min walk but easy to get to and can be purchased through the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 11 Mar 2022
Thank you Emma for your fantastic review, excellent guests are always welcome. Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chele wrote a review Jun 2022
Monmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
A lovely guest house centrally located and everything you need within a 10 min walk. We stayed in Room 2 on the first floor which overlooks the harbour. The owners are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We paid £5 per day for the use of their parking permit which meant we could come and go as we please without fear of not being able to park. A great breakfast on offer with lots of choice which would suit all. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Looe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Thank you Chele for your fantastic review, excellent guest are always welcome Kind regards Alan & Claire.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mick0151 wrote a review Aug 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom84 contributions33 helpful votes
From the moment we booked our stay at Shellseekers both Claire & Alan were always available to help and offer advice throughout our booking.
A truly beautiful B&B overlooking the bay of Looe.
We booked two fabulous rooms at the front of the property giving us amazing views.
Checking in was so easy, a bay at the front of the b&b is available to use whilst you unload your car then you are given parking permits for Millpool parking about a 5 minute walk away.
Really lovely bedrooms and breakfast was fabulous too
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front especially room 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 16 Aug 2023
Thank you Mick for your fantastic review excellent guests are always welcome. Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DannyTheFoodChampion wrote a review May 2021
Crymych, United Kingdom26 contributions12 helpful votes
Just had 1 night in Looe at Shellseekers. The location is excellent overlooking the harbour and is within easy 1 min walk to the shops and bars etc. The property and our room was spotless!!! We had a double room with window overlooking the boats in the harbour, it was very very clean and tidy. The shower was good and the bed was comfy. Breakfast with Alan was lovely, he’s super friendly and the food was delicious. A good choice of cereals, yoghurts, jams and honey before a lovely cooked breakfast. 10/10!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thank you Danny for your fantastic review, excellent guests are always welcome. Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dolly M wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Look no further! What a wonderful place to stay. This delightful guest house has been a terrific base for our trip to Cornwall. Claire and Alan are wonderful hosts and were more than accommodating over our stay.
My husband and I stayed in bedroom 4 which was more than big enough for a weeks stay. It was beautifully clean and tidy and the king size bed was so comfortable my husband said it was the best nights sleep he’d had in a long time. It was decorated in a quaint seaside themed style with the added bonus of a spacious covered balcony overlooking the harbour so you could still sit out even if it was drizzling. The balcony chairs were padded so you could sit out all night in comfort.
The shower was perfect with plenty of hot water and the towels where so fluffy. There was a selection of both tea and coffee de-cafe and normal in the room and biscuits.
The room also had a handy mini beer fridge, additional blankets and fan.
For breakfast there was a wide selection of breakfast cereals and cereal bars, yogurts, fruits, different preserves and flavoured teas. My husband had a full English everyday which he said was delicious and I had poached, scrambled and boiled eggs all done to my taste.
I’d highly recommend Shellsheekers for that perfect happy seaside feeling and superb value for money
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early so you don’t miss out on this delightful accommodation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 1 Aug 2023
Thank you Lyn for your fantastic review excellent guests are always welcome. Kind regards Alan & Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StevensonTour wrote a review Aug 2021
Manchester41 contributions17 helpful votes
Positives- great location, clean and comfortable, nice breakfast. Clearly take covid precautions seriously . Comfy bed and gorgeous view from our room ( room 4) parking permit a bonus
Shower a challenge to work even with instructions - water pressure poor if you are an early riser ( which is mentioned in instructions)
On arrival we were kept outside whilst gentleman closed door on us to get the ‘welcome pack’ and then had it explained to us outside ! After a long journey wasn’t ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Kelly, Owner at Shellseekers Guest House
Responded 15 Aug 2021
The shower is a simple as it can be? as in, on / off, up for hot down for cold, We apologies if you had difficulty in understanding these instructions. As explained the water pressure works off a pump and is extremely good pressure when the pump is on, out of courtesy to guests sleeping in the room next to where the pump is located the pump timer is set not to come on before 7:30 because of the noise that in generates, this is explained in the welcome packs in each room. As you say, we take Covid very seriously, and we take every precaution that is available to us to make sure that we adhere to all regulations, as a small business we cannot afford to be closed down for even a small length of time especially after losing five months to lock down already, this includes greeting guest’s at the door and explaining the relevant details while giving them, and ourselves, adequate space and social distancing. We apologies once again if you found the need for us to protect ourselves and our business an inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaynor E asked a question Jul 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom1,728 contribution192 helpful votes
Hi . Has anyone stayed in the balcony bedroom ,can you sit on there during the day and the evening ?
Answer from Alan K
Looe, United Kingdom
That is Room 4 : shellseekers.uk/room-4/ And yes, guests who have booked that room have exclusive use of the private balcony area throughout their stay, day or night. Regards Alan & Claire
BATES_12 asked a question Aug 2016
Bolton, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
is it dog friendly
Answer from Alan K
Looe, United Kingdom
Unfortunately we cannot have dogs at our guest house as we have our own cats. Kind regards Alan & Claire
dippyjoy wrote a tip Sept 2023
Crawley, United Kingdom113 contributions32 helpful votes
"Book your restaurants in advance. Pay for your reserved parking space via Shellseekers ."
Read full review
Mick0151 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom84 contributions33 helpful votes
"Ask for rooms at the front especially room 1"
Read full review
Dolly M wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
"Book early so you don’t miss out on this delightful accommodation. "
Read full review
lesliecatt48 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Hemsworth, United Kingdom26 contributions17 helpful votes
"Parking is available close by at a municipal car park, but talk to Alan or Claire who can arrange this for you, we paid £70 for two weeks parking, with allocated parking."
Read full review
Bassssssssssssss wrote a tip Apr 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
"Get the one with the balcony - well worth the extra few pounds."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Looe area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallLooe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHELLSEEKERS GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices (Looe)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shellseekers Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Shellseekers Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Looe to Polperro walk (0.2 miles), Old Guildhall Museum & Gaol (0.2 miles), and Looe Harbour Heritage Centre & Coffee Shop (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shellseekers Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Shellseekers Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Shellseekers Guest House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shellseekers Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daisy's Cafe Looe, Fifty, and The Fish Market.
Is Shellseekers Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Looe.
Are there any historical sites close to Shellseekers Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Guildhall Museum & Gaol (0.2 miles), Looe Harbour Heritage Centre & Coffee Shop (0.3 miles), and Talland Church (2.0 miles).