We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Globe Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Globe Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Globe Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The kitchen is well-equipped but small, and I think it could get awfully crowded at the peak of the season. It was mid-March when I stayed and the hostel was well below full occupation, but the kitchen was always busy around meal times. The men's downstairs washroom had no paper towel dispenser or hot air dryer, only a shared hand-towel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WYorksTraveller15
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I arrived late and weary and was welcomed by smiling people who made me feel at home. There was a warm feeling of community and the travellers within felt like immediate friends. Very clean well organised and a great location. I'll definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia L
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

We are delighted you had such a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. We hope you have a wonderful 2017 Olivia!

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

cheap hostel but NOT clean & with terrible/rude customer service. Worst customer service I have ever met! I was totally shocked! Some people act as if they are doing you a favour to stay at their hostel just because it's cheap. Just because somebody chooses to stay at a hostel it doesn't mean that we are second class citizens! I...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sofia L
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

We can find no record of a Sofia staying at our hostel around the date you have posted your review, and we've chatted amongst ourselves and have no recollection of any negative experiences with customers either. Unfortunately you don't give any details about what exactly offended you at the time. We were very surprised and saddened to read what you...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

If like me, you want to save money, you have an open mind and a variety of experience with hostels then this place is OK. You won't find cheaper in Exeter that's for sure. If however, you're a new backpacker or flash packer, with any cleanliness standards or expecations regarding customer service, then this place probably isn't for you.

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Wayne A
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in many backpackers whilst traveling nice clean bathroom and shower rooms ! Unfortunately the dorm was a bit dirty and had a very strong dirty smell ! The staff are some what friendly but I did notice sat in the living room area that some of the staff were rude to people when asking questions

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Vanderhessan
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iSilverback
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
32Thank 511rita
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
36Thank davidbabaian
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
30Thank Rajdeep K
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irinac987
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exeter Globe Backpackers (Tourist Hostel) offers both shared (dormitory) and private rooms in an 18th century townhouse and is excellently located just a few minutes walk from Exeter's city centre. We offer a self-catering kitchen and free tea and coffee, social area, tv room and Free Wi-fi. Nightly rates are from £17.50 Or just £75 per week in dormitories (terms and conditions apply). We are just a few minutes walk to the nine hundred year old Gothic cathedral and the picturesque historic waterway and quay. That's not to mention the wide range of pubs and clubs all throughout Exeter. Globe Backpackers is ideal for people looking for a great value, clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay while enjoying our beautiful surroundings.Our 2000 year old city is centrally located in the region of Devon and Cornwall making it the perfect place to base yourself to go on plenty of day trips to the coast, Dartmoor National Park, the Eden project and much more. Easily accessible from London, Bristol, Bath and Cardiff, Exeter really puts you in the middle of things.For those looking to offset some travel costs Exeter is a perfect place to make a few pounds while still getting to see loads of attractions.Exeter really is a must-see for any true backpacker! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers

Address: 71 Holloway Street, Exeter EX2 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globe Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Namibia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Globe Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the upper bunk if available.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget to bring a padlock for your locker”
 of 5 bubbles roisinr847, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in an 8 bed dormitory, but there were only three of us.”
 of 5 bubbles SLWD, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Placed between quays and city center, everything is easily accessible. Every guest respects the someil of the other people in the room or he is. Showers are new, and washed regularly!”
 of 5 bubbles 309marionb, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Hope that the Duty Manager isn't working when you call in to make your booking.”
 of 5 bubbles deeeevo_13, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5