Hotel du Vin Exeter
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel du Vin Exeter

Traveller (558)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room at The Magdalen Chapter
360
Panoramas (8)
HDV Exeter Room Cosy Double Bathroom
Room & Suite (315)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
£99
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£99
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£99
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 23 hotels in Exeter
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Turkish

Location

Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 94 out of 100
94
Exeter Airport
Cardiff-Wales Airport
47.5 mi
See all flights
2,078Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 972
  • 506
  • 338
  • 166
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katehenson wrote a review Feb 2020
Cullompton, United Kingdom12 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a 1 night stay at hotel du vin for an anniversary present for my husband.
Booking was very easy, I booked on a winter warmer deal for a standard double including breakfast for a good price. They ask on booking online if it’s for an occasion so I did write our anniversary not expecting anything.
They contacted me a week before to advise they had a few superior rooms still available if we wished to upgrade for an additional £10 which I did.
Check in is at 3pm and we arrived about 4pm. The receptionist saw me quickly with a friendly welcome. They advised we’d been complimentary upgraded to a studio, one of their best rooms which was a really lovely surprise.
Check in took only a few smooth minutes and they opened up a parking space for us.
We went to our room on the first floor and it was amazing. Will post pictures as words don’t do it justice. In our room was a bottle of champagne on ice and some chocolates a really lovely touch.
We took advantage of the cold windy night and used the pool. The inside was lovely and hot with water jets (though the lights weren’t working so it was almost pitch-black) and swam through the little entrance to the outside pool. It was really enjoyable and lovely and warm.
The shower was fantastic and we had a huge bath behind our bed.
Breakfast the next morning was superb, a huge choice on the menu and table service with pastries, fruit, cereals, bread and jams and granola to help yourself as well as a selection of fresh juices.
We wish we had more than just 1 night as everything was superb and wouldn’t hesitate booking there again or recommending to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaD1777, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your anniversary stay. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I’m pleased that we were able to make your anniversary extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards Fiona Dardé
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dahendry82 wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Hotel du Vin Exeter for one night and was very impressed. The room (Superior Room) was excellent with an en suite bathroom and a separate room with a beautiful, ornate free standing bath. The hotel was previously an eye hospital, or so I'm told, and the separate bathroom really felt in character with the building's history.

What really impressed me though were the staff, who could not do enough to help. From allowing me to check out late due to a delayed flight, to printing boarding passes for me that had been misplaced, they really were happy to help.

I would recommend avoiding the standard rooms, having stayed in one before they really are "cosy" but the superior room was only a small and reasonable upgrade fee.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaD1777, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be efficient and helpful. We look forward to working back in the near future kind regards Fiona Dardé
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophia wrote a review Oct 2020
Warwickshire, United Kingdom29 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights and booked a standard room with dinner and breakfast, Covid pre cautions were great with hand sanitisers everywhere and track and trace required when entering the restaurant. All staff were excellent very efficient and friendly in all areas of the hotel. Was a little bit disappointed with the room - I know it was standard but there was nowhere to plug in a hairdryer apart from on the floor next to the front door so you had to sit on the floor to look in the one mirror (floor length) to do hair and make up / I would at least expect somewhere to be able to sit and get ready not having to sit on the floor next to the front door even if it is a standard room

We did get bath robes and slippers which was nice as this is our fourth Du Vin hotel in the last couple of weeks and we haven’t had them in any other. The bed was ok but very very squeaky, no bottled water or biscuits thou in the room
that we’ve had at other hotels, not the end of the world I know but when you are away it’s little things like that that make the difference - apparently they were waiting for a delivery. The hotel still has the feel of a hospital and does lack atmosphere - it’s big hotel and when quiet the lack of atmosphere is more noticeable than in other hotels. Food was good and the breakfast was one of the best we’ve had ! Overall a nice stay just lacks atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lapchien wrote a review Jul 2021
Stourbridge, United Kingdom175 contributions138 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here every time we are in Exeter – visiting friends, holidays, weekend breaks etc, and always stay in the ‘best room possible’. This is usually either room 221 or 201 – these are the bay window rooms overlooking the lawn and pool area. They are well lit, from the dual aspect of the windows in these rooms.

The last time we booked a ‘junior suite’ – this turned out to be room 105, a dark, dingy and claustrophobic room overlooking roof tops and the graveyard if you stretch your head out.

After a bit of rearranging, we were moved from 105 to 221.

The issue we have with this hotel – and remember we have stayed here in all the 3 previous incarnations (remember the Magdalen Chapter?), we will not be staying here again at all, and all this is down to one thing – the dreadful state of the beds.

The frame is made of wood, up on legs, and they squeak with every turn and movement that you make. The mattress is rock solid, and the sheets are scratchy.

At over £300 per night for these rooms, the state of the beds is unacceptable.
I mentioned this to the chap at reception when checking out who promised to pass on my comments to housekeeping. Other than housekeeping buying dozens of new beds and bedding, I am not sure what else they can really do.

There are other interesting options in Exeter, but I have always resisted trying these, due to the location of this hotel and a degree of loyalty.

Next time I will not be booking Hotel du Vin Exeter.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 9 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the bed after your recent stay. I am really sorry that you found the one in your room so unsatisfactory. There are a number of different styles of beds in the hotel, so this may be why on previous stays you have not encountered the same issue. I am also pleased to advise that we are just waiting for sign off for a refurbishment and the bed frames mentioned are to be included in this project. I hope that given your previous experience you will give us an other opportunity as your feedback is incredible helpful and supports the completion of the refurbishment work.Thank you again for sharing this with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hazel1511 wrote a review Aug 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom36 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 3 nights last week in standard double which was pretty small which was on the ground floor right outside the patio area. Due to this there was no privacy in the room as people could see straight into the room so blinds had to be down all the time we were in it. Also lots of noise from guests enjoying afternoon And evening drinks outside when weather was good which was disturbing when trying to have afternoon rest or get to sleep at night. If you want your own privacy And quiet don’t book room 001. We had a problem with many dead flies in the huge lamp shade above our bed which was very quickly rectified but was not something we would expect from hotel du vin. T(e bathroom was a bit tired with grouting needing replacing although clean. I had sent two emails three days before we left Which were never replied to although acknowledged automatically on the contact system. We were then unable to eat in the restaurant one evening so had to find a restaurant in Exeter, which was not easy. I understand restrictions are in place because of Covid but it was the eat out to help out which meant all tables were booked. I feel that as guests we could have been offered a table in the bar or before/after another booking. The receptionist told us at checking in she was sure we would get a table but and she would let us know, this however did not happen so when I asked the next morning was told no chance at all. Breakfast was fairly well organised with timed seating system and great choice and well cooked. The coffee machine stopped working after first morning so made the ordering of tea/coffee a challenge for the staff who worked very hard with a smile always. Great effort serving breakfast in difficult circumstances. All in all not bad stay but would not stay in that particular room again, hotel was ok but not brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Not room 001 if you want quiet and privacy. Outside noise from garden and patio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us your feedback. I am really sorry that your stay was not as per your expectation and I will definitely ensure that all the points raised are discussed with the team. I will also ensure that corrective measures are put in place to avoid the repeat of such experiences. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth A wrote a review Jan 2022
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband Terence and I had to postpone our wedding reception from 2020 to 2021 due to the ongoing pandemic. All the way through the Hotel were extremely accommodating and this was done with no trouble at all. The new date was in August 2021 and restrictions were lifted meaning we could have all 70 guests as planned. The space the hotel uses for events and weddings seemed small when we first looked around, but they had on the day completely transformed it beautifully into a classy wedding venue. Everything was included in the price, a room for us that night, the tables, chairs (especially hired by the team for us), cutlery, a drinks package, the staff serving us and the amazing food. The food was incredible! We had canapés and a two course meal (we could have had three) which every guest enjoyed, was extremely well organised in ensuring guests with allergies/dietary requirements had the correct meals and the portions were generous. The food really was a highlight.

We really wanted a venue that had everything included and it all ran seamlessly. We actually found out afterwards that the kitchen staff were so short that day due to covid they had to shut the entire restaurant to cater for our wedding breakfast - we were very kindly not told this by the event co-ordinator on the day, but we never noticed there were any issues at all, it was impeccable service and we had no idea they were short staffed. All were attentive, friendly and efficient. We felt so looked after.

The weather on the day was wonderful and our guests were able to sit outside on the beautiful terrace to relax on before and after the meal. This was invaluable as it made the whole venue feel spacious and like we weren't piled into the same room all day. It also made for some beautiful wedding photos. The room for the wedding breakfast has a wonderful glass wall which flooded it with natural light. I wish I could add more of our wedding photos to show this but the files are too big! The hotel bar was also right outside so our guests could mingle there too. The hotel itself is minimalist and had a really special classically modern feel to it which we loved. It felt like the place was ours and no other guests intruded or were disturbed themselves. We were able to have a live band in the evening which was awesome! The staff transformed the room quickly, plus my grandma was able to go to a quieter room with a cup of tea. Every single guest said how much they enjoyed the day which was exactly what we wanted. We feel so lucky to have had our wedding reception at Hotel du Vin during what was a difficult year for hospitality and weddings, yet felt so normal and effortless. Could not recommend this venue enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for this lovely review and we are delighted to have been part of your very special day. We send you best wishes for a long and happy life together.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jannerbloke wrote a review Feb 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom13,205 contributions6,705 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked and paid for online two or three days in advance. Very few parking spaces at hotel so had to park expensively in open public car park 100m along the road. We had a regular/compact room on the second floor at the back looking across small garden towards St Leonard’s and the countryside in the distance. Moderate wait on arrival, receptionist kept disappearing through a curtain even in order to get the door card and we were only given one. The building retains a very institutional feel with one or two reminders of its former role as a residential eye infirmary. Our room packed in all the basics, some quaint features, the narrow doorless entry to the bathroom, the fridge which wasn’t cold and the TV with few channels and no radio, that was placed so low that you need to splay your legs and feet to view it from the bed. But we managed and slept very well.

We went down for drinks before supper. No draught beer or ale. Eye watering drink prices but friendly staff both in the bar and then the dining room. Pleasant dining area with open kitchen was quiet to begin with but more lively and relaxed over time. The tasting menu and wine flight, (good value at £99 total for two) came well up to our hopes. Breakfast good too in the morning - somehow the tables for two are never quite big enough for all the plates, cups, pots, glasses etc. Mildly curious to witness several couples of various ages, some frisky, who chose to use the lifts and come into breakfast wearing apparently no more than hotel bathrobes and slippers. Again serving staff were amenable and efficient.

Booking out went no more smoothly than booking in and slightly concerning to find that despite our paying in advance they had already charged our card a second time with the full amount and some form of room drinks package that we hadn’t had. Eventually a refund transaction was effected ‘which should be processed within a few days’. Unsatisfactory and not very reassuring.

All that aside we had a relaxed and enjoyable break. Having previous experience of boutique hotels and of the Hotel du Vin chain, especially Bristol, Exeter wasn’t quite as smooth and pleasurable as eg Bristol.

Didn’t have time to experience the offerings of the spa. From one encounters with the robe clad couples drifting through the public areas, we may have missed a prime feature.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona Darde, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Many thanks for your detailed feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been shared with the management team so they are able to make improvements to their quality standards. We hope you will visit again and try the spa and pool on your next visit. Kind regards Fiona Darde
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie B wrote a review Sept 2020
5 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Given 2020 is the year of the staycation we decided to stay in Exeter with its closeness to the coast but with places to see in the city too.

Positives: The hotel is in a good location with it being walking distance to the cathedral and to the quay. Lovely staff particularly at the bar. Dog friendly. Excellent bed really comfy and huge!

Negatives: The hotels website stated that it’s pool was open from September and pitches itself as a country hotel within the city (with spa and gardens). However in reality it is more a business hotel with a small pool and functional spa (treatments only no relaxation rooms, sauna etc) and one small lawn - and when we arrived we were told the pool was still not ready. This was very disappointing for a hotel which describes itself as luxury and was charging over £200 per night. Could they not have renovated the pool during the months the hotel was closed? Rather than at the same time that they have hiked their prices due to pandemic related demand? The breakfast which came with the room fee was also poor- it included greasy fatty bacon and a confusing mix of some items ordered via the staff and others you had to queue up to ask for. To top it off renovations ongoing in the hotel were loud and shut off the lounge for some of our stay. The hotel is dog friendly but they could do with installing a bin outside.

The staff were lovely throughout and really did try to make our stay as good as could be- shame that the general upkeep of the hotel, breakfast provided, poor facilities and lack of car parking meant that we will not be returning. Certainly not value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlotte Milford- DGM, Other at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 4 Dec 2022
.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick14541 wrote a review Oct 2021
134 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed it. We had reserved a car parking space, well worth while. Two reception staff were on the desk most of the time doing a very good job behind screens and with facecoverings. Floors were marked out for spacing, notice for the lift to avoid mixing groups, sanitiser widely available.
Our room was well air conditioned and although on the road, very quiet due to the excellent multiple glazing. Room service continental breakfasts were good, arrived on time and we brought the tray into the room ourselves so in all aspects the hotel was taking good covid precautions which does inspire confidence.
We had dinner in the restaurant one night, the best meal of our week in a very comfortable setting. We also sat in the garden one day in the sunshine, deck chairs set out, very nice.
Our impression was of a very well run, comfortable and welcoming hotel with a great team of people. We look forward to another visit some time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book to park if you can. Bring swimming stuff, they have a nice pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Austin, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 3 Oct 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a comprehensive review, it is much appreciated as well as being very helpful for our future guests. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Sept 2020
Four Marks, United Kingdom57 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week here after our trip to Miami was cancelled. Stayed in one of the studio suites room 105 which was lovely with a separate alcove containing a roll top bath which was a nice touch. Bed was a super king but a little soft & very creaky whenever you moved or sat on it. There was a coffee machine & kettle. We also made use of the fridge (which was the mini bar which had been emptied) but made it much more useable as a general fridge for fresh milk & our own drinks. We were on a bed, breakfast & dinner deal so had to have dinner by 7 each night which was a little early for us but we made it work. The food was lovely, Anglo/french, and the portions were huge. Breakfast was a little chaotic as the staff insisted on taking your drinks/ cold buffet order first before coming back some time later for your hot order which did not always work well. The bistro at breakfast was very hot due to being mostly glass & even when doors were opened, they still allowed people to close them if they were in a draught! Special thanks go to Petra & Eduardo who could not do enough for us especially on our anniversary which made it extra special. The girl on reception was also very friendly & helpful. The garden area is tranquil with deck chairs but a lot of the seating areas inside were out of bounds due to COVID. There is limited parking outside but must be booked in advance for £15 per night. Everything is within a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel but be warned Exeter is very hilly especially if you venture down to the quayside. We had a lovely relaxing week at the hotel. The only disappointment was that pool was closed for “annual maintenance” & we would have liked to have been able to have a swim & relax on the sun beds which were just piled up in storage. Despite that we would return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlotte Milford- DGM, Other at Hotel du Vin Exeter
Responded 4 Dec 2022
.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luclou asked a question Oct 2023
Threemilestone, United Kingdom57 contributions21 helpful votes
Can any of the rooms be booked as a twin bedded room?
Answer from lophead
Bath, United Kingdom465 contributions52 helpful votes
Sorry I don’t know
Sarah B asked a question Aug 2020
Four Marks, United Kingdom57 contributions27 helpful votes
Does the studio room have a balcony?
Sue H asked a question Oct 2019
Walsall, United Kingdom66 contributions7 helpful votes
How far is it to walk from the train station?
Answer from Louise
Plymouth, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
20 minutes
Sy Lee asked a question Aug 2019
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom39 contributions20 helpful votes
Hi How do I get to town from the hotel ? I do not have a car Thanks
Answer from Gavin123321
Great Casterton, United Kingdom76 contributions81 helpful votes
5 minute walk to everything
RKCa asked a question Feb 2019
Berkeley, California2,880 contributions24 helpful votes
Is there a self-service coin laundry in the hotel, or a laundrette nearby?
Answer from Heidi M
Exeter, United Kingdom54 contributions6 helpful votes
There’s a launderette approx 5 minutes walk away in Magdalen Road (hotel is in Magdalen Street).
hopesprings12345 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom308 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s very easy to walk here from Exeter Central station. Local taxi firm Apples Cabs are excellent if not."
Read full review
Lawrence S wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"An amazing experience and an absolute must stay if in Exeter!"
Read full review
J R wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is limited parking out the front but there are car parks nearby (Magdalen St and Magdalen Rd car parks). "
Read full review
newburyjam wrote a tip Mar 2024
19 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book for dinner , pool lush but slightly on the chilly side in march "
Read full review
Helen K wrote a tip Feb 2024
Beckenham, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We booked a deluxe double and had gorgeous views of the cathedral- highly recommend!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Exeter area.
PRICE RANGE
£83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Magdalen Chapter
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DU VIN EXETER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin Exeter
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Nearby attractions include Clip 'n Climb Exeter (0.3 miles), Exeter Cathedral (0.2 miles), and Exeter Quay (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al Farid Restaurant, Opa Taverna, and Rendezvous Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel du Vin Exeter located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Exeter.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel du Vin Exeter?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel du Vin Exeter offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Exeter HotelsExeter Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ExeterHotels near Hotel du Vin Exeter
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire