We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Traveller (264)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (33)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Spa
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
124Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
43Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,370Reviews
414Photos
31Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 861
  • 954
  • 356
  • 138
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed for two nights. Excellent location and breakfast was good. Rooms were okay. However, I would expect a hotel of this standard to include complimentary water in the room. Towels were of poor quality and one was threadbare and marked. The hotel should invest in better
Read more
We spent the weekend in Exeter and have to say that there has been great improvement in this hotel over the past few months since our last stay. Staff were much more informative and helpful, great staff on reception. Our suite was spotless and a really lovely room. Breakfast was
Read more
We visited twice and also for the Pool/Jacuzzi treatment. The reception was good but understaffed and communication a bit rusty. The place is very clean, but interestingly enough no evident "plaque" shows how many AA or RAC style stars the Hotel has (which usually one can see
Read more
Response from Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear phdgillon Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay - particularly due to your experience and training. I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER
Read more
Overall good experience, the room we had was pretty tired,shower ran over into the bathroom area,not nice stains on the carpet next to the bed, car parking system could do with reviewing, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast good,frequent user of Mercure hotels,probably won't
Read more
Response from Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Dave B Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. As always, we look into guest feedback and discuss as a team to ensure that improvements are made and am sorry if we have not replied in such detailed manner. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER
Read more
Nice size room and a comfortable bed, buffet breakfast is ok, evening meal not so good! Overall a great stay here, but feel that staff could be a bit more attentive. Also the car parking situation is confusing! you need to pay extra and obtain a barrier release card!
Read more
Response from Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 12132111 Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
The Mercure Privilege Guestroom at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Photo provided by managementMercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Privilege Bedroom
Standard double bed room
large and comfy bed
Stijlvolle badkamer
PreviousNext
12345629
It is okay to leave your car there as long as you like, but you pay £12 per 24 hours, regardless of whether you take the car out of the car park. I am unclear from your post when you intend to depart from the hotel with your car? If you are arriving Thursday, going shopping Friday on foot, then returning to the hotel for Friday night before leaving with your car on Saturday, you will be charged for 2 nights. If you are leaving sometime Friday without staying the second night you might only be charged for one 24 hour - you would have to check with the hotel. Note that to get your car out of the car park you pay at reception and they give you a card to put in the machine at the barrier. Even if you pay on arrival, you still have to go to reception to get a card when you want to exit the car park.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Our accessible bathrooms have the ability for a wheelchair to be wheeled in direct to the shower - there is no lip or separate level for the shower itself and is handy for all users.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello We do charge £12 per overnight at the Hotel for guests and £2 per hour for day customers. Unfortunately we do not provide complimentary carparking.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are dogs allowed?
Hello, Yes, we do allow dogs for a £15 per night cleaning charge. Dogs are allowed in rooms only and not in food and beverage service areas and must not be left unattended. Many thanks.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234567
"Only tip I have is avoid!"
"No bath in privilege rooms."
"very good and accessible for a wheelchair user"
"We had a good room on the first floor. Thick carpets and noise reduced to a minimum. Lifts away from the rooms so not disturbed by these."
"Do not stay here"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
accor southgate exetermercure exeter
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing