We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Higher Faugan Parc

Save
Share
Chywoone Hill, Penzance TR18 5NS England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#17 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Originally built in 1904, this beautiful private guest house offers contemporary style accommodation in the small Cornish town of Newlyn, within easy reach of Lands End, St Ives and Penzance. Formerly the family home of artists Stanhope and Elizabeth Forbes (founder of the Newlyn School of Art), Higher Faugan features 7 guest rooms, including 4 luxury suites, all of which are equipped with modern comforts such as Smart TV USB outlets and Wi-Fi internet access. Our concept is room only plus continental breakfast provided in your room or suite, see our website for full details
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
173Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 27
  • 8
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travelnews2016 wrote a review Sept 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for three nights this week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room, bathroom, establishment in general was very clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was provided as self-serve in the room. Good and plentiful choices of cereals, breads, orange juice, jams, yoghurts, tea, coffee fresh fruit, plus pastries. These were topped up on a daily basis. I am vegan and was concerned that I would have to find my own as the information stated that those with special diets were welcome to bring in their own (or similar wording). On arrival I found there was plant-based milk, biscuits, cereals, yoghurts, spread for toast; I was well provided for. My partner is not vegan and his choices were well provided for too. The setting is lovely. Be mindful that the drive is 0.4 miles if walking, it's a pleasant walk. It’s sited at the top of a steep hill from Newlyn town, we are not particularly fit, we managed to walk it. On an evening out on a night where there was high demand for taxis, Doug spent time finding a taxi for us. He found a firm that arrived promptly. We had not intended to stay in a self-serve establishment but this was a better experience for us than we had planned. We could get up and eat at our own pace. There is a tv in the room and plenty of sockets, a hairdryer, plenty of space to hang clothes. There was good practice regarding Covid measures (masks, cleaning, hand sanitiser). We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Jasse, General Manager at Higher Faugan Parc
Responded 26 Sept 2021
Many thanks for the appreciation, hope to see you in the future
Read more
lashy2015 wrote a review Sept 2021
Salisbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a Wonderful break celebrating our Wedding Anniversary in this Beautiful home and location. What a treat to find a bottle of Champagne In The fridge waiting for us, Thank you Doug and Wendy for spoiling us. Also, for our lovely big room upgrade too, our room was absolutely lovely , the bed very comfortable and breakfast was just enough . We felt very comfortable as the owners had made every effort to keep Covid rules in place. We will definitely return one day . 5 Stars from us . A Big Thank you again. Best Wishes from the Riches .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
jamiemax1 wrote a review Sept 2021
5 contributions
So as we were the last ones into the property we got the smallest room. The shower was awful the bath was no better the water took over 20 mins to heat and the shower head did not stay up and fell on my head and my other half’s head also! It was like faulty towers! The fan was on when we enters the room, once we turned it off we realised why… the room has a musty old smell to it hence the ceiling fan continuously needed to be on! So the breakfast is the reason I booked this reservation… little did I realise that the breakfast was not going to be a hot meal please do not be fooled! The breakfast was 2 stale croissant , 3 slices of white and brown bread in sandwich bags which had been handled by the owners themselves so no health and safety taken into consideration! 2 Cereal boxes and butter and tea! The bed was a small double which meant my partner and I was in close proximity to one another and as the room was very small to there was barely any breathing room! The cleaning is completed by the owners too and you can really tell! When we got into the room there was 2 spiders and cobwebs in some corners which my partner had to get rid off! So the actual site in itself looks good from a distance however don’t get excited it’s very run down, and you can barely walk around anywhere due to the owners sticking do not enter signs everywhere! You can tell the owners also stay here and want to keep some privacy between themselves and the guests! Also there is no area within the house to go sit and enjoy some of the characters of the house as again the doors have all locks and you as guests are kept out of areas you are Not allowed to go in! All in all the whole stay was not worth it! I wish I had stayed elsewhere! I wanted to leave after the first day but we could not find another hotel for the night! For the money we paid we could have gone and got a better 5star hotel stay! Please if your reading this then please do not stay in room 4 as it is the smallest in the house! I saw 2 other rooms which are not as small as ours! If your happy with the location, not having any interaction with the owner, not wanting any hot breakfast, don’t mind not having a look around the hotel or grounds then this could be for you! However this hotel was misold to me and I have raised this with the organisers for a full refund!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Jasse, General Manager at Higher Faugan Parc
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Hello, We apologise for the delay in posting this response, It is unfortunate you have not responded to numerous requests from us to provide your booking reference and date of stay, therefore given the amount of detail provided in your review we would like to respond similarly. You are under the wrong impression If you think we would have given you or anyone the only room left, this was the room you had booked, being a small double room with compact ensuite as described on website link here https://higherfaugan.co.uk/index.php/room-5-2/ Not sure what you mean by "the shower and bath" if it was due to hot water, as mentioned in our room information and advised all guests when showing them their room "the hot water is Hot 24hrs and on occasion if not used can take a few minutes to reach the room, we advise running the hot bath tap for a few seconds when it runs hot", shower heads can at times require adjustment as it appears in your case, a simple remedy is to tighten the clasp which holds the shower head, this was noticed when servicing your room the following morning and rectified, I ask all guests "should you experience any issues or need any assistance no matter how small please call me and it will be dealt with immediately" Its very unfortunate you failed to mention any of this at the time as we advised, In accordance with Covid guidelines during room servicing windows are opened and fans left running where fitted, to aid air circulation and clear any Virus germs. Breakfast contents are exactly as detailed on our website here, https://higherfaugan.co.uk/index.php/breakfast/ they are considerable not as your minimised description, why did you expect a hot meal when we specifically state Complementary continental Breakfast items are provided, Freshly baked Croissants, bread and fruit are purchased daily, and as such handled wearing food preparation gloves. The bed is as booked being a standard 4ft 6in double and not the small double you describe, the room is sold as described on our website and what you had booked. https://higherfaugan.co.uk/index.php/room-5-2/ You are correct about the cleaning being carried out by ourselves with assistance, may I add to a very high standard, its spider season and webs can be spun within hours if not less, the house is vacuumed daily throughout, its possible the odd web can appear, if you found anything that was unacceptable why not mention it at the time as previously mentioned, you did not find anything dirty or unclean I can assure you. The property is regularly updated, redecorated throughout bi-annually and kept to a very High Standard at all times. "Privacy Comments" you are correct that we value our privacy, also that of our guests, in order of keeping everyone safe from Covid, your obviously unaware that this Virus is rife in Cornwall, we need to protect ourselves and where possible others, its made very clear in your confirmation and pre arrival information that your stay will be as contactless as possible after your initial welcome with phone only contact. We are not sure why you would want to enter "Private areas", as are some of the grounds, this is also stated on our website, room information and personally when here. https://higherfaugan.co.uk/index.php/gardens This is not a Hotel, but accommodation only in suites or rooms, the house is not open to the public, nor do we advertise it as such, and is detailed on our website here https://higherfaugan.co.uk/index.php/facilities-2/ We state we have no public rooms, so why expect them. Your room would have cost £278 for two nights, any alternative double rooms in the area had they been available at the time would have cost this for only one night, I can assure you any 5 star alternative if you could find one would be £300/£400+ if not more per night, if you know of one for the price you paid let me know, 98% of our guests are more than happy with .our rooms and service, its unfortunate you found it otherwise, You mention room 4, which is not the room you describe or stayed in. Our conclusion is that on the whole any disappointment was due to your own lack of research, and could have been avoided. All that was needed to resolve any of the issues you mention would have been to mention them at the time, and we would have been more than happy to correct any misunderstandings, however you failed to mention any of those issues raised at the time, and unfortunately found it necessary to incorrectly post them in public before contacting us for assistance, you chose the most economical and smallest room we have, which is clearly stated on our website in both words and pictures, you also received complimentary parking. We suggest you take as much time as possible in the future to look at accommodation you book, here are some comments of a guest who stayed for 4 nights in the same room around the same time. You mention organisers, maybe you could advise who this was. 5/5 Lovely and quiet destination with beautiful forest and hills around. The highest standard of room service I have ever experienced! Very clean, once per day plus lovely breakfast!
Read more
Chrissie602 wrote a review May 2021
Glos30 contributions47 helpful votes
A lovely property tucked away in large grounds. The room was spacious and well equipped for all our needs. Douglas the owner was so helpful and arranged for us to change our dates several times due to unforseen circumstances. A lovely breakfast was in the room for us to have at anytime and ample facilities to make a small snack/drink if required. Very nicely furnished with quality furniture and comfortable bed. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting that area of Cornwall or the Scilly Isles as you can also leave your car safely st the property for a small charge. Thank you Doug we hope to return in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Stephen F wrote a review Sept 2020
13 contributions7 helpful votes
Higher Faugan Parc is a truly exceptional residence. Other hotels with luxury messaging could well take note of the attention to detail, cleanliness and excellent accomodation put together by the impressive Doug , Wendy and Luke. Our room felt like a 5 star residence with excellent fittings, exceptional decor and a strong homely feel. The room was cleaned daily to high Covid standards. Sarah and I will certainly be returning next year and use the fantastic location as a base to explore the surrounding area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$156 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPenzance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Higher Faugan Parc
Which popular attractions are close to Higher Faugan Parc?
Nearby attractions include Cornwalls Great Escape Rooms Ltd (0.6 miles), Newlyn Filmhouse (0.7 miles), and The Star Inn (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Higher Faugan Parc?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Higher Faugan Parc?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Higher Faugan Parc?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Higher Faugan Parc?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Higher Faugan Parc?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mackerel Sky Seafood Bar, Duke Street Cafe, and Lewis Fish and Chips.
Are there any historical sites close to Higher Faugan Parc?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chysauster Ancient Village (4.4 miles), Carn Euny Ancient Village (3.3 miles), and Boscawen-un Stone Circle (2.7 miles).
Is Higher Faugan Parc accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.