Orestone Manor
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Orestone Manor

Rock House Lane Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX England
Traveller (410)
Panorama of the 1920s Four Poster Room at The Orestone Manor
360
Panoramas (12)
What a view
Room & Suite (337)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#14 of 81 hotels in Torquay
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The country house hotel by the sea. Orestone Manor is an independent, family-run country house hotel. The magnificent manor house is set in the pretty South Devon coastal village of Maidencombe, with spectacular sea views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Rock House Lane Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX England
939Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 781
  • 122
  • 28
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Victoria D wrote a review Feb 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from four nights at Orestone Manor staying on a "Gourmet" break booked via a third party website. This meant we ate in the hotel's restaurant every night and I'm so glad we did! The food was absolutely wonderful, well presented and the choice was fantastic - it was so hard to decide as it all looked so appetising. We had such a warm welcome and the service during our whole stay was incredible, friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the first floor, well decorated and had everything to make you feel comfortable and a great view of the sea in the middle distance. The bathroom was huge with a lovely roll top bath. We had an unfortunate experience on our last night due to some inconsiderate guests in the next room playing music and being generally noisy until after 3am. I think this was not at all typical behaviour of guests in this type of hotel, which up until that point had been quiet and peaceful, but the management spoke to them and then offered us their beautiful four poster bedroom for the rest of the night which was unaffected by the noise. They even sent up our breakfast to our room the next morning for no extra charge so we didn't have to rush down to breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here if you enjoy being utterly spoilt and are looking for a complete break from everything. Thank you everyone at Orestone Manor!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jopumpkin wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York43 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After booking a package hot tub room break dinner bed and breakfast offer through off peak luxury we couldn’t wait!

And we were not disappointed.

We were allocated the private garden room one of three hot tub accommodations. It was like a little purpose built extension to the property with an entrance through a private gate. Stunning views of the sea, a private patio with hot tub and seating then into and a four poster room with a large bathroom. There was shower over double ended bath and double sink and obviously a toilet. A small room separated the bedroom to bathroom with a coffee machine and various teas a biscuits and a mini fridge complimentary bottles of water and our inclusive offer of a bottle of Prosecco ( option for cream tea for two if preferred)

The accommodation was very 19th century grand tour styling as though staying in the home of well traveled aristocrats!

Dinner was very covid safe and the food was amazing we did pay a supplement for some of our food to the a la Carte options and well worth it.
We had Two small pots of Canapés at the table. And coffee and after dinner petit fours chocolates again as part of our deal.
A 3 course option if a resident was £28.95 per person.
Special thanks to Laura and the rest of the staff for being a perfect hosts we do hope to return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah R wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for your hard work to keep everyone comfortable and safe during these challenging times. Our room was spotlessly clean and there was every opportunity to have tea, coffee, water and toiletries replenished on a daily basis in a totally safe manner. The food and service was superb, in fact it was so good we didn’t leave the hotel for any of our main meals. We’d like to give Craig a special mention who made us feel so special, nothing was too much trouble. Sarah and Lee (Barry Island)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike E wrote a review Sept 2020
Fareham, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience in a quiet location a few miles from Torquay. We stayed in a Delux Room (Room 3) which had a sea view. The room was tastfully decorated and furnished to reflect a manor house . It was very spacious with a large bed and a seating area . The on suite contained his and hers washbasin, bath and shower and another door led to a toilet, bidet and washbasin. The covid 19 arrangements were all in place and easy to follow. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The jewel in the crown was the food which was outstanding.

Without question would happily return again. A great find.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil D'Allen, Owner at Orestone Manor
Responded 13 Sept 2020
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Room 3 is a particular favourite. I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Mar 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so impressed by the location and friendliness of the hotel. We arrived on Saturday, the room exceeded our expectations and everyone we met couldn't do enough to help us, from showing us to our room to leaving us to relax by the fire in the evening.

The location is perfect for walks along the footpath to the beach and the setting is perfectly tranquil. Great service at breakfast and a lovely freshly cooked food. Can't find any faults, we wish we were back there. sitting by the window watching the sea!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We loved the deluxe double room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Babb wrote a review Aug 2020
Andwell, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There was no comfort here, it’s a 1830s building in an idyllic situation. The Gourmet 2 night stay we booked was certainly misdescribed. The dining room staff were unfriendly, even hostile, to the point of rudeness. We paid £581 for 2 nights, midweek, bed breakfast and evening meal, we felt ripped off. I did complain to the hotel via my booking agent. The reply was untruthful and unpleasant with no suggestion that they would try and improve.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil D'Allen, Owner at Orestone Manor
Responded 22 Aug 2020
We were wondering when we would get this review. It is a shame our industry suffers from professional complainers. We do not believe any staff member was rude or unprofessional towards you. We have no record of this and when asked for details you refused to give any either by phone or email. Without any information of a complaint we wold not give a refund. Our Staff are clearly trained, professional, polite people or our reviews would show otherwise. To us this is the hall marks of a professional complainer. You did not complain while you were staying. When we refused to refund you any money you posted this review. For anybody reading this the customer in question booked through a third party offer resulting in over a £100 saving compared to our normal rates. The room they had was Room Six pictured on our website. This large room includes private sheltered balcony, roll top bath, twin sinks, separate shower, casual seating. It is one of our most admired rooms. Their deal also included for both days a 3 course meal in our award winning restaurant to include coffee and petit four to finish. Full continental and cooked breakfast and an arrival drink of their choice. Our hotel is a country house hotel by the sea in the beautiful South Devon countryside. We have numerous reviews detailing the professional and attentive service given by our staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
685inky66 wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom246 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 glorious nights in the outdoor hot tub garden suite at this hotel for a post lockdown trip. The room was lovely, with private outdoor terrace with a beautiful view through lovely garden to the sea. The jacuzzi was hot, large and relaxing. We appreciated that we could use it without jets for a quiet and tranquil soak during the day and star gazing at night. We absolutely loved the private terrace, which was well set up with two tables and various chairs, two loungers, and of course the hot tub. With shrubbery and trees, and fenced off from the hotel garden it felt well separated and very private. We also spotted some owls from the communal garden. 

We had breakfast and dinner inclusive package, a three course meal every night and were impressed with the food and choices. The menu had a few options which changed each evening, and all of the food was good quality, well prepared and thoroughly enjoyable. The fillet steak was extremely juicy and tender, fresh fish was flavourful and every meal we had brought smiles to our faces. 

All the staff were really nice and polite and we found the service to be be good without being overbearing. The location is a small village, with a couple of walks to the beach directly from the door. You could also take a drive, from a few minutes to an hour, to get to the RSPB reserve or to the East or South Devon areas of outstanding natural beauty which are well worth visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
keironbedford wrote a review Oct 2023
Cheltenham, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here from 6th Oct to 9th Oct on an 3 for 2 night deal.
Hotel location is down a track from a very sharp exit off a main road, not ideal but main hotel is clean with free parking, about a 7 minute drive from Torquay.
Reception and bar staff very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a deluxe suite with jacuzzi, separate from the hotel, went to use the Jacuzzi but found it had quite a few hairs floating and dirt inside it, there is a £50 charge if you want it draining and fresh water adding so we didn't use it, decking around it was dirty due to it being October I suppose but could benefit from a jet wash, the pictures on the website show new decking but this must have been from installation.
WIFI in suite terrible, not too bothered about this but the TV's work off this and constantly kept losing connection.
Mood lighting in the suite but could not get it to go back to normal lighting so we had to get the staff to reset it, remote has no instructions and not user friendly at all, battery cover fixed with blue tack!
Our suite was never swept or hoovered throughout our stay as they were bits all over the floor, underfloor heating in bedroom did not work, yes we did have it switched on but it never came on.
We booked a meal in the restaurant for the first night and went outside for a quick drink but was ushered back in by the waiting staff as we were told we had to be sitting at the table for the correct time we booked, we could understand this if the restaurant was full but there were only 4 tables eating. Food was nice but overpriced, we have eaten better food for less at restaurants. We ate out for the remainder of the stay.
Hotel is very quiet and seems to cater for the older generation, I read a review on here earlier before we booked and dismissed it but it was mainly 60s plus with no atmosphere really. We think the hotel needs bringing up to a more modern era keeping with the times. Breakfast was ok, my wife sent her poached eggs back as her plate was full of water where they were not drained, no apple juice and had to ask for it, didn't eat breakfast on the third morning as it was just mediocre with again no atmosphere. Breakfast staff not really engaging, just there to do a job.
Overall we were satisfied with the stay as we had 3 nights for the price of 2 but if we had paid full price then it would not be value for money, it didn't blow us away as we first thought when booking. It is more of a place for the older generation and for this reason we would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are a family or not elderly then I would avoid, as said earlier it's mainly elderly people...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Orestone Manor Reception, General Manager at Orestone Manor
Responded 20 Oct 2023
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Just because you were on an offer this should not have effected the quality of your stay. All our hot tubs are drained, cleaned and refilled between each stay. My only thought is some dirt may have been caught in the pump and discharged on a cycle. The £50 charge is outlined in our information book. It does not apply if your not happy with the quality of the hot tub on check in. It is there for guests who make the hot tub dirty through wearing self tan spray or adding bubbles to the hot tub as examples. If we were informed we would have simply changed your room for you. The decking is swept and maintained. It has stained with age. In the quieter seasons they are jet washed on a day we are closed to the public. We will be installing some alternative flooring for this reason. Something we have trialed in our other coach house suite. The mood lighting should be explained on check in. You do not have to use the remote control but simply use the light switch. An information sheet is being added to the room. The back of the remote control does work with out the blue tack but it is a precaution. It had been dropped a couple of times on the hard floor with the result of the battery cover being separated from the remote control. The underfloor heating is working. I am not sure what has happened with it on your stay but we would have loved to have helped at the time. Your room was house kept but I can only apologize if it was not hoovered or swept. This is not standard practice and I am disappointed it was not done. You booked the first restaurant time slot of the evening. When you entered the restaurant there would have been only four tables present. Over the course of the evening we served 30 people. We space the times because we have a small kitchen team that serve freshly cooked food. We could have given you a later table but this would have been an hour from you original time. I am sorry if this was not offered to you. The table was yours for the evening we do not turn tables. We do not serve apple juice on our breakfast table. We serve freshly squeezed orange juice. If you ask we will provide. I am sorry if your cooked breakfast was not up to our normal high standard. It is the time of year when we do have some older clientele after the children go back to school. Though we do have and cater for all ages. In conclusion your stay was not up to our usual high standards. We would have loved to rectify these issues for you while you were here. It should have been right from the start but we could have rectified this for you. I hope you do consider us again in the future at a time of year that would more suite you. Please do not hesitate to get in touch and we will apply an offer but with the usual high quality the Orestone has to offer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Oct 2020
Staffordshire, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a last minute stay for our wedding anniversary, due to our holiday being cancelled abroad. This hotel did not disappoint us, we settled in really quickly, felt covid safe and had a superb short break. Very clean, very professional staff and the food for the 3 nights we booked was exemplary - the crab martini, steaks, chowder, fillet plaice all cooked to perfect... rounded off with a reasonable priced bottle of quality wine.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin S wrote a review Oct 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall enjoyed our stzy. The food was the highlight. Our room was very small, but given the price we paid perhaps this was not surprising. The hotel was making great efforts to be Covid xecure, which was appreciated, but the restrictions in relation to bad use seemed a bit OTT.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Daisyki
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Try in the morning!
gembo33 asked a question Feb 2020
14 contributions8 helpful votes
How far is it to Torquay town centre? How much would a taxi be? Thanks
Answer from Coseley
Teignmouth, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
5 miles probably. And yes a taxi may be expensive,but there maybe a bus tat goes near to it.
Sootie1 asked a question May 2019
18 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi are you dog friendly ?
Answer from orestone
torquay15 contributions
Dogs are more than welcome in the conservatory, lounge and outside terrace area.
chris b asked a question Aug 2018
Rainham152 contributions41 helpful votes
How much is breakfast if you book room only deal?
Answer from sgalty
Bowdon, United Kingdom123 contributions77 helpful votes
We had half-board arrangement, but I suspect about £12-15 per head. Cooked breakfast was good, buffet disappointing in range and quality. Nowhere local to walk to for breakfast, so I would think you would need to drive to breakfast places....
Angela D asked a question Jul 2017
London, United Kingdom208 contributions30 helpful votes
How far is this hotel from the Rivera lodge hotel in Torquay. Thxs
Answer from DawlishAK
34 contributions11 helpful votes
It won't be far. A few miles. It is on the road between Torquay and Teignmouth,
ROS B wrote a tip 10 May
15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic cooked breakfasts"
Read full review
Nicola R wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking fine, can miss turning into Rd - it’s a single track type rd."
Read full review
ROS B wrote a tip Oct 2023
15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the peace and quiet in the most comfortable of boutique hotels and the excellent cuisine"
Read full review
keironbedford wrote a tip Oct 2023
Cheltenham, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a family or not elderly then I would avoid, as said earlier it's mainly elderly people staying with little atmosphere."
Read full review
Wendy R wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A del-luxe room is well worth having we had Room 4"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the orestone hotel torquay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Orestone Manor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORESTONE MANOR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Orestone Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Orestone Manor?
Nearby attractions include Devon Escape (4.2 miles), Babbacombe Theatre (1.6 miles), and Kents Cavern (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Orestone Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Orestone Manor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Orestone Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Orestone Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Waddling Duck At Hamiltons, Small World Tapas, and The Blue Hut.
Are there any historical sites close to Orestone Manor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (2.8 miles), Friends Of Oldway (4.5 miles), and Bradley Manor (4.7 miles).
Does Orestone Manor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Torquay HotelsTorquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorquayHotels near Orestone Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire