We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rainbow Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rainbow Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of Rainbow Lodge
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Comfy beds, a capacious room and a warm welcome. Just passing through but we thought it well worth our time to recommend this little gem to others. The girls at the Lodge have created something special for all kinds of travellers and also cook a mean breakfast ( and because its compulsory to include something negative on these forums all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very friendly family, we had the small double room which was small but comfortable and had everything we needed, very clean. Had a great breakfast. Good location for shopping, the Barbarian & Hoe. Would definitely recommend a stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherCramond
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came here for a little get away whilst my partner did some work training and we couldn't have picked a better located guest house. Up the road you get the the most beautiful landscape and down the road your in the centre of town with an amazing shopping centre. The owners were so accommodating and friendly also with a breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany J
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived rather grumpy, but soon cheered by the landlady's nice welcome. My large front bedroom had been recently decorated - a bit over full for my taste but nothing to complain about. Tea and coffee in the room and small shower in the corner meant I had a first night in for an early night. Breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profsp2015
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad that you left happier than when you arrived. Travelling makes us all a bit on the grumpy side sometimes. Hope to see you again some time soon

Hengoed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you very much for putting up with us. We had a great time there,( even though some of us were a bit under the weather !!! )Thanks for you help ! Cant find any faults what so ever ,you were all so polite and curtious B & B was spotless food was excellent. Location was near to everything ,couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshspringer6
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

We hope you have recovered and were glad to help!!!! Thanks for your review and hope that you come back to see us before the next match!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great trip to Plymouth for the football, not only a great result, but a brilliant stay in the Rainbow lodge, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. Exceptional value! Would recommend to anyone visiting Devon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulyB293
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - made even better by the fantastic result. Hope you come and see us the next time they play. Infact, don't leave it that long. We'd love to see you anytime.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fair B and B. Location central to all attractions, (city centre, Hoe, Barbican Theatre). Very clean and fresh. Owners new and upgrading so a little modernising on going. Have had better breakfasts elsewhere. Good choice of cereals and full English but fruit rather tired looking. Breakfast room cramped if full. Warm and cozy and the cost around the usual price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill085
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Constructive criticism always welcome. Will check the fruit immediately.

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I stayed for one night back in November 2016 as I was down to see the awesome Catherine Tate at the nearby Pavilions complex I work in the hospitality industry myself (Night Porter in a good 3 star hotel here on Sunny Guernsey) and the level of welcome and friendliness (genuine) I received was the kind of service I aspire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepster1966
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit later in the year. We are in the process of re-decorating all the bedrooms and the dining room and are really excited about the new look. We have also had a new kitchen installed so...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Perfect location for the town, sea front and theatres. We received a warm welcome from the friendly hosts. Our room was lovely. It was spacious, warm and very well presented. The ensuite was also good, with an efficient electric shower. The breakfast options were really good and the full English was delicious. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graymole
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the moment we are in the process of having a new kitchen installed so new breakfast options for the future. Can't wait!!!!!

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This must be the 6th or 7th time staying here. It suits my purpose so well. Close to my family and close to the stunning barbican. Rooms are always clean. Breakfast always hot and fresh. Always a smile to greet you and help if needed. Even got an upgrade this visit due to some basement flooding. Thanks Sue & Cheryl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipohara123
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it's always a pleasure to see you. Hopefully the basement will be back up and running when you next visit .Your comments are always appreciated.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming 3 Star Guest House on Plymouth Hoe. Ideal location for City Centre shops and commercial hub, Pavilions, Barbican, Uni, all transport modes and Plymouth Sound. Ensuite or standard, B&B or 'Roomkey only'. Singles, doubles/twins. Friendly individual service, spotless rooms, well prepared choice of breakfasts,private car parking on request ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 29 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainbow Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 was at the front”
 of 5 bubbles profsp2015, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Location for Hoe,Barbican and City centre.”
 of 5 bubbles welshspringer6, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Even a room over looking the street was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles pepster1966, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check rooms sizes before booking, room 4 double is very small for a double but it does have an en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles tinadevon, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Family room nice size and quiet room 5 lovely at the back of the house and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Grizzel11, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5