Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

OYO Minerva Guesthouse

Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£84
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£73
£62
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#2 of 38 hotels in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Less than a 2 minute stroll from the beach, the Minerva offers free WiFi, a bar and a games room with a pool table and dart board. Located in the seaside town of Newquay, the property is surrounded by shops and restaurants. Blue Reef Aquarium is 3 minutes' walk away Inside, the rooms each feature a flat-screen TV and there is also an electric kettle. The private bathroom comes with a shower. Extras include ironing facilities. At Minerva, the bar offers a selection of beers, wines and spirits. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge. Newquay Activity Centre is just a 2 minute walk away and you can enjoy water sports, including surfing, kayaking, canoeing and stand up paddle boarding. The property is 10 minutes' stroll from Newquay Train Station, 16 minutes' walk from Fistral Beach and less than a mile from Newquay Zoo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Billiards
Darts
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
191Reviews7Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 11
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vincent wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All staff are friendly, welcoming and accommodating of needs. I stayed with two friends in late August for a surfing holiday and the staff would hang our wetsuits out to dry and take them inside if it was raining. Margaret (owner) was very attentive, always checking if we had everything we needed and were comfortable and the rest of the staff were also helpful.

The room was very clean and the newly fitted bathrooms were luxurious. Beds were clean and comfy. Cooked breakfast was included in the price to our pleasant surprise and was very good quality each morning. We enjoyed playing pool/darts in the bar at the guesthouse one evening and there was a very friendly atmosphere between staff and guests.

Very safe to stay during Covid as hand sanitiser is provided around the building and social distancing measures at breakfast etc are in place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Thank you Vince for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda dew wrote a review Jun 2021
United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Almost perfect, the only thing that could make it better for me personally is a lift. Staff helpful and friendly, breakfast enough and very good quality. The rooms where bright and airy beautifully decorated with a selection or tea and coffee, a fan which was very much appreciated, spotlessly clean faultless I could live there. Location idyllic, surrounded by picturesque landscapes and smashing restaurants a piece of advice if you go in a school holiday please book the restaurants you wish to visit before you go, in fact book anything and everything you want to do a couple of weeks before or you will be very disappointed. We stayed in the half term holiday and we done a background on placed we fancied and it was a good job too because all the restaurants were fully booked. All local and a short 15-20 minute walk away from the minerva we ate at the Red Lion pub grub (allows dogs into the restaurant) The Butchers Bistro, Turkish Kitchen and Little Italy they where all fab and highly recommended although the Italian served the best carbonara, meatballs and pizza we had ever tasted!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 15 Jun 2021
Thank you Dave for your kind review and good advice for others. Feedback we are getting so far is this year it will be wise to book restaurants, pubs and activities beforehand. Most pubs and restaurants are bookings only while corona virus restrictions are in place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dylan g wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Warmly greeted upon arrival, with a great sense of cleanliness the minute we walked through the door. We stayed while social distancing measures were after being put in place and we couldn’t have asked for better service.
We had an amazing Panoramic view of Towan Beach and the coastline from our bedroom window. The bed linen was spotless and the bed was most comfortable with a full double mattress. Wonderful en-suite facilities.
We were well looked after at breakfast by the enthusiastic restaurant ladies, along with a delicious full English breakfast.
With the beach being literally on the doorstep and the town centre just around the corner, the location couldn’t be better.

Highly recommended if you are looking to visit Newquay.

Thank you for our lovely stay!

Dylan & Alice
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 17 Jul 2020
Thank you Dylan for your kind review, much appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chilli-Cymru wrote a review Sept 2020
Peterston-Super-Ely, United Kingdom195 contributions195 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst I can fully understand why this bed and breakfast gets such good reviews for its fabulously central location, I am a little mystified as to how it scores so well on everything else. From the extremely difficult Indian call center experience on booking, through to the rather off hand welcome on check in, we did not feel that there was a personal Cornish service or that we were valued individual guests. We had a couple of issues with cleanliness during our stay, although overall the place seemed clean. The room had a lovely view and was a decent size, but there wasn't enough storage and some of the furniture was shabby or broken (one of the chairs, the wardrobe), and the towels needed refreshing. The shower was good and there was plenty of hot water but the bathroom itself was very small and there was nowhere to put anything. The toiletries and amenity tray, whilst provided, were very basic and overall it just felt as if enough was being done but without any real care or love. Breakfast was disappointing - the quality of the ingredients that we tasted felt very cheap and although the servers were polite and helpful and the dining room itself quite attractive, we still only actually chose to have breakfast 2 out of the 3 days we were there and we preferred to pay extra in town for something decidedly better. This wasn't a memorable stay and not great value for money. We'd look elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 24 Oct 2020
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you stayed in the room I think you were, that will be renovated this November. Other rooms will be updated as well. As for breakfast, we will look at changing some of our suppliers to see if this helps.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya S wrote a review Aug 2020
Rotherham, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a pleasant week stay here with my partner and little girl.
Margret and Owen were very friendly and welcoming.
The room was nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious and all the ladies who served us were friendly and worked very hard.
The guesthouse location is very good, in the centre of Newquay town centre but on a quiet street, 2 min walk to the beach and walking distance to other beaches too and Newquay zoo.
Not many parking spaces but we eventually found parking on a street near by.
We would definitely stay here again and thank u to everyone! 😊
Tanya, Chris & Sofia
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you Tanya for your kind review and you are welcome back anytime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shax wrote a review Mar 2022
Somerset, United Kingdom119 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed many times in Newquay and we love it, & never had a bad experience and this time was the best! Minerva guest house is an absolute gem and somewhere where we would love to return. We were met on arrival by both Owen & Margaret and they were just so nice, warm, friendly and just lovely. Made us feel really welcome which is always nice to feel.
Our room was just perfect, the view was incredible and I could have sat in the window the whole weekend! Shower good and powerful, free toiletries a nice touch, king size bed was deliciously spacious and very comfy (we only have a double at home so we were spoilt) and plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. Also a well stocked tea and coffee tray with biscuits and plenty of milks and proper sized mugs! I hate those silly little ones you usually get.
Breakfast was gorgeous - it was busy and we had to wait a little while whilst ours was cooked but we didn’t mind as the staff were so lovely friendly and kept us going with plenty of tea, coffee and toast! Full English breakfast was well worth the wait, absolutely beautiful with fresh bacon sausage egg beans hash browns tomatoes mushrooms and black pudding if you wanted.
The location was prime, just central for everything.. have i mentioned the view??
Ask for room 15 if you are able to walk up 3 flights of stairs it’s absolutely stunning and such a treat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 15 if you have no mobility issues
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you Sarah for your kind review and you are welcome back anytime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte27 wrote a review Dec 2021
England80 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Halfway through a solo minibreak here. Loads to love so far: Spotless throughout, exceptionally attentive staff (the proprietor who kindly carried my massive bag up to my room on arrival made for a great first impression) great views from breakfast room overlooking harbour, delicious quality breakfast, very central location without being bothered by too much outside noise. As a frequent visitor to Newquay, I absolutely would not hesitate to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you Charlotte for your kind review and you are welcome back anytime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew B wrote a review Jun 2020
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, what can I say.. lockdown has been a challenge for each and every one of us.. for myself the challenge was not having somewhere to live during lockdown because I live at work. Fortunately for me I managed to find this beautiful property on the towan beach seafront in Newquay. Not only was it a beautiful location, but the rooms are absolutely stunning!! With owen and Margaret owning the place, we’re so grateful for them allowing us to stay for the entire lockdown. This hotel has truly amazing facilities, and with the rooms being very recently refurbished it’s a true comfort! Brand new showers which are powerful, brand new mattresses which are exceedingly comfortable and a manger/manageress who truly are the best hosts.. what more could you want. I implore anyone considering a room at this place to give it a go!! Out of this lockdown, the guest house has a bar that’s open and a pool table - alongside a full English breakfast! Unfortunately I was unable to experience the last statement,. But the guest house does offer all of that alongside the previous!! The hotel also has six beautiful sea view rooms that look over towan beach!

The end of this, thank you to Owen and Margaret for such a pleasant and enjoyable stay! And I wish anyone staying at this hotel to have an absolutely fantastic time! Xx

(Attached below is a photo of the people who were able to rent a room during the lockdown)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 17 Jul 2020
Thank you Matt for keeping us entertained during lockdown. Out of adversity came this group of people who provided us with memories that will last a lifetime. In terms of fun times, this has been the best summer and I hope we will all stay in touch. See you in the winter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vickeroony wrote a review Feb 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An impromptu visit due to working in the area and the current storm shutting various roads for our journey home. Would have been lovely to have a sea view but alas we are over the moon to have a place to stay.
What a find! Fantastic location, lucky enough to find a space for the car too.
Our son was so excited when we entered the room, it has a cosy, warm feel but importantly for us it is spotless and we feel safe.
The cooked breakfast this morning was beautiful but i did spot the waffles so I will be having those tomorrow.
Overall, perfect location, lovely spotless place and a gorgeous breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Thank you Helena for your kind review and you are welcome back anytime. I hope your son enjoyed himself on Doc Martin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ManchesterMeg wrote a review Sept 2020
Bury, United Kingdom75 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights in room 5. Large family room (only 2 of us but it was the last room) which seemed brand new. Furniture was new, bathroom was fantastic with a huge walk in shower. Spotlessly clean, couldn’t fault it.

Parking- we knew we were not guaranteed a parking space. We were lucky when we arrived and got a space but the second night not so lucky. No on street spaces available so we parked on a long stay car park round the corner which is free from 6pm to 9am, it’s only a 3 minute walk to the hotel so not a problem. Yes it’s a pain but not the end of the world.

For me breakfast let down the stay.
The girls in the dining room are super and efficient, very friendly and service is fast.
Unfortunately, you have a set time to be downstairs based on your room number. I get that with COVID they need to have some sort of system but perhaps ask guests which of the 2 times they would prefer rather than forcing a time.
The coffee was filter coffee, very strong and not always hot, the bread was just stacked up in the open air so didn’t feel exactly hygienic, not even in the bags they would have arrived in and the sausages seemed like cheap ones.

But this guesthouse is in a super location, very convenient for shops, bars, restaurants and the beach, very clean and fit the bill-just a few breakfast niggles for me.

As an aside I would recommend Toast and Cove24 for cocktails and food and you will definitely have to book. These were the classiest places we found.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Owen Griffiths, Owner at OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Thank you Meg for your feedback. I am glad you liked everything apart from the breakfast. With reduced seating capacity we had to stagger the breakfast times, otherwise everyone would come down at 9.00 and we wouldn't have enough tables. If everyone arrived and departed at the same time, like on a cruise ship, we could give people the choice but when guests have varying lengths of stay, it just wouldn't work in practice from one day to the next. What I have said all summer is if you can't make the early sitting, come down at 9.30 when the second sitting has finished and we can serve you - I am sorry if you were not aware of this. Believe it or not, we experimented with different sausages from different butchers and to our surprise most guests preferred Bookers pork and beef sausages. Cost doesn't really come into it because the cost of one sausage is not significant - those were the ones chosen by our guests. I am glad you liked our room because yes it is new. Cove 24 is a new bar and certainly one of the classy one but it is London prices.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from j-bic80
Paignton, United Kingdom209 contributions86 helpful votes
There are a couple of spaces on guesthouse land then there is free street parking on road outside. There is also a carpark nearby.
pat asked a question May 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
What is the nearest beach called
Answer from MinervaMargaret
Newquay, United Kingdom2 contributions
Towan beach
severitt04 asked a question Jul 2020
United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a hairdryer in the room?
Answer from Joeyessex23
Leeds, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes there is
Answer from MinervaMargaret
Newquay, United Kingdom2 contributions
I'm sorry, I have no idea. Try bing maps and then search for directions, this should tell you the mileage.
RachaelJ552 asked a question Apr 2019
Southam, United Kingdom26 contributions25 helpful votes
Is there parking?
Answer from MinervaMargaret
Newquay, United Kingdom2 contributions
Sorry for the late reply. We don't advertise parking because we have 18 rooms and only 5 spaces so we just say first come first served. However, there is free parking on the street outside and as a last resort there is a car park 3 minutes walk away. It is free from 4pm to the following 9am but they have put the prices up this year to £8.20 during day. I hope this helps.
Rebecca S wrote a tip 3 Apr
Coventry, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is busy outside the hotel but there is a large pay and display car park just a 5 minute walk away for £6 a day."
Read full review
Go68461626777 wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk down to the see at night perfect view "
Read full review
Brucie G wrote a tip Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom98 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead"
Read full review
Kim kennelly wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing service and central "
Read full review
Kylie Phitak wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking in front of the guesthouse may be limited. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Minerva Guesthouse
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OYO MINERVA GUESTHOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Newquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include WAX Activity Bar (0.1 miles), Tom Thumb Cocktail Bar (0.2 miles), and Pirate's Quest Adventure Golf (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toast Wine Bar, Newquay Food Cartel, and Lost Brewing Co.
Is OYO Minerva Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Newquay.
Are there any historical sites close to OYO Minerva Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (2.8 miles), The Huers Hut (0.4 miles), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (2.8 miles).
Does OYO Minerva Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Newquay HotelsNewquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewquayHotels near OYO Minerva Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire