Porth Lodge Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Porth Lodge Hotel

Traveller (63)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£88
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
No booking fees
£85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#29 of 37 hotels in Newquay
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Newquay, Porth Lodge Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Porth Lodge Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Newquay.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Porth Lodge Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to The Parish Church of Saint Michael the Archangel (1.4 mi), a popular Newquay landmark, Porth Lodge Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Newquay, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall, Two Clomes, or Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out South West Coast Path Walk - Newquay's Twin Headlands from Newquay Station (1.0 mi), which is a popular attraction amongst tourists, and it is within walking distance.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Porth Lodge Hotel is sure to make your visit to Newquay one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet

Location

Porthbean Road, Newquay TR7 3LT England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
St Mawgan Airport
Lands End Airport
39.6 mi
See all flights
184Reviews2Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 64
  • 15
  • 14
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
iaing1000 wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every year we have one of the early weeks in the school Summer holidays here. And it's always a pleasure and each time we discover something new. This time a nearby curry place that was incredible, and also that the beach cafe shop nearby sells face masks.

Arriving so soon after lockdown was interesting and I suspect many didn't know what to expect. However, it felt like a break from the whole covid thing and we really forgot about the news and the world around us which is quite a feat for a hotel given what 2020 has been like.

Needless to say plenty of precautions were taken with reduced capacity at the hotel and an order taken breakfast rather than a buffet plus appropriate spacing in the dining area; basically it was very well managed. Cleaning was thorough and handgel available and we felt safe but equally able to fully enojoy our annual seaside holiday. We'll defo be back next year!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: So well positioned for so much.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monda wrote a review Sept 2020
Liverpool2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 6 wonderful nights at Porth Lodge last week. We can't praise Carol, Dave and their team enough. We stayed in apartment 2, which was spotlessly clean and well equipped, with modern decor. The bed was so comfortable and bedding was clean and smelled beautifully fresh. Breakfast not only offered plenty of choice with generous portions, but was also made with excellent quality products, something I've found is not always the case when hotels try to reduce their costs with inferior, cheap sausages, bacon etc. After eating dinner in the small hotel restaurant on our 2nd night we decided to eat there every evening. Dave is an excellent chef and we both agreed the sirloin steak was possibly the best we'd ever tasted!! The fish was also very fresh and absolutely delicious. Everything we ordered was top quality, well prepared and presented and the staff are all very friendly and chatty, whilst still providing excellent service.
The added bonus is the location, with a lovely beach virtually on the doorstep and within walking distance, although be warned.... it is a very steep incline on the return journey!
We would recommend Porth Lodge 100% and will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachael T wrote a review Sept 2021
5 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Porth Lodge Hotel is a great little find, close to Porth Beach but also close enough to Newquay to walk in within about 30 or so minutes.

The hotel itself seems to be run by a husband and wife who are very friendly and really accommodating.

The rooms were a bit of a squeeze (not much extra space around the beds!) but they were nicely furnished and we were very happy considering the price.

The breakfasts were great, as well as the food produced in the evening which was also excellant value.

Positives - onsite bowling, pool tables, bar/pubs areas and restaurants.

Negatives - we had real issues (as did our friends who were staying in another room at the same time) with hot water in the showers. We only had 2 hot showers each in 5 days and that was after 1 day of faffing and waiting for the immersion to be put on, and another day when we waited 40 minutes and they came up to "help"... Apparently there's a nack to getting hot water to actually come out of the shower, but we struggled to get this 80% of the time. The last day, we were late checking out as I couldn't leave until I'd had a proper shower as I hadn't had more than a 10 second jump in and out freezing cold one after giving up the previous days.

If the shower situation was sorted, we'd definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whenidream wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having checked their website menu and prices I booked a table for the following evening. On arrival a hand-printed menu page had two 'specials's and highly inflated prices from those on their website for exactly the same menu.

Prawn cocktail at £5.90 had suddenly become £7.50 and a 12 oz rump steak at £14.50 was now a majical 16.95. Upon raising the different prices I was asked if I still wanted the steak. Since I had walked there and it would be a bit late to book somewhere else I ordered the steak. I asked if there was mustard and they gave me a choice of French or English. Postage stamp size pot of mustard was promptly delivered and I subsequently asked for more. I forewent the pepper sauce at an additional £2.

The food was OK (nothing more). It was eat out to help out so I expected a bill for £8.47 (half of £16.95). There was me thinking maybe they weren't underhand when I was promptly charged for half of £17.25. Presumably the not very impressive mustard was slipped in for an extra 30p.

I have to wonder; do the prices suddenly go back to website ones on Thursday to Sunday on a different sheet of paper? Since VAT has gone down from 20 to 5% and they are charging up to nearly 28% more than their website prices maybe they are taking advantage of their customers and the government.

Nice to see such an honest outfit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren P wrote a review Aug 2020
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, my 8 year old step son and I stayed here for 8 nights.
On arrival, we threw our bags through the door and headed straight to the beach to make the most of the weather. The room looked dated but we didn't take too much notice of anything else.

On return, 8 year old went in the shower to find a delightful used bar of soap covered in someone's pubic hair.
I then noticed the shower had thick mould growing around the door and flooring.

The extractor fans were thick with mould and dust. Cobwebs and dust all around the rooms, grease in the used and uncleaned oven trays.

The cold tap worked occasionally in the kitchen, the windows were thick with grease and the ceiling rose for the light fitting was left hanging down with exposed wires.
The rug in the lounge area was left Filthy.

I went to address this with a staff member, who very politely apologised and advised the owners would be around the following morning and would resolve all of the issues.

No owners turned up after waiting around all morning to speak with them. Eventually we continued with our day expecting they would resolve the issues.

We returned and they'd put stick on beading over the top of the mould in the shower, which obviously just fell off.
We even bought our own plates and cutlery as the cupboards and items in them were vile.

We eventually gave up and I purchased my own cleaning items. On attempt to use the hoover left in the cupboard.. this smelt of vomit and was unfit for use.

I emailed the owner on return from our holiday to express my concerns given the current pandemic and the response was rude, aggressive and entirely dismissive of our issues.

I was basically told not to book with them again if I wasn't happy and that they would not offer any consolation for our less than acceptable accommodation. They refused to comment on the level of cleanliness.

We paid £750 to stay here. Don't waste your money. Find somewhere else!! The bar and bowling alley smell musty and awful which should have been a warning sign.
I will be seeking further advice to resolve this!!! Enjoy the pictures!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Porth Lodge, Owner at Porth Lodge Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Dissapointed chislers. This customer threatened to post ugly reviews if we did not pay them some money. We do not respond to blackmail.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo R wrote a review Dec 2021
Paignton, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just got back from an excellent weekend stay at the Porth Lodge Hotel on the outskirts of Newquay. Dave, Carol and the team made us very welcome and our room was lovely, cosy, and very comfortable. Dave's excellent cooking and Carol's fabulous hospitality made for a lovely relaxing weekend away. The Porth's great location makes the beach very accessible and the walk into Newquay very doable to walk off the delicious and very generous cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. I would definitely recommend a stay in the Porth for it's lovely Cornish charm and great value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuperSi wrote a review Oct 2020
Newquay, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a bowl and a bite, was a good few games and staff were helpful and polite with social distancing in place.

Love the feel of the cosy bar and the locals drinking were welcoming and at the end of the night felt very welcome :) pool table is kept neat and ready for anyone. Also has a television to keep people entertained along with music. This place offers all the entertainment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Tyson wrote a review Oct 2020
York, United Kingdom233 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Initially came for the bowling, good activity for the evening. The actually bowling alley and bowling balls is pretty outdated if I'm being honest, the balls are all chipped and barely circular anymore. Its actually quite expensive also, around £7 a game per person I think if I remember correctly, cant remember exactly.

However the people there were lovely, service was great and we even stayed afterwards in the bar area for an hour or two and played some pool and cards.

Everyone in the bar was lovely and friendly, the locals and the staff!

Didn't stay at the hotel or eat there so cant comment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James H wrote a review Jun 2021
Failsworth, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There's good and bad...

GOOD:
The location is fantastic. Can't beat it. Its about a 5min walk from probably the best beach in Newquay.

Free carpark 50 yards from the hotel

Great food (good portions), and drink (£4.50 a pint)

BAD:
Room (12), very hot and basic. No aircon

Hosts, not very personalable or attention to detail. Requested twin beds but were given a double (awkward). Birthday mentioned on booking but not acknowledged.

Scrambled egg very dry and inedible

Noisy at night... bar very 'locals' centered and loud chat until late (3am) at night.

Thin walls... could hear people snoring next door

Dirty sheets

OVERALL:
Probably won't return despite the location. Hosts were a bit too formal and far less personalable. Would give advice that to talk to your guests, make the effort to get to know them and make the personal connection. We didn't feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking Avoid scrambled egg Good if you want a base with little attention to detail Avoid...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen wrote a review Aug 2020
Retford, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I felt very safe the whole time we were at Porth Lodge. Room was clean and well presented. Staff were helpful and friendly. Couldn't Fault the service or the food. Food was available every evening and a wide choice available
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Johnboy5954 asked a question Aug 2016
Heybridge, United Kingdom
do you allow pets Please
Answer from Porth L
Yes we allow pets but by prior arrangement and there is a ten pound charge.
PatriciaredLiverpool asked a question Mar 2016
Liverpool, United Kingdom50 contributions22 helpful votes
Is the hotel wheelchair friendly!
Answer from hello108
Cardiff, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
Unfortunately not
kathy m wrote a tip Sept 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom22 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room no.6 is triple room-lovely and bright-well furnished."
Read full review
James H wrote a tip Jun 2021
Failsworth, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking Avoid scrambled egg Good if you want a base with little attention to detail Avoid room 12 (noisy and hot) No sea view (despite pics)"
Read full review
iaing1000 wrote a tip Aug 2020
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"So well positioned for so much."
Read full review
Bmartin92 wrote a tip May 2019
Plymouth, United Kingdom4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
scooby260 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Falmouth, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dog friendly."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTH LODGE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Porth Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Porth Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Porth Beach (0.2 miles), Coastal Valley Camp and Crafts (0.6 miles), and Crazy Football Golf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Porth Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Porth Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Porth Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porth Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gwenna Teahouse, Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, and Zaman's Restaurant.
Is Porth Lodge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Newquay.
Are pets allowed at Porth Lodge Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Porth Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (2.6 miles), St Eval Church (4.9 miles), and The Huers Hut (1.5 miles).
All Newquay HotelsNewquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewquayHotels near Porth Lodge Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire