We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waves Apartments

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 16 apartments in Newquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
88Reviews4Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 28
  • 5
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Zoe D wrote a review May 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in Waves 8. The best thing about this place is the view.....Take me back there! Really well equipped, clean, modern apartment. We took our dog - all fine, there's a bit of grass just in front of the place where you can pop out, plus the beach is less than 5 mins away. Only thing to note is that the door to the place and within are fire doors, so you need a bit of strength there! We will be back !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jannerbloke wrote a review May 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom12667 contributions6807 helpful votes
+1
We booked this one bedroom top floor back facing flat at a few days notice via Airbnb for three nights at the May bank holiday weekend. The flat was in first rate condition, tidy bathroom, simple relaxed bedroom. Comprehensively equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge area with sofas (one a sofa bed), wifi, streamed tv, internet radio and doors opening onto balcony rail with no sea view but pleasant views over landscaped terracing available for use for BBQs and whatever you like. Entirely suited to our needs as a couple and could have taken more. The four floor building has one narrow parking space per flat at ground level at the front, communal access through controlled doors, lift to all floors. We were allowed to bring our dog after the owner or agent had approved a photo of our pet. We were entirely satisfied. Excellent Watergate beach is a five minute or less walk from the entrance. We ate once at Wax which is next door up the road, at the Beach Hut down by the beach and at the Travellers Rest 5 minutes drive east. All were fully dog friendly. We wished we could have eaten at Emily Scott adjoining the WG hotel but there was no dog option when we called. We had a couple and more lunchtime snacks when we took a look at the next nearest beach villages east and west. We had a good break. We have read mixed reviews of other flats in the block but we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend number 31.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Room Tip: The front flats have sea views but the back ones are still good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lizzieeeh wrote a review Sept 2020
Rayleigh, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed at number 14 in the waves apartments with 3 friends and I can not fault our stay! The location is 10/10 - You are right on the beach with a few surrounding restaurants/bars and the apartment is a short drive away from lots of other beaches and places to visit whilst in Cornwall. The apartment is great if you want to be near the beach as the free parking on site allows you to walk to watergate bay beach within 1 minute! It’s a great beach for surfing and you can hire wetsuits and equipment for a small hire fee. We also had a bbq in the evening here which many others were doing aswell. The apartment isn’t super modern but it really has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The beds were delightful and I even wanted to take the duvet home! The towels provided were so fluffy and soft and the biggest I’ve ever seen in a hotel/apartment. There are cooking facilities which were great for cooking breakfast and dinners but bring salt and pepper as the shakers were empty and also cooking oil etc... Overall a 10/10 stay and I would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Waves!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MCHMF wrote a review Aug 2020
Wooburn, United Kingdom456 contributions178 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times before and it has always been great. The location is perfect and the view over Watergate amazing. Great to have a car parking space and some good restaurants such as The Beach Hut and Wax within walking distance. Our latest visit was just as good and we will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pam T wrote a review Feb 2020
Ripley, United Kingdom331 contributions221 helpful votes
I would guess this was built 10 years ago with everything top of the range. This has aged well into comfortableness. Not so smart that you worry you might break something or cant operate anything. This was a rear facing dog friendly apartment. Very clean and no sign of previous canines. Only whiff was of a crafty smoker. It had a large deck with table and chairs making it also toddler friendly. Tips bring salt, pepper and vinegar along with any other provisions. Nothing handy. Emergency supplies of tea and coffee and sugar plus 4 little uht milks wait for you. There is a little soap and a tiny shampoo. No kitchen roll but there are tea towels. Toilet roll a little harsh if you are fussy! There is a DVD player if you have a fave to bring. Underfloor heating was lovely. Bath taps very hard to reach because of shower screen and plug reluctant to stay put. Plinth came off every time you put something in dishwasher ( tablets ) provided but small gripes. Location is perfect 2 mins from the beautiful beach
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Waves Apartments
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback and we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and have given the apartment a 5 star rating. We appreciate your comments regarding the plug and plinth and will get our maintenance team to take a look. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WMF wrote a review Sept 2019
23 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I have been staying at Watergate Bay since Beachcombers Apartments were built and occasionally at Waves once they were built both in small groups and as a couple so I have a very good idea of the standards in these apartments. Upon arrival at around 2pm at Waves (very early so no intention of checking in) I decided to locate the apartment front door so I knew once it was time where to go (as 2 couples we had a large food and drink order arriving around 4-5 and if he turned up earlier than No 23 was ready we wanted to stack the order next to the door to save time). The plaque downstairs and on the landing says No 23 is on 3rd Floor (I did not take my printed check in sheet as I had no intention of opening the key box etc at this time, just wanting to locate the door). On 3rd Floor No 23 had a numbered door but no key box. I was concerned as when it was time to check in I couldn’t see where to get key. I approached an open apartment with a big bundle of bedding propoing the door open, tapped on the door and called out ‘Hello’. A voice said yes, didn’t come to door, nor show face, which I understand as it was change over day, i called out, we are checking into No 23 later but can’t find the key box. The voice called out ‘read your instructions, No 23 is on 4th floor and we’ve got another two to do before we get to that one. I explained to the empty hallway that I wasn’t wanting to check-in etc and apologised for taking time but the sign in reception had said 3rd floor but that I would go the 4th floor. As I called good bye. She called out ‘that car in No 23 space is mine and I can’t move it’. - I hadn’t asked this question, nor looked to park there. I fekt this attitude was horrendous but checked 4th floor, went back downstairs to the hotel for a drink, noticing that the 2 staff car parking spaces were empty and thinking how surprised I was by the faceless voice. I was going to call but didn’t want to start my holiday dealing with stressful stuff. We returned at 4 to wait in the car park for our food delivery, it arrived about 20 past, we went upstairs, let ourselves in and noticed that the cleanliness was nowhere near the usual standards in Watergate Bay. As we had invited another couple to join us on this holiday, they had never been to Cornwall, I decided I had better start cleaning as I didn’t want to have told them how lovely Waves is and them see the poor hygiene. We picked No 23 as it didn’t allow dogs in July or Aug and as it was the last week of Aug we figured there would have been 7 weekly cleans since the last dog had stayed and there would be no evidence by the time we arrived... It took us, all 4 of us in the end, just over 2 hours to clean (I can now see the timeline by times on photos) the apartment. I took a few photos as I was so very surprised. I have been coming here and Beachcombers next door for 15 years and NEVER seen this. The owner has since refunded £100 of the £1763 we paid for the week. This works out at just over the minimum wage for 4 people cleaning for over 2 hours and that’s without the broken shower. We will not return to No 23.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from S2artKS, General Manager at Waves Apartments
Responded 17 Sept 2019
Hi, I am sorry for the experience you have had however number23 is not a property that we manage or have ever had any involvement with. Could I please therefore request this review to be moved to the appropriate review page, or indeed is taken down. Many thanks, Stuart (breaksincornwall.com)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa M wrote a review Feb 2019
Shrivenham, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at waves apartments with my 12 yr old daughter, elderly mother and niece, we arrived late Friday evening and were able to access the key easily from a nearby apartment block, we had clear instructions on how to access the gated car park and found our apartment easily. The apartment was clean, tidy and modern and perfect for our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BelindaJane7 wrote a review Aug 2018
Greater London, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
We have had a lovely stay at Waves 2. The week has not been cheap but the location is fantastic, the apartment is modern, clean and well supplied. We would stay here again although the 2nd bedroom is small and might benefit from bunk beds and the view of the beach does overlook the carpark. The Sky tv doesn't work that well but it wasn't watched much and the excellent ‘food4myholiday’ contact was great although would have been good if they'd let us know that many items we had purchased would be provided, Tea bags, dish washer tablets, bin bags etc, but not washing powder, loo rolls or (olive) cooking oil...small gripes. We did notice a bit of grumpiness from other 'owners of properties' with our slowness using codes to access entrance and carpark but I guess they feel they are superior. Dryer didn't work which was a bit of a pain with wet towels etc. Good place to stay though and pretty sure we'd stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LJTBeds wrote a review Aug 2018
Beds37 contributions26 helpful votes
This appartment has clearly had people smoking pot in it. The stench is quite unbearable in the hall and living room. Who thought it would be a good idea to install a giant ticking clock in the bedroom? But that’s not the only noise to keep you awake.....when the wind blows a metal vent on the outside of the building to the left of the window reverberates - it sounds a bit like someone constantly putting a metal bin out. You need to ration the hot water. Not great when you’ve been surfing in a cold sea and need to warm up. There is a sign in the bathroom advising of the 2 hours for the emersion tank to heat up, recommending you to do your washing at night - so there have clearly been complaints. Bizaarly, there is not a single empty cupboard in the kitchen to put food into. The only place to store food is the fridge. What do they expect you to do? Also in the kitchen, the plinth under the dishwasher falls open every time you open the dishwasher door. There web description ‘garden views’ is the loosest term possible, the view is of a bank, covered in planting yes, but a bank nonetheless. Oh, and the appartment below’s extendive deck, which apparently is perfect for bbqs at 10pm. Whatever number you are in be very careful in the car park. The spaces are tiny and have concrete blocks a couple of inches high eather side of the space at the end. We didn’t realise and upon arrival trying to avoid an open car door one side, took a chunk out of our tyre, ruining the alloy. This is clearly a money making rental for the owners, I can’t imagine they have ever stayed here themselves. It has suffered from a lack of maintenance and desperately needs refurbishment. I know it’s not the most expensive apt in the block or bay (it was the only one available when we booked) but it’s still not cheap to stay here and quite frankly I expect more from experiences in other watergate bay rentals. Watergate bay is lovely and we have been here many times before, just stay somewhere else....if this is the last available appartment, consider peter bull caravan park down the road for a lot less money!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bristolhols2014 wrote a review Jul 2018
england18 contributions26 helpful votes
We had a wonderful break here, perfect location to the beach and restaurants nearby. Having the main and side access to the apartment meant we could come and go easily. Apartment has everything you need to cook and the beds are so comfortable. High chair and cot included! Really clean, would recommend! We will be booking again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waves apartments hotel newquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAVES APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Newquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Art at the Beach (1.5 miles), Tom Thumb Cocktail Bar (2.7 miles), and WAX Activity Bar (3.0 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Waves Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Waves Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waves Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish House - Fistral, Toast Wine Bar, and The Ring O Bells.
Are pets allowed at Waves Apartments?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Waves Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (4.0 miles), St Eval Church (3.2 miles), and The Huers Hut (2.7 miles).