We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Blue Reef Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 12 hostels in Newquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blue Reef Lodge is brand new, super relaxing, comfy and stylish. It is absolutely perfect for a surf getaway, or even just a break by the sea. Blue Reef Lodge has a very advantageous position, because it is in the heart of Newquay. Great Western Beach, Towan Beach and Tolcarne Beach with various bars & restaurants, shops and supermarkets is a 1 minute walk from it. The Blue Reef Aquarium, right by Towan beach, is well worth a visit. At low tide you can walk all the way across the beach to the traditional Cornish harbour, where you can find an excellent crab sandwich or ice cream. The most famous Fistral Beach and Watergate Bay is 1 miles from the property. Newquay railway station and coach station are both within a 5 minute walk from the accommodation. Blue Reef is only 4 miles from Newquay Airport and Newquay Zoo is 0.8 miles away. Blue Reef Lodge offers a variety of rooms, including dormitories and private rooms. Free wi-fi, TV, bed linen, towels, and tea/coffee in the room are all
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Russian
74Reviews3Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 17
  • 11
  • 6
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mel Gregory wrote a review Aug 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Might be bias as we stayed after camping at a festival for 4 nights, but they were the comfiest beds/pillows I’ve ever slept on. It’s in a great location, a minutes walk from the train station. And they provide some helpful food storage and communal basic cooking equipment. The staff were also really friendly and the check in and out process was really easy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sheila wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Good location, various parking alternative. Friendly housekeeping and reception. Happy to answer your questions about your stay. GOOD sea fronts , shop and restaurant along with good drinking locations
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
neil9327 wrote a review Aug 2022
Tadley, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
I was in room 3 at the front. The double glazed window was broken in that it was open half an inch at the top - which let in a lot of road noise. In addition there was some mains hum from location unknown - but interestingly this mostly disappeared if I stood next to the window. Apart from that the accommodation was basic but OK. I'd be happy to stay again. Free wifi worked in the room (use the password on the posters in the room).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Len morgan wrote a review Sept 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Never have I stayed at such a badly run vile hole. No parking, no reception staff, food was half cooked giving me an upset tummy & attitude of some of the staff was much to be desired!! STAY WELL CLEAR!!!!! .... TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jenny O wrote a review Aug 2019
Wellingborough, United Kingdom7 contributions
Really nice hotel clean, friendly staff, close to town centre and really good price. I stayed here for two nights with my two children and we had a lovely time it was a last minute decision to go to Cornwall and the blue reef was happy to accommodate at last minute would defo stay there again. Very happy customers 😁
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
donna l wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
Very good location to the beach and shops, we found parking was a little tricky outside, best thing to do if you get a car space leave it there, nice and clean hotel, but bedrooms were a bit small if there's 3 of you, staff very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ReefLodges, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2019
Dear Donna, Thank you so much for staying with Blue Reef Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we have definitely taken your comments on board. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Reef Lodges team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ria M wrote a review Apr 2019
Exmouth, United Kingdom30 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed here Friday 26th May-Sunday 27th May. Clean and tidy venue,easy booking. A couple of things disappointed us that the communal area was only accessible until 7pm and there was no drinking in the rooms being a hen party of 8 we had drink and games to play. Would defiantly recommend the communal area to be left open until later before people go out I stayed here two years ago and it was ideal for groups to socialise and mix (we try to be clean and tidy and well behaved but I understand not all are and this could make it difficult). We had an issue with our bedroom door but one reported was sorted out rapidly. VERY EFFICIENT. We enjoyed our stay and the location was brilliant for us. Many thanks 👍🏼
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ReefLodges, reception at Blue Reef Lodge
Responded 29 Apr 2019
Dear Ria, Thank you for staying with Blue Reef Lodge and thank you for leaving a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value all feedback to improve our services and facilities and we have definitely taken your comments on board. We hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your kind review. Many thanks, Reef Lodges team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marvel2015 wrote a review Feb 2019
Hastings, United Kingdom105 contributions73 helpful votes
We were shocked to arrive at the hotel and to then be told...... "If you need anything, ring me and I will be back right away". Yes you read that correctly, the management were not on site. The reception was empty, the so called Bar area served nothing and it also had a double mattress up against a wall close to the bar area? Inside our room in stated on the back of the door that Housekeeping was every three days. Well.... After four days and NO Housekeeping we had to ask the lovely cleaner for an extra bin, pillows and loo rolls. The shower was one of those you get at a swimming pool, you pushed the button and got water for around 2 minuets before it stopped and then you had to push the button again. You could not adjust the shower head height either. The room was cramped, with 4 beds in it and little room to walk around, There was nowhere to hang clothes nor was there any chests of draws. All our belongings had to be shoved under our beds. The decking outside for the 'smokers area' was broken, nails sticking up and to be honest it was dangerous! If you're thinking of going here read the reviews, everyone has a different experience I know, but ours was awful. Also bear in mind that even after paying up front or booking you STILL have to pay a deposit per person on TOP which is returned when you check out and the room being as it was when you check in
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ReefLodges, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge
Responded 27 Apr 2019
Dear Marvel2015, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review. From your description, we don't believe you stayed in Blue Reef Lodge but with our sister lodge, Reef Island. During the winter season, our lodges are very quiet and as such we have limited staff to allow us to remain open. This is common practice in Newquay which experiences fluctuations between Summer and Winter seasons. During the dates of your stay, you were the only guests and as such, one member of staff was on site during opening hours. Another member of staff lives in the building permanently in the case of emergency so the building is never left empty but, as standard with hostels in Newquay, the reception has opening hours. This is advertised online before you book with us. The number that is posted at reception is the best way to reach us after reception is closed or during the times that the receptionist can not be posted at the front desk. The extra pillows and bins are not standard in the room and you would have had to ask for this as extra which our staff are always happy to provide where possible. We are glad to hear that you found the staff member on duty so great! We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at Reef Island Lodge. Please keep in mind that we are a hostel that offers some of the lowest rates in Newquay with private rooms. As such, our facilities are clean, comfortable and convenient to keep our prices down. All hostels require payment upfront before you check-in. This again is advertised in our terms and conditions before you book with us. Again, the security deposit against damages is advertised online and is returned provided that our terms and conditions are met during your stay. We understand that guests may not be satisfied with their rooms and our staff are always happy to offer an alternative either on our own properties or with another hotel in Newquay. However, if our guests do not state this at the time, we are limited in what we can do to help make their stay better. Thank you again for your valuable review. Kind regards, Reef Lodges team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Timothy N wrote a review Oct 2018
3 contributions
We were only meant to stay here for one night, but due to circumstances we had to stay for a few nights longer. The gentleman on reception was lovely! Helped out when needed and just friendly and approachable! The room was remarkable, with a comfy large bed. It also had a 32’ smart tv, so we were able to watch Netflix and YouTube on it. It was lovely and clean all round!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Surf N, Reception team at Blue Reef Lodge
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear Timothy, Thank you for staying with Blue Reef Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff and facilities so great! We hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your kind response. Kind regards, Blue Reef Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LouBeckwith wrote a review Aug 2018
Peterborough, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for a short 3 night break in Newquay. We love Newquay and we thought this place would be a good little place to stay. The images looked ok. We booked a triple room. On arrival we found there is NO parking near the hotel. I ran into the hotel to ask on reception where we should park and the lady behind the desk reacted like I had asked her what 3,792 divided by 17 was!! After lots of umming and arring she suggested the pay and display car park a few streets away (and told me it would barely cost anything!) . We parked in Manor car park, (it's tiny!!) we did approx 25 laps of the car parks before a space became free and paid £25 for 3 days parking! Then we walked from the car park with our luggage the 5 minute walk back to the hotel. Check in was fast and painless. On entering the room we stood in shock for a couple of minutes...it was a box room with a single bed and a bunk bed in. Our 4yr old wanted to sleep on the top bunk but the ladder was very unstable and we just felt it was dangerous. The top bunk is very close to the ceiling so neither me or the hubby wanted to sleep in it either so he had one single and i shared the other single with our daughter. Not the comfiest i can tell you! This room also has a shared bathroom.....a bathroom shared with the whole floor. it was clean but not overly safe, the lock could easily be opened with a coin or even a key! On our first night (a saturday night) we were shocked at how much noise you can hear! We were on the first floor (room 3) and could hear every word next door were saying as well as every footstep from the corridor and rooms above. We had driven 8 hours to get there and were already contemplating driving home!! Newquay is great, the hotel is in a fab location for the beaches and town centre. The first night was uncomfortable, street noise is so loud (it was like the room didnt even have a window!) and party goers woke us up constantly coming in and out of rooms throughout the night (one even kept trying to open our room door obviously thinking it was their room!). The second night was a bit better being a sunday however someone decided to have a shower at 4am,and the water pipes banged so loud for the duration of this individuals shower! After 20 minutes solid of loud banging we were all up and awake ridiculously early (my 4yr old included!!). After 2 sleep deprived nights we decided the cut the trip short and go home. I have never been more relieved to get into my own bed! Myself and my hubby developed a nasty cough whilst staying in the rooms, the cough was only during the nights we were in there. Luckily my daughter seemed ok but i'm convinced the room was damp! My hubby is now suffering with a terrible case of man flu which im blaming on this hotel. To sum up, the rooms are cleanish but very very very very basic. and tiny!!! No storage, no room to swing a cat. NOT suitable for 3 people!!! Free wifi and TV (but you have to request the remote control) The trip was a complete waste of money sadly and I wish we had just booked a Travelodge or premier inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I can imagine they're all terrible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Surf N, Reception team at Blue Reef Lodge
Responded 4 Oct 2018
Dear LouBeckwith, Thank you for staying with Blue Reef Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review so thoroughly. We value all feedback to improve our services and facilities in the future and your comments have been passed on. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As advertised, we do not offer parking on our premises and our guests are made aware of this before they book. It is up to the guest to arrange parking before they arrive however, our staff are always happy to direct you to the nearest parking space. We're unsure of who was at reception at the time but this is a very common question we are asked and we automatically know the best places to direct our guests to. It is possible that the member of staff was new and as such we would hope that our guests would have some patience while they learn the ropes of the business. We apologise if this delayed you at all. The room that you booked was one of our cheapest rooms, it is our budget triple room with shared bathroom which is described when booking. We have a wide variety of rooms available for every guest requirement and for every budget and we can only provide the room that is requested. We're always happy to receive calls when booking if you would like to confirm which room is being booked. Upon arrival, if our guests are unhappy with the rooms they have booked, we encourage everyone to come to our reception team who are happy to provide an alternative room where possible. It sounds as if one of our large family rooms with en-suite would have been more appropriate for your stay. We have two shared bathrooms on our premises, one of the first floor and one on the second. Both of these bathrooms are only accessed by two rooms and not the whole floor. The other rooms have en-suites. Our guests are given the option of shared bathroom or en-suite upon booking as well to provide as much choice as possible. These bathrooms can only be accessed by a specific key which is only given to the two rooms that are allowed to use these bathrooms upon check-in. So yes, you are correct. The door can be opened with a key however, you can not open these bathrooms with a coin. It is a key lock that automatically locks upon closing and it can be bolted again from the inside to ensure privacy. We apologise if this was not clear. We're glad that you enjoyed our great central location, however as such there is external noise that unfortunately, we are unable to control. Newquay is still a popular town for parties and we are on a main road and so outside noise occurs often and we ask that our guests take this into consideration before they book. We apologise if you found the lodge very noisy and we have certainly passed that feedback on. We have a strict policy on noise after 10 p.m. and any guests not following this curfew are automatically fined. We ask all our guests to report to reception if a guest has been behaving inappropriately so we can resolve the issue where possible. We can assure you there is no damp in any of the rooms on our premises and we have guests that stay in that room daily and have never complained of any health issues. A cough can develop from a number of sources. We do sincerely hope you and your family are feeling better. We ask that our guests bear in mind that we are a hostel and as such we provide clean, convenient and cheap accommodation. Our services and facilities are more basic than Travelodge or Premier inn but of course, our prices are much lower. Thank you again for your valuable review. Kind regards, Blue Reef Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
reef surf hotel newquay, reef surf newquay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Newquay Surf B&B
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLUE REEF LODGE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Newquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Reef Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Reef Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tom Thumb Cocktail Bar (0.09 miles), Pirate's Quest Adventure Golf (0.2 miles), and Towan Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Reef Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast, and parking.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Reef Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Reef Lodge?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Reef Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lost Brewing Co, The Fish Bar, and Andy's Cafe.
Is Blue Reef Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Newquay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blue Reef Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Reef Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (2.6 miles), The Huers Hut (0.6 miles), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (2.9 miles).