We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunedin Guest House

Save
Share
Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ England
Hotels.com
Priceline
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#19 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Dunedin is a large Victorian house dating from 1886 and is AA 4-Star rated, it has 8 tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with modern en-suite shower, wash basin and WC together with Free-view digital colour TV, DVD player, radio alarm, hair dryer, cooling fan and tea/coffee making facilities.The Dunedin is situated in a wide and tree-lined avenue leading to the seafront, with its long promenade and sheltered bay and there is unrestricted parking on both sides and for most of Alexandra Road and the adjoining roads.Situated on the edge of town, but within a few short minutes walk of the centre and the seafront, Dunedin is in the ideal position to visit all the many and reasonably priced pubs, restaurants and other attractions in Penzance. Breakfast is served in our bright and airy dining room, which is situated on the ground floor, and there is a selection of cereals, chilled fruit juices and segments and cooked to order main courses to suit a variety of tastes and preferences.We offer our Guests free and unrestricted access to the Internet via our BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband WIFI, please ensure your laptop has a radio card, a firewall and appropriate virus protection. BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband is available 24 hours a day and please inquire for details of the password to access the network. Here we pride ourselves on our welcoming atmosphere and, should you decide on a holiday or a short break with us, we will certainly do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please note that the Dunedin is totally non-smoking. Payment: We do not have a credit/debit card facility and therefore do not make a charge for this. We do accept Sterling cheques, traveller's cheques, cash or BACS. Please note, we do not accept children under 12 years of age.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
162Reviews3Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 43
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vaughn S wrote a review Sep 2020
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom48 contributions31 helpful votes
This hotel is spotlessly clean, covid safe and the owners very nice. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of August. Due to covid there was no cooked breakfast but we were heading out each day anyway and always found somewhere near for food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jeff and Jane Huybs wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Have stayed at the Dunedin over 30 years, John and Linda run a fantastic business. Spotlessly clean, always warm fantastic breakfast, and top service, if anyone knows of anywhere better please let us know. See you soon, keep safe best wishes Jeff & Jane.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John B, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House
Responded 2 Apr 2020
We hope you are both keeping well and we have the welcome mat waiting for your arrival here, hopefully later this year, virus permitting.
Read more
Ann U wrote a review Sep 2019
Falkirk, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 weeks and no complaints. Room spotless, breakfast brilliant, my wife is going to miss the hog's pudding, both Linda and John very pleasant and helpful with advice on where to go. The staff also very pleasant and helpful and steered us to Jelbert's, we'll also miss that ice cream with clotted cream. Would recommend this guest house to anyone going to Penzance and would return. Easy walking distance to either the promenade or town. Made good use of the Dot with Alexa listening to all the golden hits, never had TV on in the fortnight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Joanna B wrote a review Sep 2019
Chatham, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
the worst hotel ever ! still waiting for my money (£198) ! owners very arrogant ! I send proof of my cancelation but they dont care! They don't care about people!! They are very selfish !! I do not recommend ! disappointed !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John B, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House
Responded 5 Dec 2019
You did not even stay here as you failed to turn up after booking with us. We refunded you £99 when, in compliance with our terms & conditions we were not obliged to offer any refund at all to you. I have logged your details with all the OTA's and hospitality web sites as a trouble maker and fraudster.
Read more
Michelle O wrote a review Aug 2019
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom35 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights in a triple room with my partner and friend. We were welcomed by Linda, who was very pleasant and informative. Room was good size and spotlessly clean. Good shower thought small ensuite. Breakfast was lovely with a fair sized menu. Only complaint would be was when booking breakfast was advertised until 10.30am. Though on arrival we were informed breakfast was between 8am and 9am. We found this early as we were on holiday and were looking forward to relaxing and having a lie in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunedin hotel penzance
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPenzance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dunedin Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to The Dunedin Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Penlee House Gallery & Museum (0.2 miles) and Penlee Park Open Air Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dunedin Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at The Dunedin Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dunedin Guest House?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dunedin Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai Moon, The Pirate Inn, and The Orangery Cafe.
Is The Dunedin Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Penzance.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dunedin Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chysauster Ancient Village (3.2 miles), Carn Euny Ancient Village (4.1 miles), and Boscawen-un Stone Circle (3.7 miles).