We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rising Sun Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rising Sun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 424: English reviews
Start your review of The Rising Sun Hotel
 Click to rate
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Be sure you know what to expect. We were if room 4, which I think is the smallest. Part of the charm of the Rising Sun is how old and characterful it is, that means ... no room for a shower, no where to sit in the room, a sloping floor and hence bed, which feels very odd and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked for a one night stay during a wet and blustery week just for a change of scenery. Hotel looked good on the website and food there sounded great. It did not disappoint. After booking our stay, a couple of days later we received a phone call from reception stating the room was being up-graded free of charge to one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A good old fashioned pub with a scenic view over the harbour and nearby coast. The beer's good and the ambience as well. It seems to be popular all day so must be doing something right. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveHovington
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

We do agree we are situated in a great location with fantastic scenery on our doorstep, we do get busy with locals and visitors alike which we think makes for a great atmosphere for everyone. We would like to thank very much you for your review and for recommending The Rising Sun as a place to visit when in Lynmouth.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We love Lyndon and Lynmouth and as locals we want the area to be perfect and to encourage loads of tourists to come and visit our beautiful region.....it's so disappointing to arrive at lunchtime with family from abroad and to be greeted with....."the children can come in only if they behave". The food was good but come on guys we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

We too also love Lynton and Lynmouth and do a lot to promote our beautiful villages, so to receive a review like yours was to say the least very disappointing. As we would hope you can appreciate, due to the age of the Inn, we only have a small seating area and so we ask that all children sit down...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were asked to sit in the landing area just outside the restaurant because we had a dog with us. Fair enough, but because of this and even though we ordered from the same menu as the resteraunt we were not offered the freebie and most bizarrely were not allowed bread rolls even though we were staying in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerald R
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies if we upset you in anyway during your recent visit, it was never our intention. As explained to you at the time of your visit, we do not allow dogs in our Restaurant, hence the reason you were allocated a table in our lobby area, ensuring that your dog could be with you. As we...

Prestbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night here and I was disappointed with our room. I know that this is an old property but the room was rather cramped and the sea view was only available by sticking your head right into the very small window. We had dinner as the hotel as well and although the food was very good I do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Our rooms do vary in size due to the nature of the building, all our rooms are well appointed so we were sorry to read you thought yours to be cramped, had we been aware that you were disappointed with your room we would have tried to rectify the situation for you . However we were pleased to read that...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One night stay on the way home from Cornwall. So glad we stayed here. Beautiful old building on the harbour, thatched roof, quirky stairs and passageways and lots of character. The room with sea view was spacious, modern with a fabulous bath room. Enjoyed the guest sitting room and everything about the rising sun. No problems getting a parking space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fizzy P
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

We are very proud of our lovely old building so its always nice to read when others agree. Lynmouth and the surrounding areas are great places to walk with some beautiful scenery right on our doorstep, we were pleased that you liked the room allocated to you. The lovely comments made about the friendly staff and the food have been...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for one night as a birthday surprise. had a room in the annex with a sea view!. Room was clean and had everything you need. Bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Just what you need after a day walking. Ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was delicious, portions ample...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette-417
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we were really pleased to read that you liked the room allocated to you, the lovely comments made about the staff and food have been passed on and were much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on spec, were shown a lovely room and stayed for three nights. This is an old building but the room had every amenity nicely fitted out and clean. We had a great view across the small harbour. Breakfast was more than ample and we were grateful to be able burn it off with good long walks from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPDrake
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

We were really pleased to read you liked the room allocated to you during your stay. We do agree that there are some lovely walks to do in and around Lynton and Lynmouth with some sunning scenery to admire. We thank you very much for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

London
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here after a long trek around. Had been told it was dog friendly but found it anything but. Had our little dog on our lap sipping water from our own water bottle and was told he wasn't allowed on the furniture. When the bar staff realised he was on my lap - was told he was up too...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crow99
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies if we upset you in any way, it was never out intention, and you can be assured that we really are dog friendly establishment.However, as we hope you would appreciate, not all people are dog lovers and therefore we ask our customers to respect this by keeping pets on the floor and off the furniture. Whilst...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Price Range: £127 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 was great and had a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 743robp, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room preferable”
 of 5 bubbles BarrieMatt42, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view out to sea/headland or over the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles stevengE9394PQ, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book a room facing the harbour for wonderful views and the sound of the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles A5266ATpeterp, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view - most have one, I believe.”
 of 5 bubbles 35astroud, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5