We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Valley House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Valley House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay in this good value B&B in Dartmouth. The owners were friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable, the full English breakfast was great and the location was convenient to all that Dartmouth has to offer. Very happy to recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire43
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I've stayed at Valley House twice this year. The owners, Angie and Martin, were very friendly and welcoming, and also kind and helpful beyond the call of duty. They met me at the ferry and brought my luggage down to me on my departure day so that I could walk round the town unencumbered. They took the trouble to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahelizabeth527
Valley H, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review for us, it really means a lot. It was lovely to meet you in August and then have you return in October and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Valley House and of course Dartmouth. We hope to...

coventry
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Martin and Angie are excellent hosts. Nothing appears too much trouble and they are very amiable. Choice at breakfast was amazing for a small b&b. Their business is well placed to explore Dartmouth and the surrounding area. Also there is a space to park your car, which in Dartmouth is a big plus. Well done and keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoventryWellie
Valley H, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a great view, it means a lot to us both and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and of course Dartmouth. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Very lovely people. Room was very nice with loads of storage space.Really comfy beds and so many little extras such as cotton roll balls, tissues, wine glasses and pens etc. Very wide choice of food for breakfast- so many cereals and cooked options and the best yogurt I have ever had. Hosts were extremely helpful and eager to please and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smaclennan2016
Valley H, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it really is much appreciated by us both. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your break in Dartmouth and your stay with us at Valley House and hope to see you again at some stage in the future. With our thanks, Angie & Martin

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at Valley house with My Mother and it was very nice, clean and more breakfast than I could eat., and I have a large appetite. The breakfast had all you could want from cereals,toast, fruit yoghurt, full cooked breakfast however much you wanted and cooked to your liking and muffins. My Mother stays there frequently and has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us, it really is greatly appreciated by us both. It's always a great pleasure to see your Mother Margaret back again at Valley House, who as you say returns several times a year now, often with different family members which is we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Stayed here again having being a couple of times before. Rooms very clean and comfortable and brilliant location close to town. We usually have grapefruit & cereal followed by a full English, but have had an omelette on occasion and my husband likes the mackerel. Always grateful for Angela & Martin's tips on what to do in the area. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FlorenceCrisp
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you had another great break in Dartmouth and it's a real pleasure to help you with ideas to make the very best of your time in our town and surrounding area. Hope to...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Imagine you are running a guest house. You would make it warm. You wouldn't wait for guests to ask for a 3-bar heater before turning on the central heating. You would offer a breakfast - after all, guests are paying for bed AND breakfast - which is reasonably generous so that guests would not have to ask for more. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ArseneDebris
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Having worked hard to establish our small, officially 4 star graded business over 12 years and having a strong repeat business, we are extremely disappointed to read your review and although we cannot find your name in our records, if this was the Valley House you stayed, we are sorry it was not for you. Being a bed and breakfast...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This was my first stay at valley house and had been recommended to me by a friend. The hosts, Ang and Martin, picked us up from Totnes train station and were friendly and welcoming from the word go. Our room was clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed. - great attention to detail. Loved the fresh white bathrobes in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gemmamack26
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week in Dartmouth and your stay with us. It's a real pleasure to help give you some ideas of what to do in Dartmouth and being your first visit we were pleased to hear that you are already planning to come back,...

reading, berkshire
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at valley house before on numerous occasions and I never fail to have a lovely time! Angie and Martin are warm , friendly hosts and nothing is too much trouble! Valley house has parking which is quite rare in b and b's in the area - in fact valley house has the nearest parking to the town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dollydimps
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was great to have you back at Valley House and thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are really proud of our little bed and breakfast and of our town, so it's lovely to have our guests regularly return and continue to enjoy Dartmouth. We hope it won't be long until we see...

St Albans, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

This was our second visit to Valley House. Angie and Martin go out of their way to make any stay a welcoming stay and can't do enough for guests. All bedrooms whilst not enormous, are well appointed and cosy. Facilities include an en-suite bathroom with shower, tea and coffee, telly etc. They have a few parking spaces which is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon L
Blueberry186253, Owner at Valley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Simon, It was really nice to see you and your wife again and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review and upload your photos - which are super. Glad you appreciate the onsite parking we have for all are guests, as you say it's a great bonus in Dartmouth and being the...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 55 in Dartmouth
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 55 in Dartmouth
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherub's Nest
Cherub's Nest
#33 of 55 in Dartmouth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anzac Street Bistro
Anzac Street Bistro
#18 of 55 in Dartmouth
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White House Dartmouth
The White House Dartmouth
#9 of 55 in Dartmouth
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appletree Court House
Appletree Court House
#8 of 55 in Dartmouth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small and friendly, officially graded 4 star bed & breakfast in the heart of Dartmouth. We provide free on-site parking for all of our guests (a particular advantage in Dartmouth!)We offer double or twin bedded en-suite rooms, all are well equipped with colour tv and dvd, wi-fi access, radio alarm clock, mini-fridge,hairdryer,bath robes, well stocked hospitality tray etc.we are centrally located just a few minutes walk to the river dart, restaurants, shops, galleries, boat trips etc.enjoy our wonderful breakfasts which are cooked to order, using local produce wherever possible,(we are happy to cater for special dietary requirements on request) served to you at your individual table in our breakfast room which looks out onto our award winning floral display (we are pleased to have been a 'Britain in bloom' prize winner for the last 8 years).we offer discounts for stays of 4 nights and also a further discounted 'special' weekly rate. We will also provide a free transfer to and from our nearest train station for weekly stays.we are delighted to be featured in the lonely planet guide & to be recommended in the Sunday observer newspaper in 2009. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to valley house ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valley House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 46 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Valley House Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valley House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Valley House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only three or four rooms - the two I've had were both quiet and beautifully decorated”
 of 5 bubbles sarahelizabeth527, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask them about parking spaces beforehand. Long term parking in Dartmouth can be a nightmare.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonL466, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We were on the top floor, which might be an advantage because some of our floorboards creaked a little”
 of 5 bubbles jimhB6259SC, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just the three rooms and I would imagine all rooms are of the same high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles 949jana, 14 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Stairs are steep, possibly not easy if you are not too mobile.”
 of 5 bubbles MandHWhite, 24 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5