We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (323)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 24 hotels in Plymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With the vibrant nightlife and cultural attractions in Devon right on our doorstep, and a short walk away from the Barbican and iconic Mayflower steps, we are hard to beat on location and convenience. Our city centre hotel boasts 135 guest rooms, a fitness suite, on-site parking (chargeable) and over 400 sqm of event space, making it ideal for business and family trips.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1825Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 560
  • 557
  • 438
  • 181
  • 89
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Trek39356276552 wrote a review 20 Feb
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom1 contribution
Right where to start, the hotel itself is set in a busy location in the centre of Plymouth. 3am I was woken up by drunk people shouting in the street, not great when one has work the next day. Also the hotel has a small car park which when full you have to use the Sainsburys car park opposite. Which contrary to the advertisement of being free in Jan and Feb actually costs £7.50 a night. Also this is a slam door hotel where doors get slammed at really inconsiderate times of the night. Hotel itself is tired and could do with a revamp.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
barbara g wrote a review 15 Feb
Bristol, United Kingdom29 contributions40 helpful votes
Comfy bed. Room was clean and large. Reasonably priced and much cheaper than Premier Inns. Restaurant doesn't open until 6.00pm. Bar is open from 11.00am. Both close at 9.30pm Restaurant is large but my piece of fish wasn't. Half the plate was a mound of bullet hard peas and the other half was badly cooked chips, with the fish on top. I dont know if the fish was haddock because it was the thin tail end, approximately 5" long. Be warned there is a service charged automatically added to the bill. I was awake at 5 am by a generator type of noise. Although it only lasted a few minutes, it repeated again 20 minutes later and again 20 minutes later. Followed by banging pipes. The view from my window would have been great but ruined by Sainsburys car park. There was a proportion of work men staying at the hotel so I wasn't surprised at room doors banging at 6.00am. There is a large shopping mall a short walk away and of course Sainsburys is very close by.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Eat and drink out. £5.00 for a pint of Aspinal cider.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Barbaragleed, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback. Thank you also for your compliments on the bedroom. Regarding your comment on restaurant and bar opening times right after which room service food is available. The service charge is at the guest's decision to pay or remove, as specified on the menu card. It's understandable that the view from your window was not as enjoyable due to the proximity although it seems the hotel's city centre location may not offer the best views of the city and shopping areas, as you indicated in your comments. This is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to leave with our valued guests and we regret the inconvenience caused noise. Please be assured that the satisfaction and comfort of our guests is our top priority and we will take your feedback on board in order to improve our guest experience in the future. Kind regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris W wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The check in was quite possibly the best I’ve experienced. A chap called Sully on the front desk was kind, helpful, professional and above all friendly. The room was ok, but I wasn’t completely satisfied, due to my own failings in booking the standard room for an anniversary, I reported to the front desk to enquire about an upgrade and again Sully was on hand. With a check of the system a prompt upgraded was delivered for a small cost to a top floor suite where the views were incredible. Fantastic experience couldn’t recommend more highly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Chris W, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to hear that you felt well cared for by our great team of service professionals. It is great to know they contributed in making this a special experience for you. I have shared your review with all of the team who were delighted to receive it I am extremely glad to read that you felt safe at all times during your stay and were able to enjoy an experience with us at the hotel. Thank you again for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne in the near future. Kind regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie Helley wrote a review Jan 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom3 contributions
Everything was just amazing would definitely recommend and book again it feels like home from home can even get delivery to the hotel the staff go above and beyond and so friendly always smiling so helpful
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear GDkatieh, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to hear that you felt well cared for by our great team of service professionals. It is great to know they contributed in making this a special experience for you. I have shared your review with all of the team who were delighted to receive it I am extremely glad to read that you felt safe at all times during your stay and were able to enjoy an experience with us at the hotel. Thank you again for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne in the near future. Kind regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass55444632683 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Excellent stay, we had an issue with extreme noise coming from the room next door just after we checked in. The lady on reception gave us a new room with a great view over the city and beyond, very good breakfast, again, an excellent member of staff to help people. Some parts of the hotel are tired but you expect that with so much traffic but overall it’s a good hotel, well located for the train station and city centre with parking next door which is helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear Compass5544, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback .I am glad that you found the hotel's location is perfect for you. I am delighted to read that you felt well cared for by our great team of service professionals and that you appreciated the recommendations from the staff . I know future visitors to the hotel will find your comments most useful, and we were delighted to learn that yet again everything exceeded your expectations and you had a most memorable experience. Customer service is at the very heart of everything we do at our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lynnepWorcester wrote a review Dec 2023
Worcester, United Kingdom25 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, very clean, great staff, excellent price for one night. Bedroom had a lovely view of the town with the hoe beyond. Breakfast that was included with our room rate was fresh with plenty of choice. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear LynnepWorcester, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Copthorne. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you felt well cared for by our great team of service professionals and that you appreciated the recommendations from the staff and our breakfast offerings. Thank you also for your compliments on the bedroom. It was my pleasure to share your kind words with our entire team this morning who were very happy to receive this feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne in the near future. Kind Regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda B wrote a review Dec 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom40 contributions8 helpful votes
Everything in the room was very satisfactory.Tea and coffee supplied with milks and sugar. Fridge small but adequate for a short stay. Comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom very clean with bath and a good shower.Plenty of hot water. Good location near all shops. No need for a taxi to get to bars and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear N2286BNlindab, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Copthorne. we always appreciate feedback, but especially from our most loyal returning guests. I know future visitors to the hotel will find your comments most useful, and we were delighted to learn that yet again everything exceeded your expectations and you had a most memorable experience. Customer service is at the very heart of everything we do at our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare wrote a review Dec 2023
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Myself and husband enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The breakfast and bar food was excellent. Christmas parties were on the go, which was expected. Management made sure that hotel guests were okay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 13 Dec 2023
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Copthorne. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you felt well cared for by our great team of service professionals and that you appreciated the recommendations from the staff and our breakfast offerings. Thank you also for your compliments on the bedroom. It was my pleasure to share your kind words with our entire team this morning who were very happy to receive this feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Copthorne in the near future. Kind Regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesley 1 wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival there was a strange smell in the room also something had been taken down about the window which left a white clean strip of the ceiling the rest of it was really dirty. The border paper at the top of the wall was really dirty and looked like they had tried to clean it but made it worse . Cups was not clean still had tea/coffee marks on them . On the Friday night woken up by drunks in the next room shouting and swearing in the early hours but nothing was done about it and they didn't make anything of it when told at the reception. The rooms all need a deep clean and up dating as the chairs are falling apart , furniture all shabby .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 13 Dec 2023
Dear Sandycrove, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry that we could not provide a more positive guest experience on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment with the guest room provided . It is disappointing to note that you were not happy with your stay for reasons mentioned such as due to the noise issues from the drunk person from Christmas party. We indeed do empathize on your experience and understand the inconvenience you encountered. I have noted your comments on certain aspects of our current decor being dated and bland. We are very aware of these shortcomings and as you noticed, we are in process of refurbishing and replacing furnishings in many areas of the property. I have no doubt that this, together with refreshed operating standards will significantly improve our guest experiences as we complete these initiatives. I hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again in the future when we can better meet your expectations. Kind regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig6312 wrote a review Oct 2023
Lancaster, United Kingdom27 contributions24 helpful votes
If you want a basic no frills hotel then this is ok (not my expectation of a 4 star, not looking for plush but comfortable). Stayed here for work and was met with a single bed in a room with dated décor, told this wasn't the fault of the hotel even though my company standard is minimum double (never had this issue before or since with other hotels), the reception staff wasn't helpful and I just had a very long drive. I paid for an upgrade which gave me a double bed and a fridge but again the décor is very dated, with no aircon (ceiling fan, which talking to a local said he installed over 30 years ago) which was a nightmare as this was during the hot spell and certainly not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Parking is first come first served and I was lucky here. Breakfast was good and the staff their were helpful, unfortunately the same can't be said about the reception staff, which was a lottery on how they were, they only really became helpful when I paid for an upgrade to club room. Can't comment on the evening food. Personally I wouldn't stay here again but for some this maybe ok but don't think of it as a 4 star or you will be very disappointed. Not being rude but Premier Inn hotels are a higher standard in general (this is dependant on what one).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: No Air Con, parking first come first served and is limited, décor and room not what you'd expect...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raj Srinivasan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Dear Graig6312, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We genuinely value and appreciate your feedback .We are very sorry that we could not provide a more positive guest experience on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment with the guest room provided . However, I have noted your comment on certain aspects of our rooms still presenting as old fashioned and I apologise if you were disappointed in any way. I am delighted to be able to assure you that we are currently attending to these remaining aspects of our business with a substantive redecoration and refurbishment program which will continue until all rooms are completed. I do hope you seen the completed restaurant and bar which reflects the standard that we are moving towards in all areas of the hotel. During the balance of this year, we will be attending to the rest our bedrooms as well as replacing furniture and bathroom fixtures and fittings. I have no doubt that our overall hotel product will continue to become markedly improved as the year unfolds and hope that you will visit us again in the future. This is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to leave with our valued guests and we regret the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that the satisfaction and comfort of our guests is our top priority and we will take your feedback on board in order to improve our guest experience in the future. Kind regards, Raj Srinivasan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Plymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plymouth copthorne hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonPlymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COPTHORNE HOTEL PLYMOUTH - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Which popular attractions are close to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Nearby attractions include Escape Plymouth (0.3 miles), The Box (0.3 miles), and The Celtic Tossers - Axe Throwing Plymouth (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tantuni, Maurish, and Kawaffle.
Is Copthorne Hotel Plymouth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Plymouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Copthorne Hotel Plymouth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park (2.1 miles), Saltram (National Trust) (4.2 miles), and Antony House (3.7 miles).
Is Copthorne Hotel Plymouth accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.