Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glencree House

Bedroom at Glencree House
Traveller (52)
Room 3 - a spacious and light double room with a four-poster bed
Room & Suite (44)
Dining room
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#5 of 39 B&Bs in Penzance
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
442Reviews1Q+A69Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 51
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
docvwLondon wrote a review Apr 2015
Cardiff, United Kingdom227 contributions276 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Glencree House is a large Victorian House built of solid Granite with many original features in a quiet road close to the Promenade and within walking distance of Newlyn. Rooms are on several levels over three floors, some of which have sea views. The house does not have a lift and this may deter those who have difficulty in managing staircases. The B&B is run by a young couple with two young children. Andrew and Lynsey are friendly, helpful and relaxed and provide excellent advice and materials for those who do not know Cornwall and who need suggestions of what to do. There is a large supply of guides, maps and books which can be borrowed by guests for the duration of their stay.
Breakfast is provided in the downstairs front room of the house which has a wood burning stove and two sofas for guest use. Keys are provided for access at all times. Guests are asked to complete a breakfast choice form the night before and to indicate the time at which they would like breakfast. Early starts are possible by prior arrangement. There is a buffet selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, conserves and sliced brown and white breads. A toaster allows you to make your own toast as necessary. Large and small versions of a traditional English breakfast are available and also a large and small vegetarian version. The large version is quite a challenge! In addition scrambled eggs on toasted bagel, and granola options are available. The quality of ingredients is good.
We stayed in a rear-facing room for 4 nights. The room was a good size with adequate clothes storage, An en-suite had been created in the bedroom which was not particularly attractive but clean and provided all that was necessary. Rooms were serviced daily but there was some carelessness – bins were not always emptied, dirty crockery was left soaking in the bathroom sink etc. The overall style of the room and the en-suite were somewhat dated.
Overall Glencree provides a welcoming B&B with a decent breakfast. Its rooms and facilities are somewhat dated but it continues to provide good value for money
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Silke F wrote a review Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom16 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just like last year, I stayed with my mum in this lovely guesthouse because we felt great the last time we were here.
This time we had room No. 2 which has a half-view of the sea and gives a view into Andrew's backyard. This time we got to know their little daughter and heard the kids playing in the garden which wasn't a problem as we weren't in most of the time anyway.

Nothing had changed since last time, same hospitality, great breakfast, clean and tidy room. Thanks to Molly and Lisa for being a great help to Andrew and Lynsey.

We had a wonderful time in Glencree House - only the poor neigbour's dog that seemed to be shut out of the house very often, barking at the door, was something to get used to - and nothing was too much for Andrew and Lynsey, always helping out with so many things.
I very much appreciated the help they gave when I needed a printout for a flight ticket and they offered to print it for me. Thank you again.

I have been to so many guesthouses now but Glencree is always my No. 1.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are quieter as it's a side street but rooms facing the sea have a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Silke F wrote a review Aug 2013
London, United Kingdom16 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
At the beginning of August, I stayed for 3 nights at Glencree House with my mother and although I thought it a bit far from the train station, we were very pleased to receive such a nice greeting from Andrew and an excellent accomodation. We had the double room with ensuite on the top floor not facing the sea which we didn't mind at all as we really wanted a good night's sleep and not the noise from the street.

The breakfast is really as good as everybody else says. Every day I tried a different one and I can't really decide which was the best. They were all delicious. Andrew was very helpful to give tips what to do in the area. Like seeing St Michael's Mount or go on the Explorer bus. The next bus stop is just round the corner and from there the bus takes you all around West Cornwall. Very good!
The city centre is just 5min away if you short cut up the hill and through the park. We had a wonderful stay at Glencree House and do recommend it!

All the best to you and your family, Andrew!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dog gone david wrote a review Feb 2013
Northampton64 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as we had read the great reviews, Andrew was very helpful and I think that is really important when you go away, but our bathroom had been added into the bedroom and you could hear everything going on in the bathroom so not ideal, I had to ask for top ups for shampoo and shower cream everytime, and one day our bedroom was totally forgotten about cleaning wise, and they didnt seem too bothered.

The breakfast were very nice, although we asked for fried bread and was told 'we dont have a deep fat fryer'.

I nearly didn't put this review on after reading the others, but would want to know if I was thinking of stopping here!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jamesevonnekoh wrote a review Jul 2018
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our short stay in Glencree House. Our gracious and hospitable host, Andrew, has set up a user friendly system of checking in. Room, albeit small, was clean and comfortable. We slept well. Breakfast was great too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
turnerboi15 wrote a review May 2018
London, United Kingdom10 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner stayed here for one night. It’s just right.

The hotel was LGBT friendly. We met Andrew who was extremely accommodating and friendly.

The rooms were of a nice size with a small ensuite shower and toilet which was just right. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast in the AM was plentiful and served up until 09:30. A great range of dishes on offer to suit those with dietary requirements.

Definately recommend this place for a short stay in Penzance. I would definately stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TrillianNo wrote a review Jul 2015
Oslo, Norway11 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had really great stay. Andrew and his wife are great hosts. Good breakfast! We would recommend this bed & breakfast to everybody. Penzance is lovely and very convenient as a base for many day trips in the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellie C wrote a review Jul 2015
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wree visiting a relative in Penzance and hadnt got any experience of where to stay so we selected Glencree for it's price and location...and we were so pleased we did. The location was great- nice and quiet but just round the corner from the seafront. Andrew & Lyndsey who run it were great- very friendly and knowledgable...not to mention their fantastic cooked breakfasts.
Book early for this one as its popular (understandably)- we could only stay 2 nights out of the 3 we were in Penzance and our 3rd night (elsewhere) was no where near as comfortable!
Thanks Andrew & Lyndsey, we wil be back next summer!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenda B wrote a review Jun 2015
Geraldton, Australia3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sitting in Dubai departure lounge waiting for a very delayed flight home, we wish Glencree house was here! The hospitality Andrew and his family provide is very considerate and we would get a far better choice of breakfast, especially the cooked components!
These benches are a universe away from the comfortable units we enjoyed in the garret room of Andrew's establishment. Far more healthy exercise getting up and down the Glencree stairs; better than the escalators we are obliged to use here!. then there is the choice of so much to do within easy walking distance of Glencree, especially the fish and chips.
Those with any aussie tendencies will appreciate Andrew's knowledge of AFL, since he originates from Melbourne.

Anyway, do not hesitate to stay there, very good value!

Paul and Glenda Blackwell
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you sleep walk you'd best strap a pillow to the beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin M wrote a review Jul 2014
Barbados34 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Glencree is just a lovely place to stay. All the amenities you could want and the best breakfast ever. We arrived dripping wet from biking and Andrew made us right at home in minutes, showed us where to dry our stuff and we settled in to a large very comfortable room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from GlencreeHouse
Penzance, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hi Lindsey, Thanks for contacting us. We apologise for the delay in our response, we were away from home for a few days without an internet connection. Unfortunately we don't allow pets due to Andrew's allergies. We believe that the Beachfield Hotel (located 50 metres away around the corner from us) does accept pets. We are sorry that we can't look after you in this occasion and hope you have a nice stay in Penzance. Kind regards, Lynsey and Andrew
awalla299046 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Weymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't lock yourself out!"
Read full review
jdavie824956 wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Double room with en-suite bathroom!"
Read full review
hknudsen_24 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Lexington, Kentucky21 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5 has a fantastic view of the sea. "
Read full review
Safari14641626953 wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lynsey and Andrew have a solution if you forget your keys. Fresh milk down in the dining room."
Read full review
po826jonathanf826 wrote a tip May 2019
Amesbury, United Kingdom17 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lower rooms appear better."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Penzance area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPenzance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLENCREE HOUSE - B&B Reviews, Photos (Penzance) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Glencree House
Which popular attractions are close to Glencree House?
Nearby attractions include Penlee House Gallery & Museum (0.2 miles), Penlee Park Open Air Theatre (0.2 miles), and Grand Casino Amusements (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Glencree House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Glencree House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Glencree House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glencree House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Navy Inn Penzance, Fraser’s Fish & Chips, and Taj Mahal.
Is Glencree House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Penzance.
Are there any historical sites close to Glencree House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Carn Euny Ancient Village (4.2 miles), Chysauster Ancient Village (3.3 miles), and Boscawen-un Stone Circle (3.8 miles).
All Penzance HotelsPenzance Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PenzanceHotels near Glencree House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire