We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Started as a Bed and Breakfast in 1954, family run Kynance House has had thousands of satisfied customers. Blessed with perfect positioning on Plymouth's historic Hoe (only a few minutes walk from the City Center and the Barbican), why not come and stay with us in one of our comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy the free in room WiFi and then tuck into the traditional English breakfast prepared fresh for you before you explore our beautiful part of the world or go to the Ferryport to start your journey to foreign climes, or perhaps you are in Plymouth for a visit to the world class University. Whatever your reason, the answer is simple - Kynance House - The Best Location in Plymouth.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
65Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
244Reviews
54Photos
3Q+A
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 59
  • 27
  • 15
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Positives: clean room, nicely decorated Negatives: No hot water, faulty electrics(lights not working) radiator burning yet opposite side of the room is still cold, broken window handle so constant draft
Read more
Response from Jenny B, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that the window catch was broken - this has been fixed. As for the lighting,, it seems that the fuse spur had inadvertently been turned off. This has now been turned back on. As I'm sure you can imagine, we always want the best for all of our guests - the issue you had with your hot water was simply due to demand on our system - everyone was showering at the same time. While this is far from ideal, the system does catch up after about 10 minutes, although this is far from ideal if you have to leave by a specific time! We are sure that, on your next visit, you will not experience any of these issues and that you will have the stay we wish for all of our guests.
Read more
I stayed here for a couple of nights, very comfortable and lovely location. Not to far to walk into town but there is a bus stop right outside. Very near the hoe. Lovely welcome from staff. Very friendly. Room was lovely and perfect. Breakfast was lovely. Will definitely be
Read more
Response from Jenny B, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us - hopefully you will come and stay with us again during the Fireworks competition or for next years Mayflower 2020 celebrations - as you so rightly state, we are perfectly placed for all that Plymouth has to offer! We can't wait for your next stay with us!
Read more
We try and come every year for my daughters birthday. My dad also stays here quite a bit and is part of the furniture lol. The staff are very nice and accommodating. The rooms are clean and warm and the breakfast is yummy with a good choice and it’s all freshly cooked. I also
Read more
Response from Jenny B, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Feb 2019
It's always good to have you stay with us, especially for such an important occasion! We're already looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Stayed to visit son at uni and for my moms birthday. We had a call on the day we were travelling to let us know about potential bad weather on the way and advise what to do if we get here late. This was brilliant as it showed the staff go beyond their normal duties to help. Once
Read more
Response from Jenny B, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Feb 2019
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review - we enjoyed your visit and it was lovely that it coincided with your mum's birthday too! Hopefully the next time that you stay the weather will be a little warmer but, in the meantime, have a great year and we'll see you again soon!
Read more
Stayed while visiting to watch football,quirky layout but good size rooms,very clean and a great location for the Hoe,Barbican and the City Centre More than adequate English Breakfast served up in the morning parking on a first come basis but parking permits available at a coat
Read more
Response from Jenny B, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us - a shame that the result wasn't better for you though! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - the quirky layout is thanks, in great part, to the builders who built us in 1843 - they were great at their jobs, but probably weren't considering the needs of a thriving guest accommodation business over 170 years later! We look forward to your next stay here with us!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementKynance House Bed & Breakfast
Jednoduché praktické pokoje
The view 30 seconds away.
The views 30 seconds away
Chambre
PreviousNext
123
"Make sure you book a room with an ensuite."
"if can not manage stairs, check before booking. Some ground / 1st floor rooms there are many up many flights of stairs."
"Go somewhere else!!!"
"Room 22 is a single room, perfect for the solo traveller."
"quieter rooms to rear of property, rooms are a nice size for couple nights stay."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kynance hotel plymouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPlymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing