Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel

Traveller (99)
Panorama of the Disabled Access Double Room at the Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#10 of 23 hotels in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Find a warm welcome at our Exeter hotel - just a few minutes' drive from Exeter city centre - and discover our new generation bedrooms, each with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size bed. Everything you need to relax and recharge is close at hand. Storm the former Roman city walls of Exeter's old town, and scale the tower of the Gothic cathedral. Cheer on the Chiefs at the rugby ground. Or take it easy at a cafe in the bustling town centre. Then return to a friendly hello and a delicious meal in our restaurant, before getting a great night's sleep in that oh-so-comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Restaurant
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Fitzroy Road Devon, Exeter EX1 3LJ England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Exeter Airport
Cardiff-Wales Airport
46.8 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
1,441Review22Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 765
  • 404
  • 136
  • 65
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rhian24 wrote a review Dec 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom253 contributions65 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, comfortable clean room, great night's sleep, reception staff very welcoming, food at Brewers Fayre disappointing, one toaster for all the guests, wrong dish brought over, cold hard cauliflower cheese
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pink273 wrote a review Oct 2020
Winchester, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a stop over on our way back from Cornwall. Usually we stay at the nearby Holiday Inn Express but this was unavailable, so we chose the Premier as I know others that have stayed here and I have used other Premier Inns without fault around other parts of the country.

We were welcomed very well by a young chap on reception who was very helpful and jolly. We were grateful for a ground floor room as I was travelling with my elderly mother who has limited mobility issues.

After settling into the room I took a well earned rest on the bed only to notice that there was a used tissue under the bed and on the duvet cover what looked like dried deposits from someone's nose! Whilst I left the tissue where it was, I cleaned the duvet cover with my own antibacterial wipes and moved this part of the duvet to the opposite side of the bed. From this point on I felt very anxious about the cleanliness of the rest of the room. I didn't make an onsite complaint about this because, for one, we were a long way from reception and I was too tired to walk back again (after several trips to car for personal items) and secondly, I was past having the upheaval of changing rooms or a member of staff coming in and changing beds.

There were no instructions in the room about asking for extra towels (only one towel when we had booked a twin room!!) and no advise as to how to acquire more tea bags, milk etc. My elderly mother thought that we were expected to put up with that and it upset her that she was expected to share a towel and limit her tea intake. So I trotted off to reception where there was no member of staff and stood there like a lemon for several minutes before the 'jolly' lad appeared from the office. He made no hesitation about offering me the extra items.

To be honest, it made for a very miserable stay because having been so careful about places that we have visited and eaten etc during Covid it was a let down.

Back to Holiday Inn Express for us next time...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Check cleanliness of room before you settle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ROBERT O. (Travellin' Taffies) wrote a review Sept 2020
South Wales, United Kingdom26 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is yet another well located Premier Inn . It is in a great position to make as a base for exploring south Devon. The accommodation is modern, safe clean and comfortable. We invariably use Premier Inns in the United Kingdom because we like what they have to offer , they are reasonably priced and apply a consistently high standard of comfort and cleanliness for themselves. The Exeter Premier Inn is located directly next door to an independent restaurant restaurant which we did not use on this occasion. The restaurant (and the Inn itself) were well patronised during our two day stay. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Air conditioned rooms ,windows not open.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
spvdevon wrote a review Dec 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom169 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live close by but needed a hotel room for the night due to some planned work to our house. Booked the room a few weeks in advance, £39 for the night so bargain price.
Before arrival I called to ask if could have a top floor room. On arrival was allocated room 232 so request was met; very small reception area but does the job. Was very happy with the room, very clean and standard Premier Inn style. We often stay at Premier Inn and not had a bad experience yet.
The bathroom again was very clean and modern; some slight mould on the sealant in the bath but not a big issue. I notice a previous reviewer also stayed in this room and provided bad feedback; I do agree the grill above the room door/under air con unit could be given a bit of a clean; noticed a bit of dust on the grill. Some slight mould around window but again not a big issue.
Air con unit worked well and was quiet; easy to set temperature. The bin in the room had a large split in it so could not use it, had to put rubbish in the little bathroom bin.
Brilliant view from the room; could see for several miles - could even see the lights for the runway at Exeter airport in the distance.
Slept well during the night, comfortable bed. Didn't hear any other guests whilst in the room, but occasionally heard a bit of road traffic, even though my room was quite far from the main road. Could be worth mentioning when booking a room for it to be away from the main road if traffic noise is a problem for you.
I also read a review on here that there isn't anything to do in Exeter - they couldn't had tried hard as there are plenty of things to do in the local area for all ages. ​
We did not have breakfast but had eaten at the Brewers Fayre next door before - we have found that breakfast is good during the week or early on a weekend, but after 9am on a weekend it can be very busy.
The car park is chargeable for Premier Inn guests; cant understand why as there are many car parks and free street parking nearby so cant imagine they would have a problem with local workers parking there.
If you need to go in the city centre, leave the car in the car park and walk down the Honiton Road park and ride; much quicker, easier and cheaper to get in the city centre.
Staff at reception and cleaners that we saw were all friendly. Check out in the morning was quick and easy. Would stay here again in the future if required.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Request room away from main road if traffic noise is an issue for you
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rebecca R wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Long story short, we nearly missed out on our pre-paid breakfasts because staff failed to inform us that these needed booking upon check in. It wasn't until we requested breakfast timings before heading to bed, that we were told.
We were also not told that housekeeping wasn't taking place whilst we were out of the room, even though signs in the room still stated towels would be exchanged etc, which resulted in us having a damp smelling room for 2 days, as we left our towels in the bath all day as per the instructions, only to return to them having not been exchanged.
Not one single staff member apologised to us, even though THREE confirmed that we should have been informed of these changes upon check in.

I have requested on 7 occasions, why I am not entitled to a refund for 1 night stay,in line with their money back policy, and the question has been avoided on every occasion, so I have now had to involve Trading Standards.

I sincerely hope no one has such an awful weekend as we had, rude and incompetent staff, and then 'MP worthy' avoidance tactics when asking for my money back!

The fact they actually PRINT 'We are sorry you didn't have a great stay' cards tells me they have issues way too frequently!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Hi there, Thanks for your message. We're really disappointed to hear about all the cleanliness issues you had as well as the room not being setup correctly as we can appreciate the frustration this would have caused. We'll be sure to get this passed over to the Hotel Management team to ensure the Housekeeping team are carrying out procedures according to our policy. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon and restore your faith with us. Kind Regards, Mo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mckenziedebs wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The premier Inn was welcoming. They answered my questions about the car park pay system-I was able to pay at the time of checking in but you could pay when you left if you wanted to. We stayed in a family room, it was a little bit dusty probably due to not being used very much. The blackout curtains were good. The trundle bed was a little uncomfortable. On the whole we all slept fairly well. It was a shame breakfast was not available. My children enjoyed using the facilities in the room including the TV and the shower gel. Very powerful shower
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan S wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first visit to a Premier Inn and will probably be my last.
On arrival I was asked by the receptionist what time I would like breakfast, when I told her 9am I was told either 7.30am or after 10.30am since my requested time slot was fully booked. I told her that I had booked on line a week previously and no mention was made of any such restriction. I then requested a refund (not offered one with apologies).
When I arrived at my room the air con fan was making a loud noise such that the tv was inaudible. I spoke again to the receptionist and she told me it would be seen to. I went to the bar for a drink and on my return the fan was still running with a loud noise and I had again to ask the receptionist to deal with it. Finally a maintenance man came to my room and disconnected the fan from the circuit.
I had paid £79.50 for this room and had expected a premier service which was far from my experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael W wrote a review Oct 2020
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom24 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location. Staff were so helpful, especially in providing accessible rooms for the two elderly ladies in our party. The gentleman involved really went the extra mile, providing extra towels etc. Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms similar. Accessible rooms on ground floor, close to reception.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kamran wrote a review Aug 2021
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was so disappointing to pay £154 for two nights and find that my room hadn’t been cleaned properly during this COVID period.
The previous person’s socks were left next to the sofa bed, the shower head was mouldy, (see picture attached) the shower curtain was dirty (even though there was a guaranteed ‘clean protect promise’ which stated that for each new guest, there would be a fresh shower curtain) and the bath plug hole was blocked.
I was really upset because I always loved staying in premier Inn before but this one really put me off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to a number of cleanliness issues. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Kayleigh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Captainhappy17 wrote a review Jun 2021
106 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights due to the convenient location (a redeeming quality). Sadly the price of over £100 per night for slow check in (with only one person operating the check in at the busiest time of the day), appalling WIFI connectivity in the room and walls that I believe were specifically made to amplify every sound outside the room, seems like a bit of a rip off. I have paid less for better accommodation not next to motorways. Oh, and parking is not included in your ludicrously expensive room fee. You have to throw in a little extra for that.....
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richkidd asked a question Jan 2022
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
I will be working in Exeter all day and qill need a late check out after 5pm, is that possible?
Answer from swoot_uk
Sheffield, United Kingdom155 contributions36 helpful votes
Don’t ask don’t get, give them a call! They are normally very flexible.
Dave P asked a question Aug 2021
Bristol England69 contributions27 helpful votes
Can you pay "contactless" for car parking?
Answer from DonnyAir
Edinburgh, United Kingdom55 contributions38 helpful votes
Yes you can.
Amanda Y asked a question Mar 2021
Blackpool, United Kingdom161 contributions12 helpful votes
Any takeaways nearby as restaurant is closed
Kirsty G asked a question Aug 2020
4 contributions
Does this PI have Interconnecting rooms? Thanks
Answer from 202lisa13
Nottingham, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes I believe it does as we had a door in our room that looked like that
judyohara1 asked a question Aug 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom2 contributions
How much does it cost to park overnight
Answer from 202lisa13
Nottingham, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
It was free as they were changing parking companies
Lee_butler1 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Portsmouth, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel it’s really not worth it"
Read full review
rocktight wrote a tip Apr 2024
Melksham, United Kingdom103 contributions65 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the restaurant"
Read full review
ajlcuk wrote a tip Apr 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom316 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Payable parking, subway, dominos and Starbucks across the road. "
Read full review
Philip W wrote a tip Feb 2024
Wilmslow79 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking very close 2 minutes walk away"
Read full review
Stu wrote a tip Jan 2024
Devon, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is chargable (discounted through hotel stay)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Exeter area.
PRICE RANGE
£45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN EXETER (M5 J29) HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Devon Heritage Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller and Carter, Pinhoe Hoard, and Toby Carvery.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The House that Moved (2.8 miles), St Catherine's Chapel and Almshouses (2.5 miles), and The Medieval Exe Bridge (2.7 miles).
Is Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Exeter HotelsExeter Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ExeterHotels near Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire