We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (365)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 30/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 36 hotels in Newquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from the town centre, we enjoy far-reaching views across Fistral beach. The River Gannel estuary and southwest coast path are on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, walkers, families, or groups. We're dog-friendly too and facilities include an onsite bistro, hair and beauty salon, and a friendly bar. Licensed for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for weddings and receptions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
1330Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 462
  • 197
  • 76
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
k r wrote a review 15 Sep
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom2094 contributions362 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had enjoyed stays here before (including a family wedding at the Pentire) and the Covid restrictions did not prevent this being another great holiday. All the staff we met during the 4 night stay were friendly and helpful, from the duty manager to the housekeeping staff. Although clearly stretched at times the staff that served us did so with patience and good humour. As before my gluten free diet was well catered for, a good variety was available at breakfast which was superb (I loved the gf sausages). We ate each evening in the Bistro and all the meals there were lovely. I also enjoyed a pint (or two) in the bar, which was nice. There is plenty to do in the area, we had three lovely days walking locally, including a day paddling and swimming on Newquays various beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 222 has dual aspect with a distant sea view, and over the Gannel towards Crantock. The room...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you. One of our greatest pleasures is welcoming back the friendly and familiar faces of guests returning to stay with us. It's one of the most compelling compliments we can receive as a team, and we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed another great 4-night stay at The Pentire Hotel. We hope you had a safe journey home and also hope to welcome you back for another sunny visit to Newquay soon. On behalf of all of our colleagues, thanks again.
Read more
Dawn S wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband and I had our first visit to Pentire Hotel for our wedding anniversary. Check in was smooth and easy and we went to our room which had fabulous views over Fistral beach. We booked two of our evening meals at the hotel. Both were good quality and plentiful. Our dog was made welcome in the areas we went within the hotel. The staff were wonderful and were top notch with Covid regulations. I’d like to give Liz a special mention - what a wonderful member of your team. This lady went above and beyond to help us during our stay. My husband had requested some flowers and wine to be placed in our room as a surprise for me. Liz organised this and the flowers were exceptional. (They made the journey home and still look like brand new and fresh). We were due to visit a restaurant in Crantock for our anniversary meal but unfortunately this couldn’t take place. We went back to Pentire Hotel as we couldn’t find anywhere else that was available to accommodate us and our dog. Everywhere was fully booked. The hotel restaurant was also fully booked. Liz came to our rescue and after a quick phone call had organised a fish and chip supper for us. A huge thank you to Liz and the staff here. We really enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded today
Thank you. We are thrilled to receive your lovely comments and feedback following a wonderful weekend stay - which we will be sure to share with all members of our team. We would genuinely love to welcome you back and hope to extend another warm and friendly welcome in the future. Hope you had a safe journey home and thanks again.
Read more
peter h wrote a review 12 Sep
Nottingham, United Kingdom354 contributions843 helpful votes
old hotel, better downstairs than rooms upstairs.its a 3 star,so its not perfect.a few faults with room, none major.lift small we had to walk up and down stairs most of the time.meals good,and all staff very good, polite and helpful.due to staff shortage we waited for three course meals between two hours or more.thankyou to all your staff, i know you are lucky to have them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
LexyFr wrote a review 8 Sep
Sunninghill, United Kingdom19 contributions22 helpful votes
Good location and staff friendly. That’s where the positive comments end. The hotel is tired, dirty and in desperate need of an upgrade. COVID precautions virtually non-existent. Very few staff wearing face masks and therefore no residents encouraged to wear. Evening bar staff touching their face and then serving staff. It’s as if COVID does not exist anymore. Stairs carpet filthy. Bedroom had a nice view which we paid extra for. Bathroom tiny, shower had very little pressure and extractor fan not working well so the bathroom smelt damp all the time despite having the door open. Breakfast service was short staffed. Felt sorry for the 2 staff who were clearly struggling. Cooked breakfast over cooked and the chef needs to learn how to cook a poached egg and mushroom, even I could have done better. Stayed 2 nights and didn’t bother to stay for breakfast on our last morning. Tiny car park. Would not recommend for the price and would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Better to pay more for somewhere better
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Whilst we are pleased that you enjoyed a nice sea view from your room, our good location, and friendly service from our team during your stay, we are genuinely sorry if breakfast wasn't cooked to your own personal liking on your first morning. Had you joined us for breakfast the next day, we would have done our utmost to accommodate any personal preferences. It's completely true that every hospitality business throughout the UK has been affected by staff shortages. This has been well-reported in the national press, and you may have noticed this during breakfast service. That said, we are extremely proud of our team, which is doing a fantastic job under a challenging and unique set of circumstances. Our free-to-use parking facilities are advertised as limited and available on a first-come basis. We are completely transparent that during busy periods, alternative parking at the end of the road or on-street parking may be required. We have achieved the highest accolade in terms of COVID safety procedures, and we do receive contrasting praise from guests about our extensive care taken in managing risk. We will certainly follow up on all points with our team and assure you of our very best intentions. Wishing you all the best and hope you had a safe journey home.
Read more
RHS_Brighton wrote a review 6 Sep
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
This was our second family stay at the Pentire and the whole family were looking forward to it. The location is just perfect- each day we either went to Fistral or Crantock beaches and never needed the car. The Bistro food is great and the kids never wanted to eat anywhere else. Breakfast is really good- a massive choice. Hotel was lovely, the rooms were great and the staff are just lovely. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel to others. It means the world to us and is rewarding for all our colleagues to read your lovely feedback. One of the most compelling compliments we can receive is when guests return to stay with us - so we are delighted that you all enjoyed another wonderful family stay again. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pentire hotel newquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pentire Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pentire Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crantock Beach (0.3 miles), Fistral Beach (0.7 miles), and Indoor Bowling Newquay (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pentire Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Pentire Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pentire Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pentire Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish House - Fistral, Sea Spray, and Lewinnick Lodge.
Are pets allowed at The Pentire Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pentire Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pentire Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (3.6 miles), The Huers Hut (1.1 miles), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (1.7 miles).
Does The Pentire Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.