We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ashleigh House

Certificate of Excellence
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ashleigh House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Ashleigh House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the first time I've been on holiday without my husband, who normally takes the lead with travelling and bookings etc. We shared out the 3 kids between us and set off in opposite directions. Having organised our trip and navigated there in one go (God bless Satnavs!) we were very warmly greeted by our hosts and the gorgeous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely couple of days at Ashleigh house.Very friendly and helpful.Lovely breakfast with lots of options.The location is great very near town.Looking forward to another visit next time we vist Torquay.Oscar the dog is such a character such a lovely dog who gives you a very warm welcome.Thanks to everyone at Ashleigh house for making our stay great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review Amanda. David and I enjoy our jobs here at Ashleigh House and I am glad that our efforts produce the right result and that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time away with our dog and we were made to feel very welcome. Oscar the dog made friends with our dog :) The rooms are very clean and lovely breakfast, it is situated in a very good location and parking was easy , you are given a parking permit when you arrive. If we are in Torquay again we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind review Dave. We do welcome guests and their dogs and try to make all feel at home. Oscar is always pleased to meet new canine friends too. Parking can be a problem in Torquay but we have Residents Only parking which, whilst a permit is required to park in Meadfoot Lane it does give...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This is just a very nice place to stay. Breakfast is very nice and you can tailor it to suit your appitite. Clean, quiet and very comfortable. If you have a problem with stairs ask for a room on the first floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Alan and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Three of our four rooms are located on the second floor so, yes, anyone with mobility problems might want to consider the family room on the first floor. It's always worth a phone call if you have any particular...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Loved our stay ...room was lovely ...but found a problem with the bathroom ...as i suffer from confined spaces ...:( not their problem ...mine ) Very welcoming ...I would recommend ..and will definitley stay again ..... Maybe different room! my phobia not theirs ....But loved it ....Breakfast is to die for ....be prepared to be set up for the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank looloolorraine
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review Lorraine. The en-suite in each room is slightly different and the family rooms have larger en-suites. We do get many comments regarding the breakfast with most saying that no lunch was needed after my 'full English'. We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Midlands
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We only stayed for one night, but what a lovely place this was. We were made to feel so welcome as soon as we entered the house. The breakfast was huge as well as being tasty. I would recommend this B and B to anyone. Just a five minute walk to the harbour so well placed for sight seeing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsToffee_man
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this excellent review. We aim for 'small and friendly' and I am glad we did the job right. Ashleigh House is very well placed for seeing everything that Torquay has to offer without using a car. I hope that we will see you again.

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 27 September 2016

It's great to arrive at a guesthouse for the first time and immediately know you've stumbled upon a little gem amongst the many stones. You can tell from the moment your first greeted at the door that the owner(s) place a lot of pride in how they present themselves and the guesthouse to visitors. A note in the welcome book...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David O
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review David. It was a delight to meet you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. You have picked up on a very important point........this is our home and we want to make our guests feel like friends rather than visitors. I'm sorry that you couldn't take Oscar home but that is because...

Wales
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A warm welcome awaits you at this excellent B&B in Torquay. The house is beautiful and the breakfast is absolutely fabulous. Would definitely stay there again. Parking is free with a parking permit supplied by Dawn. Easy walk into the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leopardloverWales
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. I am very pleased that we ticked all the boxes so that you would be happy to return. Could not ask for a better result.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel is spotlessly clean, bedding and room cleaned daily. Our family was made so welcome by owners and Oscar the dog. Best breakfast we have ever had . Would highly recommend a holiday at this hotel . 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heaphys
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. You have highlighted the areas where David and I work the hardest and we are very pleased that you were satisfied with the results. Hope to see you all again.

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Cannot recommend this guest house enough. Dawn and Dave were extremely good hosts. Nice to be able to take our dog with us as they take pets. Lovely clean and spacious family room. Great breakfast which filled us up for the day. Had parking permit so we could stay outside the accommodation. Short walk to the harbour and town centre....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review Tracy. David and I work hard to make a welcoming atmosphere and really enjoy meeting and chatting to people. We have found that more and more people are choosing to bring their dog away with them and we have had very few problems accommodating them. Oscar (our very own friendly pet) is delighted to...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 89 in Torquay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
737 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashleigh House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bloody good value ...you will not be disappointed ....But I needed a bigger bathroom ,....:( but that is me ..X”
 of 5 bubbles looloolorraine, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your room is on the third floor and your taller than 6"1' mind your head at the top of the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles davidoN621LB, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are superb !!”
 of 5 bubbles RonB903, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not suitable for very disabled persons. If you can manage climbing stairs, then this is the place for you.”
 of 5 bubbles SamieMughal, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor room 6”
 of 5 bubbles d0minicc, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates