We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Save
Share
Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
Trip.com
US$98
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$100
View Deal
Booking.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$100
eDreamsUS$100
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (364)
Room & Suite (202)
Dining (44)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 23 hotels in Exeter
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English
2,683Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 911
  • 1,025
  • 436
  • 204
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vanessa F wrote a review Dec 2020
Warminster, United Kingdom108 contributions15 helpful votes
Warm welcome. Stunning reception area. Lifts to floors & stairs. Standard room was very average. Needs revamping. Brighter curtains. Coloured bed cover would be nice. Had to ask for kettle. Stayed 2 nights no one attended to room. No waste bin in room only a tiny bin in bathroom. On the upside the bath & shower water was really hot. Nice bathroom touches. No nibbles in room. Has a fridge. Buffet breakfast was nice. Well laid out with plenty of choice. Offers gluten free items. Good on site parking facilities. Five minute walk to town centre. Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Loe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I am very sorry there was no bin in the room just in the bathroom and that you had to ask for a kettle. I have spoken to Housekeeping already and I apologise again about this. It was great to read you were happy overall though and would stay again, great news. Matthew Loe General Manager
Read more
Pierlu1975 wrote a review Dec 2020
35 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel centrally located in Exeter. Room was well appointed and the leisure facilities were great. Staff was very friendly and all COVID precautions were followed. Breakfast was nice. We’re very likely to stay here again when next in Exeter.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Loe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is fantastic to read that you were looked after well and would choose to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Matthew Loe General Manager
Read more
Head1977 wrote a review Dec 2020
26 contributions5 helpful votes
Firstly on arrival at approximately 8.30 we were told we had to pay £15 to park our car over night. We should have been told about this before hand. You can imagine our shock. We went to our room to find a twin room after I had already rang to confirm a double room. This was changed to room 358. The carpet was thread bare... see photo. The duvet had holes in it and the tv didn’t have any sound. We had to ring (using our mobile as the room phone didn’t work either) the night Porter to come and sort it out. The room was so cold in arrival it took a good couple of hours to warm it up. When arriving into the bar at 9.04pm we were told we were too late for food as it shuts at 9pm. On your web page it states menu is limited but open till 22hrs. Covid 19 .... no hand sanitiser in 2 of the dispensers outside the lift’s this is totally disgusting and thankfully I had my own but this is not acceptable in any way. When leaving this morning they were still empty!!!!! Toilet roll in our room was obviously used by another visitor as it was only half a roll folded over again this should have been removed and replaced with new rolls. Again breaking all covid rules and this worries me. The flush was so hard to push my husband and myself couldn’t flush the toilet very well at all. The coffee in the room was tasteless and cheap. The receptionist last night was rude and just kept telling us it’s not her problem, and when questioned about the parking we were told “I dont have a car so it’s not my problem” The lady in the bar kept telling us that she doesn’t deal with the web page. Customer's shouldn’t be treated like this it’s disgusting and I will be going on trip advisor to give negative feedback. I would like some compensation for our room as it’s really wasn’t worth the money we paid. We left by 7am this morning as we were so unhappy and just wanted to get home. What should of been a lovely evening for myself and my husband turned into a disaster due to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Loe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon. I must say I am most disappointed that you have chosen to leave the same negative review on more than one social media site as opposed to speaking with anyone at the hotel before you left. I appreciate that sometimes things go wrong and this should not be the case but I find it very difficult to accept your issues when there are a number of inaccuracies in your feedback. It would have been much more beneficial for both parties to have discussed this whilst you were still with us and not ask for compensation behind the cover of negative reviews especially when every other review during the period you stayed has been supportive, understanding and positive. Matthew Loe General Manager
Read more
flipflop121 wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel itself is lovely, we had a privilege room on the first floor and it was nice. All staff we came across were welcoming and friendly. However, we did have a few minor issues, the toilet took about 4/5 attempts before it actually flushed and the TV is very dated and doesn’t work well. We were woken up by housekeeping and when we went to answer the door they didn’t apologise, just seemed confused we were in our room? I have worked in hotels before and you should really have a system where you can see when rooms are empty, we were only there for one night so there was absolutely no reason for house keeping to knock on the door, they should be alerted by reception when the room is empty. Also, although parking is on site it costs £15 for the duration of the stay, which seems rather excessive as we’d already paid £70 for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was nice and quite a few options, we would probably come back again as the hotel itself is lovely and reception staff were welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Loe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon and thanks for your review. I am sorry there were a couple of minor issues and I will certainly speak to our Housekeeping team and I apologise again about this. I was however delighted that you liked your room and breakfast and found our team friendly and welcoming, great news. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Matthew Loe General Manager
Read more
MollieB2446 wrote a review Dec 2020
Richmond, United Kingdom41 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here with my boyfriend for one night in Exeter due to seeing family. Entrance was welcoming and you cannot fault the staff, they were fantastic and very helpful when holding our bags before check in. However, we arrived to our room after a long day to discover the most terrible smell coming from the bathroom, like feet and mould. Secondly the bathroom was not properly cleaned as we found hair in the sink, dirty taps, chips in the walls and doors, not really that pleasing to the eye or hygienic considering we’re in a pandemic. Secondly in the bed we found long black hairs (we are both blonde), the tv didn’t work, the lamps were lopsided, squeaky bed and we were put in a disabled room without requesting. We called ‘quality control’ on the in room telephone but no one answered after 3 attempts (it says they’re available 24hrs a day - which wasn’t the case) Finally we spoke to reception who kindly moved us to an ‘upgrade room’. The new room was fine, very basic but at least clean this time. Breakfast was an extra £11 each, really limited due to COVID but had the bog standard on offer. Cooked breakfast was made to order, nothing special - salty bacon and overall below average for the price. Not worth it in our opinion. Overall we spent £65 between us, it did the job but was a hassle and wouldn’t bother next time. Thanks to the lovely staff, this is a 3/5 experience. Pictures attached.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Loe, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Good morning Mollie and thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very sorry to read you felt your stay was underwhelming, not what we plan for. I was very sorry to read your first room was not up to standard but pleased when you were moved, the second room was much better. We feel our breakfast offering is great value for money at £11 but I apologise that you did not enjoy yours. I have passed your feedback to our Food and Beverage team also. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when we will aim for a more positive experience for you. Matt
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
accor southgate exeter, mercure exeter
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Red House Mysteries Exeter (0.2 miles), Clip 'n Climb Exeter (0.3 miles), and AS Watersports (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Panda, Conservatory Restaurant, and Rendezvous Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Exeter.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Haldon Belvedere (Lawrence Castle) (4.8 miles), The Medieval Exe Bridge (0.3 miles), and The House that Moved (0.4 miles).