We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Great Western Hotel

Cliff Road Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (770)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (317)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#19 of 38 hotels in Newquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1,430Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 601
  • 446
  • 216
  • 83
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cardamon wrote a review Mar 2024
England135 contributions75 helpful votes
Had a lovely three night stay at the Great Western Hotel. We had room 112 which was a large room with lovely sea views. One of the best rooms we've stayed in. Yes the hotel is old and needs a bit of modernising and painting but the location is fantastic and the staff are great. Breakfast was good. Lots of choice. The hotel is situated right opposite the station so near to town and lots of restaurants and in walking distance of beaches either direction. Book direct from the hotel website and there are usually offer codes that you can use making it even better value for money. It's worth paying more for a sea view room. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Cardamon, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Great Western Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tony wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Had a lovely 2 night break with breakfast. We had a double room overlooking the sea and toward the harbour which was amazing. The bedroom was of good standard and the bed was huge and comfortable. Had plenty of choice for breakfast. We paid extra for parking which was slightly up the road in a separate area. We would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Tonylingwood. We look forward to welcoming you back to Great Western Hotel again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexander S wrote a review Mar 2024
Madrid, Spain20 contributions2 helpful votes
What a view, from a spacious room with an amazingly comfortable bed. The food was great and all the staff could not do more to help you. Made for a lovely weekend break, relaxing together. And at a very reasonable price. Also perfect location to access town on foot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Alexander S, thank you for your review of Great Western Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Garry wrote a review Mar 2024
Trowbridge, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
The room I was allocated had a fantastic sea view. The only things that brought the rating down were. The pressure of the shower wasn’t great. The hotel needs a little paint on the inside. And I wasn’t informed of the parking arrangements upon arrival. Parking in the hotels small car park cost £7. I was made aware of this by a notice that had been placed on my windshield, instructing to move it immediately! The staff were friendly and bar well stocked, so would probably stay again if in Newquay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Venture38388447669. We look forward to welcoming you back to Great Western Hotel again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike H wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Had a lovely stay at great western, got checked in early as our room was ready by Daisy who was so lovely and recommended some lovely restaraunts for us in Newquay. Thanks for that we will be back again deffo. Room was spotless and spacious and for the price we were impressed, breakfast was tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Mike H many thanks for your review, it’s greatly appreciated. We work hard to maintain a high level of food and service and strive to make sure our guests are looked after and leave happy. Look forward to seeing you at Great Western Hotel again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safari66987356403 wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
VERY POLITE YOUNG LADY ON RECEPTION CALLED JADE, REALLY HELPED US OUT DURING OUR STAY THERE,NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE,SHE WAS REALLY WELCOMING,SHE REALLY MADE OUR STAY, EXCELLENT WILL BE COMING BACK VERY CLEAN ROOM CLOSE TO THE BEACH, LOVELY VIEWS .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: EXCELLENT WILL BE COMING BACK
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Safari66987356403, thank you for your review of Great Western Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leanne G wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
A Wonderful time as always! Our third time here and won’t be our last! This time was our anniversary! Special thanks to Issy from behind the bar, she was really helpful in helping my husband pick a wine that would complement his meal, will definitely be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Leanne G, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to Great Western Hotel. We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve_UK57 wrote a review Mar 2024
Newquay, United Kingdom48 contributions16 helpful votes
The Great Western is a St. Austell pub & hotel which overlooks the Great Western beach in Newquay, Cornwall. Pedestrian beach access if you can handle the steep slope. We haven’t stayed here as we live locally but we use the pub and restaurant regularly. Good choice of beers and pub grub. Really friendly staff, especially Issy who has a permanent smile and can’t do enough to please. It gets very busy in summer but there is a large garden with coastal views. Sunday carvery is amazing value. Very handy location for exploring the Newquay area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good idea to reserve parking if booking a stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Steve_uk57, thank you for your review of Great Western Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronnie C wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Booked a table for the restaurant within the hotel - Steam Bar, called up and receptionist called Daisy delt with my enquiry with ease and was so helpful on phone - she reserved us a lovely table with a great view- thanks Daisy- we had a lovely day
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Ronnie C, thank you for your review of Great Western Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Archie M wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Came down to Newquay for the weekend with 6 other friends and the great western did not disappoint. The room was absolutely perfect. Had a lovely big spacious room with the BEST views of Newquay! If you decide to stay here, make sure you get booked into room 217! Food and Breakfast was also lovely, but this is to be expected from a St Austell pub. Big thank you to all the team at the great western who made our weekend so lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi 489archiem, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to Great Western Hotel. We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
great western hotel newquay, great western newquay, hotel great western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREAT WESTERN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Newquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about Great Western Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Great Western Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tom Thumb Cocktail Bar (0.3 miles), Tolcarne Beach (0.07 miles), and South West Coast Path Walk - Newquay's Twin Headlands from Newquay Station (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Great Western Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Great Western Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Great Western Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Great Western Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lost Brewing Co, The Fish Bar, and Steam Bar & Restaurant.
Is Great Western Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Newquay.
Are there any historical sites close to Great Western Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (2.6 miles), The Huers Hut (0.6 miles), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (3.2 miles).
Does Great Western Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Great Western Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.