Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel

Traveller (79)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (53)
Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 23 hotels in Exeter
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Come and see for yourself what a stay at the Premier Inn Exeter City Centre has to offer. Located in the city centre, you can really get a taste of the history, activities and beauty of the heart of Devon. On your doorstep is the main High Street, where you can shop till you drop, or branch out and explore the Cathedral, Castle or Western Quarter's of the city. Just 15 minutes away, you can admire the historic beauty of the Quayside before returning to our city centre hotel. You'll love our on-site Thyme restaurant and our new generation bedrooms, each featuring an impressive 40" flat screen TV, bright, modern bathroom with a large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2 Southernhay Gardens, Exeter EX1 1SG England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Exeter Airport
Cardiff-Wales Airport
47.4 mi
See all flights
1,363Review20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 694
  • 375
  • 154
  • 68
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lizajo2017 wrote a review Feb 2024
Brighton, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a premier room, it was quiet, roomy and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We've stayed several times before, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. This hotel is a 7 minute walk from the cathedral and old town, so is very well situated. The only issue is that there is no hotel parking, although we usually find something nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The_Coach55 wrote a review Sept 2021
Ruislip, United Kingdom1,140 contribution541 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Premier Inn is located centrally in Exeter, close to the cathedral area. It is just over a mile on foot to St David’s station.

Check in time was 4 pm, which was a little inconvenient but understandable due to sanitisation reasons during the current pandemic.

My room was good. Comfortable bed, bathroom with tub plus a decent shower. Tea and coffee making facilities and a safe were also supplied.

My main gripe was with the breakfast. Premier Inn pride themselves on the quality of this, but having to pay £9.50 for such insipid fare was not good.

The cooked food was just about edible - no choice of egg (just scrambled) and bacon which was hard and virtually indigestible.

No fruit was available and one choice of yoghurt and pastry.

I recently stayed in a Holiday Inn Express where the breakfast was free and superior to the food dished up here.

I paid £61.50 for one night’s stay and £9.50 for the so called breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don’t bother with breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hollie E wrote a review Sept 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great stay, hotel was like new, really well thought out with the key entries allowing you only onto your floor and the lift is sectioned off too to avoid noise. Room was spotlessly clean, had everything we needed, air con worked great. Good location too. Just a shame that the car park was closed but the receptionist was friendly and helpful to make sure we parked okay. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gillybean2021 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bathroom/Wet room is very spacious, but the seat in the shower was unusable as this was filthy
with thick black grime from previous users and has never been cleaned properly.
The seat padding unscrews easily from underneath with large knobs so that proper cleaning can be done periodically.
Also it was obvious that the shower curtains had never been moved whilst any cleaning took place as the dirt on the floor/skirting/tiles testify.
The metallic shelve was rusty as well.
The sink and toilet were very clean..... thank goodness.
I only stayed one night as I was returning home the next morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BRSflyer wrote a review Oct 2021
Cheltenham, United Kingdom420 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Because Premier Inn appears to enforce a standard policy of not allowing guests to check in before the 'official' time, regardless of whether there are rooms available, my official policy is to never award more than 3 stars.

Unfortunately this property only warrants 2 stars, and that's because the staff are friendly, otherwise I would have given it just 1 star. And my rating would be higher were it not for the fact that I sat in the lobby for 3 hours waiting for official check-in time.

I'm sure that the hotel will respond to this review saying that they were sold out and had no cleaned rooms before official check-in time. It's the standard corporate line from Premier Inn. If you don't have a single clean room available by 13:00, then you need to figure out what's going on with your housekeeping staff.

Once I was finally checked in, the room was clean and the air conditioning worked.

Unfortunately, the bulb in the desk lamp was broken, as in completely shattered and spewing shards of glass onto the desk. I used a towel to remove the bulb and replace it with one from the bedside lamp.

When I went to shower the next morning, I discovered that there was no body wash. Not that it was empty, but that there wasn't even a container loaded.

Given that the hotel can't even provide the most basic level of housekeeping, you have to wonder what else they skimp on. Especially when it comes to their much touted Covid-19 protocols.

Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the issues you had. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Danny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark b wrote a review Jul 2021
Wallington, United Kingdom29 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel from 16/7/21 - 18/7/21.
We have stayed in a lot of premier inns which always deliver , this hotel is absolutely superb for the location it is in Exeter as you can explore in foot in this wonderful city on foot from the central location.
The nearest car park is approximately 3-4 minutes away easy walk not that you would need your car to explore the city.
The check in was so easy with wonderful lady on reception, so welcoming after a four and half-hour drive, the room on the fourth floor very spacious and very clean and felt very covid safe. We asked for extra pillows and extra tea,coffee and milk which was no problem at all ,you just had to go to reception any requests were dealt with with a smile and promply.We booked breakfast both days and even though no self service buffet you could order as much as you wanted and it was freshly cooked and served very well .
Too Sum up a great location and staff that seem to over and above their job titles to keep the guests happy, they are a Credit to the company.We will be back in the autumn for another family reunion.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 4th floor very quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clarah-Lou wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom95 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights with friends, the location for the city centre is perfect, a 5/10 minute walk away from both the centre and the Quay. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The only downside was the rooms were far too warm, the air con only went down to 19 degrees and as the windows are fixed closed it gets very warm!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patti E wrote a review Feb 2020
Penzance, United Kingdom536 contributions110 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated just off Southernhay West making it convenient for the city centre and a reasonable walk to the Exeter Quays. At the time we stayed it was surrounded by scaffolding and there was no access to the underground parking. It was still very quiet in our room, we were not disturbed by the building work at all. Nor were we worried about car parking as we had travelled by train to Exeter St Davids (taxi fare to the hotel approx £7 inc tip). The rooms are what you would expect from a Premier Inn, very clean and standard lay-out. Unfortunately although their famous beds are indeed comfortable the pillows were like bricks on this occasion. The staff were very helpful and friendly, willingly storing our luggage on the day we left until we returned late afternoon to collect it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liberty2020 wrote a review Aug 2020
18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights with 2 children, hotel was being refurbished and never heard a sound, restaurant was closed also but there was a local restaurant called the cosy club which was amazing too. Staff couldn't clean the room due to CV19 for extended stays but we're always on hand to offer support with clean towels, bedding, refreshments etc. Overall a great stay and rooms are well furnished
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hdriver83 wrote a review May 2021
Sidmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a Saturday on a bank holiday weekend,only one person on reception ,rooms not ready,waited an hour to check in ,in a stuffy, extremely hot environment.
Once in room it was clean and tidy and what you expect generally from a Premier Inn
But extremely noisy hotel,doors banging constantly,noise from other guests.
Rooms are lovely,if you can get in to it, but don't expect to be able to sleep!!!
Could eat in restaurant for breakfast or main meal as lack of room,vending machines were out of order as well as one lift.
Poor service all round,not what you expect from a Premier Inn
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie C asked a question Apr 2024
1 contribution
Do you have luggage storage facilities?
Ruth R asked a question Aug 2021
Is there a phone number
Answer from AlanD411
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom255 contributions49 helpful votes
01392 797440
Steven B asked a question Oct 2020
Barnstaple, United Kingdom18 contributions31 helpful votes
What time can you check into your room
K Vaughan asked a question Nov 2019
Barnstaple, United Kingdom3 contributions
Do you provide towels and can you check in before 2pm
Answer from Sweetmelinda
kent28 contributions26 helpful votes
Yes and no.
AdrianJones91 wrote a tip 24 May
Bath, United Kingdom136 contributions92 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need good wi-fi for work, this isn't for you."
Read full review
Marion R wrote a tip 13 May
21 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here if you want Wi-Fi."
Read full review
Sarah d wrote a tip 3 May
Windsor, United Kingdom38 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Brilliant location for the town centre "
Read full review
Dorota K wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staff will help you with everything, just ask"
Read full review
Mary S wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can get full sometimes , but that is to be expected for such a central location."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Exeter area.
PRICE RANGE
£52 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN EXETER CITY CENTRE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Nearby attractions include Locked In A Room Exeter (0.3 miles), Exeter Cathedral (0.2 miles), and Underground Passages (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bill's Exeter, Al Farid Restaurant, and Taco-Macho Food.
Is Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Exeter.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Haldon Belvedere (Lawrence Castle) (4.9 miles), The House that Moved (0.5 miles), and St Catherine's Chapel and Almshouses (0.2 miles).
Is Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Exeter HotelsExeter Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ExeterHotels near Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire