We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chy-An-Albany

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chy-An-Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 832: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous week at the Chy. It was our second stay in this very friendly and comfortable hotel. The breakfasts are outstanding and we had our 20th wedding anniversary meal in the dining room which was beautifully prepared and presented. Your chef and indeed all the staff we met are first class. Thank you for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleTilly
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

as usual the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was very clean and the breakfast was first class this hotel is fast becoming my favourite hotel in st ives very handy location for the town itself

Helpful?
2 Thank ppf1967
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you are returning guests and that we are becoming one of your favourite hotels. We are just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the harbour area but out of town enough to enjoy space for our guests to park free and have the great views over the Bay itself. We will... More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stay here while attending St. Ives School of Painting for a Saturday/Sunday course. I arrived Friday afternoon and left Sunday afternoon, and was allowed to leave my car in the hotel car park during Sunday, even though I'd checked out Sunday morning, and as anyone who knows St. Ives will attest, finding free parking in the town is like finding... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireViaCornwallUK
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review complimenting the hotel and the staff. I'm pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you felt we offered good value for your money. Parking itself is free for our guests, which is an added bonus when staying in St Ives, and we are always happy to try and accommodate guests arriving... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location,very friendly staff,room was kept very clean.the food was excellent could not fault the quality and presentation.would recommend this hotel.only 5 minutes walk to St.Ive.lovely view if the seax

Helpful?
1 Thank gillvaughan33
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the experience with us recommendable We aim to offer a warm and friendly atmosphere to all our guests and it is always nice for the staff to get this feedback We look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Chose this hotel after looking on tripadvisor. ......not disappointed. Staff friendly , helpful and professional. Room a little small as previous reviews but more than adequate. ......clean, tidy and with all required facilities. Breakfast was to a high standard with no restrictions Would certainly recommend. ......will be back !!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank chasambiker
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you used the comments and remarks from this site to make the decision to book with us. Yes some of our standard rooms are smaller than others as every room is slightly different in shape and size due to the period style of the building. When booking your next... More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Picked this hotel as previously stayed and found is good value. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed with the room we had, it was tired and extremely cold. The staff were very helpful and got a portable heater which did eventually warm the room to a better heat but in all took around 2hrs to sort when we were trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidmK5779QD
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am very sorry that on this occasion you found the room disappointing and felt it was tired and cold. I have looked into our heating settings and have had the thermostats adjusted so our set back is now 18 and the room adjustment can be put up to 23 for 2 hours. I have spoken to the receptionist who... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Partner and I stayed at the Chy An Albany on a Tuesday after visiting the absolutely beautiful town of St Ives. The Hotel is in a wonderful position, perched high on the sea road overlooking Carbis Bay and St Ives with a short 10 minute walk into town. There is parking on site which is important but disabled travellers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review and for choosing the Chy an Albany for your recent stay. Our partial sea view rooms are the same size as our standard rooms but with the advantage of being on the side of the hotel and facing the bay. Our deluxe rooms do offer larger accommodation but this is reflected in the prices.... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

once again another great stay at chy-an-Albany.. this is our 5 visit and still great.. we invited our elderly in laws this time to show them how amazing St ives is and they agreed with us.. lovely buffet breakfast.. everything from self service full English to cereal, toast and fresh fruit.. they will accommodate anything you ask.. they staff are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mel p
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks We are pleased you enjoyed your 5th visit with us and was able to bring some family members with you. looking forward to welcoming you back for your 6th! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff helpful and friendly, room a bit small but clean bathroom clean Hotel well maintained breakfast room bright and staff helpful. Lounge comfortable and tastefully painted and maintained high standard

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Chy-An-Albany for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) in November for my sisters wedding. In total there was over 20 of us staying so it was a real family affair and i had done the original booking for everyone after seeing reviews on Trip Advisors so i felt the 'booking pressure'. However, the hotel did not disappoint.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 22 in St Ives
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: £59 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Miami
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ring the hotel and state your needs and they are very helpful in accommodating you”
 of 5 bubbles ppf1967, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the second floor at the back and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireViaCornwallUK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles gillvaughan33, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great position for views and close to the Town but beware of steep steps and no wheelchair access”
 of 5 bubbles B7262MRpeters, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front facing sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 739allanp, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay