We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

East Lyn House

Save
Share
17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP England
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
East Lyn House has eight beautiful bedrooms, a relaxing guest lounge and a riverside breakfast room opening on to our terrace, the largest and only elevated river-side terrace in Lynmouth, with unrivalled panoramic views of the East Lyn River, village and sea. Allowing you to escape for a few days in an adult only and pet-free location, East Lyn House is the perfect setting for real relaxation, peace and quiet. Set within the stunning location of Exmoor National Park in the heart of Lynmouth, East Lyn House is a beautiful Victorian villa on the banks of the river from which it takes its name. Built around 1870 the house has wonderful views of the river and down to the harbour and sea beyond.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
390Reviews3Q+A97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 333
  • 43
  • 8
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Phill T wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
If you like being reminded every five minutes that this is someone's home then this is for you. Take your shoes off at the door, this is someone's home. Reverse park down a very steep drive then walk back up to the front with your luggage whilst your host takes a handy door through their home. Don't wander into the dining room to reach the patio go outside around and down the side , after all this is someone's home. Not the friendliest of people especially the arrogant owner/chef who rings you at home chastising you for your Booking.com review. The Hotel itself is adequate , a bit overpriced, but clean and tidy. Lynmouth and Lynton are lovely places , but do yourself a favour try the big hotel on the corner , it's cheaper and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
steveroe60 wrote a review Oct 2021
Telford, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just spent three nights at East Lynn House. Richard and Helena did everything they could to ensure we had a good time. The room was warm and cosy with great views of the river and down to the sea and the tea’s, coffee’s and biscuits where constantly replenished. Breakfast was great and kept us going until tea time every day, Helena and Richard would be on hand to suggest places to visit during the day. Free car parking was available.Covid restrictions where in place to keep us and them and their family healthy and safe and it was obvious that this family have worked hard to make there home inviting to others. We wish them all a well deserved break over the next few months.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sandra K wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Definitely not worth the rate they are charging . Our biggest disappointment was they totally ignored the fact the wall in the corner by the bed was visibly wet and stained .The host showed us the room & didnt even apologize for this . No towels , he said he forgot .stained carpet & stained chairs .dirty windows. Flat pillows . No attention to detail , they didn’t seem to care as long as they got your money . Breakfast was good. Location wonderful , such a shame as overall very disappointing .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Elliott, Owner at East Lyn House
Responded 30 Sept 2021
This season, we have noted an increase in the number of people who, despite saying nothing to us during their stay, feel it necessary to suddenly write a poor review. If you have a problem then talk to us during your stay, when we actually have an opportunity to do something about it. To do as you have done is simply cowardly and unnecessarily hurtful to a business that has been doing everything it can to survive through the most exceptional circumstances in many decades. What I fail to understand is why, if our home and business was as bad as you make out here, did you stay? If you don't like what we offer, you can simply leave. No one forced you to stay. Instead, you chose to remain in our home and decided to spend your time looking for anything you could to put in a poor review - this must have been your intention since you raised absolutely no concerns with us. Our home is far from uncared for. We have already invested over £80,000 in improvements in the five seasons we have owned East Lyn House. This included new carpet, new wardrobe, new chairs, new bed and mattress, new tables, new hand-made curtains, and new lights in the room in which you stayed. (We have also repainted every room in the house, replaced furniture and curtains in the guest lounge, breakfast room, terrace and bedrooms, laid new carpet in the guest lounge and many bedrooms, repainted the exterior of the house, repointed the chimney, designed and hand made new signs for the house, completely renovated the guest lounge, installed a brand new B&B kitchen with new range oven and fridge-freezers....For an uncared for property, we have certainly done a great deal of work in the relatively short time we have owned it.) We take great pride in our home and take exception to your comments. Unfortunately, due to covid, we have removed extra items such as cushions, room folders and leaflets from the rooms and this can make them a little bare. We have also reduced the times we enter the room during your stay and therefore do not have the opportunity to tidy, make beds or clean each day. We do this in order to follow guidelines from the Covid Secure scheme - we prioritise guest safety above everything. This is all explained when we check you in. This season has been incredibly busy and, whilst we clean the rooms as thoroughly as possible after each guest, inevitably small stains and marks build up over the months. Unfortunately, sometimes guests do not take as much care of the rooms as we would like. There are a few spot marks on the carpet, but until we can thoroughly clean it at the end of the season, there is not much more we can do. Ideally, all guests would refrain from wearing outdoor shoes in the rooms in poor weather, but this often doesn't happen. They should also inform us of any spills when they occur. Unfortunately this rarely happens either. There are some small marks in the corner of the room. Unfortunately a problem developed over the season, which we have now rectified. The wall is not wet, but marks have been left. These will be dealt with at the end of the season, but they don't affect the use of the room in any way other than aesthetically. Perhaps you would have preferred the room to smell of fresh paint? The house is 150 years old and unfortunately there are always small things that aren't perfect and have to wait until we are closed to be rectified. I stated I had forgotten the towels because it was true. I had personally stripped and cleaned six rooms on the day you arrived. I have been working 84 hour weeks, 7 days a week since May. It's not surprising that sometimes I forget things. However, a few minutes after I checked you in to the room, you pointed out my mistake and I immediately rectified it - you told me it wasn't a problem. I'm unsure why it suddenly was when you came to write your review. Are you trying to suggest I attempted to leave you with no towels for the duration of your stay? Additionally, you requested new towels for every day of the 3 nights you stayed with us. Even 5* hotels costing vastly more than us rarely offer this, yet I replaced them each day, without question. If you had any issues with the pillows, you never raised it with us. You could have made use of the spare pillows provided or simply asked if we could provide others - pillows and duvets are very much a personal preference. Instead, you didn't bother to talk to us about it, but left it to bring up in your review. The windows were not dirty, they were cleaned by our professional window cleaner a few days before you arrived. You failed to mention the numerous other ways that we attempted to ensure you had an enjoyable stay - from helping with parking and bags, to talking to you at breakfast and telling you about various walks and activities you might enjoy. You also enjoyed use of our riverside terrace with stunning views of the river valley. We are priced competitively for the area and have just had our 4* silver AA award and Breakfast award re-awarded. We are a similar price to well-known chain hotels whose properties are often on main roads or overlooking car parks and roundabouts. We believe we offer far more than they do and see your remarks as hurtful and completely unnecessary. We are just a normal couple who work exceptionally hard. If you expected more than we can offer, I would suggest you look for a 5* hotel with many staff, not a 4* B&B - although it is likely to be priced accordingly. Thank you for taking the time to try to run our business down. I only hope that in whatever line of work you are in, you don't have the misfortune to run across someone who does the same to you.
Read more
Mgold wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I just had to support Sobia in her review. The rules are intimidating - on the back of the bedroom door was a notice that stated" Failure to wear a mask in our home will result in you being asked to leave. No refund will be given". It's not the wearing of the mask - I think most people are happy to do this - it is the threat of no refund if you forget!. We were told off for parking in the their car park as they had decided to reduce the parking from 7 cars to 6 - so we were last in and asked to move. As we had presumably paid to park in the cost of our reservation, no offer was made to pay for the additional expense. Needless to say we didn't use their car park after that. We all understand the pressures of running a guest house during covid - but the attitude was not tempered with a modicum of respect for their guests. The lounge hwas being used as an extended dining room and was shut after breakfast, so no indoor access to the beautiful terrace they advertise. In fact, we never saw the hosts after breakfast at all (apart from being told off about parking) so there was no-one to ask for advice on where to go and all leaflets had obviously been removed. I give it one star as the breakfast was the best thing about our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Elliott, Owner at East Lyn House
Responded 27 Sept 2021
To be honest, responding to reviews where guests make inaccurate, misleading or false statements is really quite annoying. I'm surprised that you are supporting Sobia in her review - her wilful refusal to wear a mask (not simply forgetting as she tries to state,) was the reason we had to put the signs on the bedroom doors. Unfortunately we have had a minority of guests who don't believe that our covid guidelines apply to them and we, regrettably, had to enforce these measures more strictly. We take the safety of our guests and family incredibly seriously and we make no apology for attempting to keep everyone safe. The vast majority of our guests, who are happy to follow covid safety guidelines, know that these particular signs are not aimed at them and take no offense. It appears only those who object to wearing a mask or doing anything that benefits others, find them such a problem. I explained that we had reduced our parking spaces to you when you checked in. However, we discovered that you had ignored this and parked inconsiderately, blocking another guest's car in - this guest was heavily pregnant and needed access to her car. I happened to see you when you returned to the B&B and asked you politely if you would move your car to the road. You point blank refused to move your car - and started to argue with me about it. Unfortunately, if you want to be treated with respect, you also need to treat my wife and I with some. Furthermore, you do not pay for parking as part of your reservation - bookings state 'free parking, subject to availability.' No offer to pay for your parking was given because no charge was due - I asked you to move your car on to the road or public car park, where parking is free overnight until at least 10am. You would have been free to use our parking again the next day when spaces opened up. You fail to mention in your review that, despite being asked to move, you refused and continued to block the other car in until the next morning. So, despite a perfectly reasonable request from the owner of the B&B, you felt our policies and procedures should not apply to you; a trait you share with Sobia. The route through the Breakfast room to the terrace is indeed closed apart from at breakfast. This was all explained to you when you arrived and is in our covid guidelines. This has, again, been implemented to ensure our guest safety. However, access to the terrace was unrestricted via the side gate - a few feet to the side of the house. I'm not sure why this was such an issue - you regularly made use of the terrace space to smoke. The guest lounge has indeed been shut - again as part of our covid procedures. We have indeed removed leaflets and our more detailed room information folders - this is again part of our covid procedures. However, many of our guests simply talk to us at breakfast about their plans or if they have any questions. We are also normally available for guests during the day. However, unlike a hotel with many staff, we do also have to leave the house on occasion. We also have a family life - most guests staying at a B&B understand that they are staying in our home, not a chain hotel. We are a 4* AA rated business and meet the appropriate standards for this award. As I stated on a previous review, we make no apologies for putting our guest and family safety first - we wonder why you object to this. I also make no apology for asking guests to be considerate to our other guests - again, I wonder why you took offense at being asked to be considerate.
Read more
Sobia wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I made my review on booking.com and the hosts response was not only very patrionising but also insulting. I'm very aware of the pandemic, I have lived and lossed through it like we all have, so don't insult me. As I already explained, my issue was not with wearing a face covering nor did I expect your rules not to apply to me. My issue was with how the host decided the handle the situation which you failed to acknowledge in your response. There is a way to speak to people and she should of addressed the issue differently. She was rude, abrupt and decided to then ignore us during breakfast and rushed us out. She made no attempt to check if we needed anything else, as she did so with others around us. The host went on to explain in his response that he is concerned for his families welfare so perhaps you should not serve breakfast in an open room with other guests during these times, if you are that concerned. From reading others feedback you can see most negative reviews are regarding how the hosts conduct themselves. This can also be seen with how they respond to negative or constructive feedback, rude and belittling. There are many places to stay in the Lynton/Lynmouth area, multiple B&Bs on the same road and I would recommend to opt elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Elliott, Owner at East Lyn House
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thank you for yet another review. Our covid rules are clearly displayed and apply to all our guests - even those who are 'only walking down to breakfast.' I'm sorry that, having ignored rules designed to keep everyone safe, you feel aggrieved because we challenged you on them. I think that the majority of our guests actually appreciate our strong stance on covid safety and will be reassured that we are prepared to risk poor reviews to enforce that safety. Edit: By your own admission, you failed to wear a facemask on 3 occasions. We accept that guests sometimes forget, and we remind them when this happens. However, forgetting at least 3 times is not acceptable and we do not apologise for challenging you on this - especially as each time you had to walk past several prominent notices reminding you (the same notices you found so offensive and 'gp-surgery-like.)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExmoor National ParkLynmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about East Lyn House
Which popular attractions are close to East Lyn House?
Nearby attractions include Watersmeet Trail (0.1 miles), 21 Mile Drive (0.2 miles), and Glen Lyn Gorge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at East Lyn House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at East Lyn House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at East Lyn House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East Lyn House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lynmouth Bay Cafe, Rising Sun Resturant, and The Picnic Box.
Is East Lyn House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Lynmouth.
Are there any historical sites close to East Lyn House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parracombe (4.5 miles) and St John the Baptist Church (0.04 miles).
Does East Lyn House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.