We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Castle Hotel

Traveller (225)
360
Panoramas (8)
Dining (55)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
56Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
20Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,222Reviews
407Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 772
  • 284
  • 91
  • 47
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Took my husband for a birthday treat. Hotel staff were great and 100% and the room was 100% and the breaksfast was 100% great best breaksfast in Dartmouth and great service in the hotel could not fault it in anyway great place to stay and we will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Response from judykrch, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear diane w Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are absolutely delighted that we were able to make your husbands birthday extra special for you both! We are very lucky to have a team here that will go above and beyond to ensure our guests have the best experience possible whilst staying with us at The Royal Castle Hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time! Best wishes Judy
Read more
A great place to meet for a drink or have refreshments. We had a very nice bar lunch in warm and comfortable surroundings. It is centrally situated and in a great position. It is a friendly establishment.
Read more
Response from judykrch, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lynetteslatteer Thank you very much for writing this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Judy
Read more
On a cold February night the bar was quiet, it took 40 minutes for the food to arrive, when it did its was more tepid than hot (can only assume we were forgotten and it was left on the side) the burger despite its temperature was tasty, the seafood chowder was not particularly
Read more
Response from judykrch, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sasha Starr Thank you for taking the time to review your meal. We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience whilst dining with us earlier this month. As you know this is not up to the usual high standard that we endeavour to maintain and for this we must apologise. We really appreciate all feedback and I will make sure that this is passed on to the chef, to ensure we don’t make the same mistakes again. It’s a real shame to hear that it was so cold in the bar as we work hard to ensure the fires are roaring. We strive to keep a warm and welcoming atmosphere so I’m sorry to hear that this was not the case when you joined us. We really hope this will not put you off returning in future and if you do decide to visit please email me on judy@royalcastle.co.uk and we will attempt to restore your faith in The Royal Castle Hotel. Ensuring you of our best intentions at all times Judy Kitt
Read more
The hotel is lovely, the location is perfect, the staff are all amazing. Nearly everything is thought of or taken care of - the addition of a dog bed, some treats and a toy was a really lovely touch. The room itself (number 22) was lovely, beautifully decorated and a super
Read more
It’s been a couple of years since we stayed here and it hasn’t disappointed. The location is great, right next to the small harbour. Our room (9) was at the back of the hotel with no view, this didn’t detract from the stay. The room was clean, nicely decorated and well
Read more
Response from judykrch, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear fishing 1230 Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us at The Royal Castle Hotel. As you mentioned the rooms do start on the second floor and although there is no lift our team are always more than happy to help with carrying any luggage up to the rooms. It is wonderful to hear that you were looked after so well during your stay, we are very proud of our team here and invest time into weekly training to ensure we maintain high standards of customer service and product knowledge. As this room is right above the kitchen, unfortunately in the busy service hours you may hear the hum of the fans however we will always ensure that these are kept off during anti-social hours. We hope you get the opportunity to join us again in the near future and don’t have to wait so long next time! Best wishes Judy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Castle Hotel
The Four Poster Seaview at the Royal Castle Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Castle Hotel
The Double at the Royal Castle Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Castle Hotel
The Twin at the Royal Castle Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Castle Hotel
The Four Poster Deluxe at the Royal Castle Hotel
PreviousNext
12345635
Dog friendly place. Definitely.
1 vote
Show all answers
Good afternoon John, Unfortunetly we do not having a system where we book parking spaces for our guests however we do have a valet parking service. Alternatively, we can provide you with a parking permit if we have one available for you to park in the main town car park. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest regards, Chloe
0 votes
Show all answers
opening hours would be good.
PreviousNext
12
"did not stay"
"if you have a fear of heights, ask for a room on the 1st floor x"
"River view unless there's Scaffolding"
"Excellent river views at front of hotel"
"Not at the rear of the hotel"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal castle dartmouthhotel royal castle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDartmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing