TLH Carlton Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

TLH Carlton Hotel

This is meant to be a 'Strawberry Roulade.'
Traveller (277)
Panorama of the Accessible  Double Room at the TLH Carlton Hotel
360
Panoramas (38)
                  Bedroom
Room & Suite (153)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#37 of 81 hotels in Torquay
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. Please note that on-site parking is free when bookings are made directly with TLH Leisure Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Children's playground
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Bulgarian, Polish

Location

Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Exeter Airport
19.2 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles906 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The TLH Carlton Hotel boasts a spa and a well-maintained pool, with guests often commending the overall cleanliness of the premises. Despite its favorable location near the beach and town, the hotel's outdated decor and need for modernization have not gone unnoticed. Travelers report rooms that are uncomfortably warm and noisy, while service experiences range from friendly to disappointingly slow. Additionally, many visitors question the value offered by the hotel, pointing to pricey meals and unexpected fees.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Clean
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
906Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 361
  • 336
  • 118
  • 58
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jelunga wrote a review Aug 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a sea view room for 3 of us, and had a great view from our window. The bedroom was of a reasonable standard, although there was very poor ventilation, with just a sash window, the lower section of which only lifted a few inches. Yup, I know, health and safety. The top bit was very stiff to lower, but once I had worked out it was supposed to lower, and we used a bit of force, the room was cool enough.
Breakfast and dinner, which were included in our stay, were absolutely fantastic. Well cooked and good choices and just the right sized portions. Two of my party were coeliacs and needed gluten free food. The staff could not have been more helpful, finding options that were not on the daily changing menu. Brilliant, thank you very much. Covid19 restrictions meant that they did not service the room daily, but they were more than happy to give us clean towels every day, leaving them outside the room door. The facilities on site are great. Had a great hot stone massage on our second day, swimming pools were nice, Aztec Bar service was good with Ella being really nice. Again, a good gluten free choice. Games room good, nice staff in Starlight lounge.
The only slight negative was the number of stairs joining the group of hotels and facilities together, but as it was on a hill cannot be avoided, and the lift up to our 2nd floor room was not exactly the smoothest I have ever been in. But it worked, and saved all the stairs again.
We would definitely go there again, as the restaurant service and food were far better than expected. Thanks girls and guys.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Moody, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Hi there jelunga and thank you for taking the time to post this this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that the restaurant & kitchen team were able to ensure we could look after the dietary requirements within you group. Covid19 has certainly made us change the way we operate, therefor I'm glad to see that we are still maintaining our high service levels. All in all it looks like you've used & enjoyed the majority of our facilities, and I'm exceptionally glad that we managed to exceed your expectations . Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back to the TLH Carlton in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda M wrote a review Jun 2021
Ruardean Woodside
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 4 nights with my husband last minute as holiday abroad was cancelled. So I will start with the Good:

Good
The breakfast is great and a lot of choice and you are given the same table for your duration of stay.
Spa is fantastic with Elemis treatments and if you book before arrival you will get 15% off so so treat yourself
Plenty of sunbeds around the pool
Our bedroom was big with a lot of storage and was quiet and night.
All staff across the hotel were all friendly polite and attentive.

Not so Good the Bad
Too many people not wearing masks or asked why they are not wearing one! Plenty would come into the dining room for breakfast wearing a mask and when they went up to get breakfast they were NOT wearing them! Nobody who worked in the dining room would ask them to put their mask on. There was NO social distancing around the serving hatch!

The restaurant supervisors wore mask exempt badges in fact a lot of the young staff employed wore these (yes disabilities are hidden) and I found it a little odd as I employ 80+ staff in social care and don't have any mask exempt staff.

Evening meal had 4 choices with one being vegetarian this includes the 3 courses. Only some of the meals came with vegetables and the steak came with chips etc so the portions were very small. One night I had a nut cutlet sat on a salad bed this was extremely dry and would have been better served with potatoes and vegetables. The steak comes at an extra £6.95 but is a good meal.

Evening Entertainment the main room was the Starlight in the Derwent and had to be booked on the day, this was mission impossible with all tables gone by 7-30am every day and yet walk by at 8-30pm only half the tables were taken!! We did get in one night at 9-30pm.

The bar service is hit and miss as some you had to go up and get your own drink and others it was table service but you wouldn't know until you got to the bar and were told to sit down! One small bar in the Victoria you had to sit for table service but then had to go up to the bar to pay by card!!

The room was too hot at night and could only open the window a little, there is a fan in the room but it just blows hot air.
The bed in our room was really hard and uncomfortable with springs poking up (reviews across all hotels say how bad the beds are) Our backs were bad 1st thing when we got up.
Shower is in the bath and is very small and when you move the shower curtain sticks to you so could do with a better quality curtain as the shower itself is pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Facey, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Hi Amanda M, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We welcome all feedback as it’s an invaluable tool for us to ensure we are providing a great and indeed safe service, and when identified, to make changes. I respect that the above is your opinion, but I do feel I need to place some clarity on a few things for the benefit of those reading this review. The complex is complying with current government guidelines with regards to face coverings, we have ample signage around our buildings including both printed in all of our guest information boards, access routes and also digitally on our advertising TV’s around the complex. We also mention it at the check in stage, as well as information sent to all guests prior to arrival. We do this so that guests are made aware of the guidelines before arrival, and reminded at check in. One thing I would like to mention is the point raised about staff wearing masks. All food & drink handlers are wearing masks or face visors, this has been enforced since the business reopened. Again we have some members of staff who can’t wear a facial covering. Now like many well known companies & hotel chains, we are not operating a challenge policy. This is to protect those who can’t wear a mask for reasons that are not always clearly visible. I’d like to repeat that I do respect that your review is based on the experience you have had whilst with us. My reply is in no way meant to be argumentative or defensive, but with many still scared to travel I felt it was important to clarify some of the measures we have put in place to meet the COVID Secure guidelines. In line with these guidelines we have received our COVID Secure accreditation from Visit Britain. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
raymondcaplen88 wrote a review Aug 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived early & were able to find a parking spot in the large car park (Be aware the spaces are very tight).
Our room was ready so we were able to check in early, however when explaining the hotel policies the check in clerk explained that due to Covid regulations if we required clean towels we need to place them outside our door where they will be exchanged for clean ones, when querying this we were also told that our room would not be serviced for the period of our stay, & my wife asked if we were expected to make our own beds & tidy the room ourselves his reply left us speechless as he rudely replied" Do you have a problem with that".
The room was spacious, clean & the bed was very comfy.
The evening meal was just OK, but the breakfast very good.
Bistro food & bar service very good & reasonably priced.
Apart from the Jacuzzi jets not working the rest of the Spa & pool facilities were very good & the Spa staff were excellent.
I would stay again but on a bed & breakfast basis only as there are lots of nice places to eat out at (Plan ahead as most of them are fully booked ).
We visited the Bar /Cafe next to the pitch & putt course in the evening as they were serving food & had live music & a DJ & the place was buzzing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Facey, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Hi raymondcaplen88, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I was at the desk as you checked in, so in my colleagues defence after you said "I have to make my own bed" his words were "are you not ok to make your own bed in the mornings" not quite the "do you have a problem with that" but from what I remember after talking with you days after you seemed to enjoy the rest of your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert L wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to covid we had a hard time finding any decent rooms, at a reasonable price. We managed to get a 1 bed apartment at TLH Carlton, but at £150/night on a self-catering basis it felt quite poor value compared to the quality that is offered on our usual overseas trips.

The apartment had everything we needed for self-catering except washing up liquid, so we had to buy some to wash the dishes, and real shampoo/conditioner/body soap, they supply some all in one shower gel which is a budget option.

The apartment is old, carpeted, a bit of mould on the bathroom ceilings and could really do with a complete renovation. It was a good size for 2 adults, 5 year old and 2 year old. The double bed was ok but the mattress on the single bed was terrible and all you felt were springs. I didn’t dare look to see how old it was but it was well used let’s say. The floors and walls are terribly thin and you can hear noises, doors banging and footsteps.

We liked the indoor pool which was great for toddlers/babies. Also, they had the outdoor playground. It’s a good location for walking to the seafront but some hills are quite steep so a bit of a workout to push two children up in a stroller.

We stayed just after the August bank holiday, mid-week and there was always several parking spaces available. The spaces are marked a bit haphazardly and turning could be difficult but I didn’t think they were too tight for my estate car, no worse than my local supermarket.

All the staff we interacted with were friendly.

Overall, would not stay again given the poor state of the apartment and perceived poor value.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Dear reviewer, The rate quoted in your review of £150 per night remains one of the lowest in the area and for 2 adults and two children this seems pretty good value. Your review states that you found it hard to find a decent room at a reasonable rate. That is what we offer, before you then consider the value of the rest of our 7.5 acre resort and facilities that you are able to use as part of that rate. We know that many have missed their oversea break this year and we also hope that you are able to take one next year. Not because we don’t want you back, but because we also desire the World gets back to some sort of normal. We wish you well and thank you for your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
looby wrote a review Jul 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed at this hotel recently as last minute break away and read some good reviews about this hotel chain, we originally wanted to stay at the Derwent but it didn't open until the Friday and we wanted to go away from the Thursday evening. For what we paid we were very disappointed in the room we were given, there was no fridge in the room and due to the Corona Virus we would of thought there would of been antibacterial hand wash in the bathroom. The bed was very uncomfortable, we needed to sleep on the top on the bed as you could feel the springs in the bed if bedding pulled back. The hotel itself was clean and the staff were very good and very helpful. The breakfast was much better in the restaurant when it opened than what we had in the Bistro bar downstairs but we understand the hotel had been running on limited staff at the time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Moody, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi there hay098 and thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent holiday with us. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find the room to be at the standard you expected. If we are made aware of issues we will always try and resolve them during your stay. I appreciate the kind words about the team, at the moment they are working harder than they ever have and they will be happy to hear these kind words. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the future in one of our TLH hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen R wrote a review Aug 2021
Beaufort, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I stayed at the hotel for 6 out of 7 nights. First impressions from outside look good but when inside very dated & lacklustre in places. Our room was overlooking pool which was lovely. It was clean & we knew there would not be the usual daily housekeeping changes & cleaning due to Covid. We were able to request extra tea, coffee & milk at reception, which they gave us no problem there. Hated asking for toilet rolls however. Silly really as we all need them!
Quite a good selection of food at breakfast but cold when it came to eating it.
The evening meal menu was very nice in all fairness. The staff worked hard & were very pleasant.
Outside the bistro very unkempt, the patio really needs a good pressure washer clean on it.
I didn’t use the spa which did look very nice, but quite busy most of the time.
Evening entertainment ok if you could get a seat early enough. Some lovely lounge areas to sit & read at the Carlton and other adjoining hotels. I was very disappointed the Aztec shop was closed but says it will be opening soon. My main bug bear was the room was very hot all the time, no air conditioning at all.
We had the fan on all night & slept on top of bed. I could not fault any of the staff, they are a credit.
I don’t know if I would return to this hotel as it does need a lot of TLC & upgrading.

Torquay, Paignton , Babbacombe & Brixham lovely to visit too. Lot of nice walks but hilly in places.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The ferry to Brixham quite enjoyable and reasonably priced at £7.50 each return. Avoid the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Facey, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Hi 17EileenR Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent break with us at the TLH Carlton Hotel, as I've mentioned in previous reviews we have an on-going maintenance programme that we are working through to ensure that all rooms and public areas are to the standards that we expect. Overall I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julian M wrote a review Feb 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a weekend stay, with our church, at this lovely hotel. We had sole [excuse the pun!] use of the hotel, with a room for our churchy things and another for our youth groups.
The accommodation is superb, very spacious, clean and well laid out. Serviced daily.
We had use of the pool and hot tub/Jacuzzi and shared it with other people from outside and the three other hotels in the complex. There are two pools. The big one is divided up for serious lane swimmers and the rest for general swimmers. The smaller one is for younger children and their parents. There are always two lifeguards on duty, each supervising one of the pools. No one under 16 is allowed in without an adult, who should be in the pool or sitting on the side, on the ample seats and benches. Lockers are provided for your belongings/clothes and you pay £1 for each towel you need, for the entire length of your stay. Very good, spacious communal changing cubicles.
The food in the restaurant was superb. Lovely choice of meals and, if you have special dietary requirements, the chef will cater for you separately. The table service was excellent and the waiters and waitresses were so willing to make sure your every need was seen to with good humour and grace. Several of our party have special dietary and physical needs but nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. Many thanks.
There are several other facilities in the complex, which we did not use, but everything seemed well organised. [i.e. indoor bowls; tenpin bowling; slot machines; snooker. In the summer there are outside pools and play-areas for the children].
There is ample allocated parking and you are in easy reach of the town centre and seafront.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Hi Candy575, Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words on our Trip Advisor page - we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to read that you and your group had such a great stay at the TLH Carlton Hotel and by the sounds of it, enjoyed all the aspects from our staff to the facilities. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you and the others back in the future for another great time away. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DH123 wrote a review Oct 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself ,my partner and her mum have stayed at the Carlton many times over the years and thought we would give it a try since the new covid measures were put in place.
I have to say we were very impressed with everyone at the hotel.
The receptionist Vivien who we have not come across before was outstanding
her excellent customer service skills and pleasant and friendly personality put our stay off to a good start by resolving a small issue with great patience.

The restuarant manager I'm sorry we didn't get his name was excellent overseeing that his operation ran smoothly and safely with tables and chairs being wiped down after use,

His staff obviously like and respect him as they were all happy and dedicated despite the new changes including wearing a mask while serving guest at their tables

The owners and management have obviously worked hard and it shows so well done to everyone at the Carlton we will definitely return again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Facey, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 17 Dec 2020
Hi DH12345677 Thank you for posting your very complimentary review of your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations on this occasion and I will certainly be sharing your comments with (Jay) and the team who do enjoy hearing that their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah F wrote a review Sept 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I liked this place, the facilities were good, the staff were fantastic apart from the guy who did the quiz and children's entertainment, who let his mask slip when he hit my 4 year old daughters hand away making her cry when she went to choose another 2p packet of sweets he was handing out, I can only guess it was because he thought she was picking 2, which I can't understand what the big deal of that would have been anyway, they cost nothing. It was evident he wasn't that kind behind the 'comedy' act, and should not be working with children.

As other people have reviewed the overall cleanliness was not great, however I reviewed them on Google about the grubby state of the windows especially on the doors which was quite gross, as it looked like days of not cleaning not just from heavy use. After I left the review there was an improvement, like someone had read it and was doing something about it. This place is heavily used I would say it needs cleaning continuously to stay on top not just at the beginning of the day, the toilet got in quite a horrible state towards the end of the day.

The facilities did the job, I did not use the spa, but the pool side sauna, steam and jacuzzi were good, the only thing was someone had been heavy handed with the cholerine in the jacuzzi and eucalyptus in the steam, there were overwhelming.

For me I would not want to stay there again just off the back of the nights sleep I had, the walls are very thin and there is nothing to stop doors banging, so you are at the mercy of other guest not being loud and inconsiderate to get a decent nights sleep, which for a resort that caters to groups and families is a gamble. And there is no night reception, only a number for assistance.

The parking was ok I found a space although I saw a lot of people not, and it was quite tight again for a resort that caters for families they could make the spaces a bit wider.

The breakfast and evening food was good, no queues, in the morning and again the staff were great, the biggest let down for me was the ordering at the bar system they had for getting food and drinks by the pool. The queue was always so long, and as someone that was not attached to a group it was hard to set up at s table and then have to leave it while I waited at the bar for 30 mins when tables outside were lacking, there was a chance it would have been gone by the time I got back. Table service would be a lot better, the music in the outside area was so loud there was no way you could relax.

I ended up checking out and staying somewhere else, this was really not my cup of tea. But if you are looking for somewhere loud you'll be ok. My 4 year old was 100% catered for, it fell short for me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Relations TLH, Owner at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2022
Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you liked the overall experience and that you felt your daughter was catered for but we are of course disappointed you didn’t sleep well during your stay with us. The TLH Carlton Hotel has a team of lounge cleaners between the hours of 10am – 2pm and we have porters on site to continue spot check cleaning as needed. We are glad to read that you felt you have seen improvements upon a previous visit. It’s great to read that you found our facilities adequate. The water in the pools and Jacuzzi is tested every 2 hours on-site as well as by an external company on a regular basis, so we are always monitoring the quality and hygiene. It is of course disappointing to read that you did not sleep well. The summer holidays have just come to a close which is obviously a busy period for us, hence the queues are longer than usual and more guests passing through. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We do hope you choose to return, perhaps during a quieter period of the year to suit you better. Warm regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn W wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just left this lovely little Oasis of calm having stayed for a bridge holiday. All the staff were fabulous from the cleaners constantly cleaning the handrails and lift to the reception, bar, waiters and kitchen staff who all made us feel so comfortable and well cared for. Thank you all of you. You are an amazing team. Your employers are lucky to have you all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Facey, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Hi lynnwl5192UI Thank you for you positive review of your recent stay with us, we always look forward to the bridge groups staying and hopefully you’ll be back again next year. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, all the best and hope to see you soon. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul P asked a question Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions9 helpful votes
Can you get to the starlight lounge from carlton hotel undercover
alistair f asked a question Aug 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi can the hotel cater for a gluten free diet many thanks
Answer from archere
Barnstaple, United Kingdom103 contributions58 helpful votes
Yes but only if you let them know in advance if you want to eat from set food provided in pre paid meals. There is a gluten free menu in the Bistro (which I believe is on their website) so you can eat there.
piggies06 asked a question Feb 2021
Chatham, United Kingdom91 contributions29 helpful votes
Hello, how much is breakfast and do you have to book?
Answer from Goodwalkers
Cambridge, United Kingdom16 contributions24 helpful votes
Breakfast is included. And you need to book the evening before.
justr2013 asked a question Oct 2020
Penzance, United Kingdom78 contributions16 helpful votes
Staying nearby can I buy breakfast at the hotel
Answer from Luke F
Torquay, United Kingdom
Hi justr2013 Yes we are open to non residents for breakfast. I would advise calling in advance to book. Thanks.
Tara asked a question Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, how far is the closest beach? Many thanks
Plymouth, United Kingdom215 contributions106 helpful votes
It's a nine minute walk to Torre Abbey Sands.
Rose W wrote a tip May 2024
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to explore the area, get details of bus, local train and ferry services and plan your day. "
Read full review
tony s wrote a tip Mar 2024
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spa gets busy so need to book "
Read full review
StephenHavill wrote a tip Jan 2024
Torquay, United Kingdom28 contributions55 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car parking is poor and expensive, I think the hotel has been taken in by the “cars are evil brigade”."
Read full review
Katherine P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely hotel overall, within walking distance of the town, great facilities, weather deal is well worth it!!"
Read full review
Hils wrote a tip Nov 2023
United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think twice about booking this venue"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TLH CARLTON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about TLH Carlton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Torre Abbey (0.2 miles), Jungle Journey Adventure Golf (0.2 miles), and South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indi-Yang, Bull & Bush, and The Noble Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TLH Carlton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is TLH Carlton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Torquay.
Does TLH Carlton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at TLH Carlton Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Polish, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to TLH Carlton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.2 miles) and Friends Of Oldway (2.0 miles).
Is TLH Carlton Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Torquay HotelsTorquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorquayHotels near TLH Carlton Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire