We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aveland House

Aveland House Aveland Road Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 54 guest houses in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Aveland House is a beautiful guest house in Babbacombe, Torquay,Devon. Just a short walk to Babbacombe sea front, FREE WI-FI throughout your stay. Free on road parking (sometimes restricted on match days). Come & enjoy breathtaking views, glorious beaches, the golf course, coastal path walks & our wonderful tourist attractions like Kents Kavern, Babbacombe Model Village or the Cliff Railway!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling
Diving
Adults only
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Golf course
Hiking
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
Croatian, German
201Reviews1Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 32
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Getaway15401576082 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Aveland house was lovely, it was really clean , the hosts were great nothing was too much trouble,the beds were really comfortable,and breakfast was delicious. My niece left her phone charger behind and Jacque was kind enough to send the charger back home free of charge.Aveland house is in a brilliant situation for visiting Devon we will definitely be back again thank you Jacque and David
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Exploration690357 wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
My Auntie and I came to stay for the night to visit some family in the local area. I must say we had the most pleasant stay here. Everything was provided and both hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful. We were served a delicious breakfast with some very unique and tasty jams and marmalade. We loved the decor and warm atmosphere of our stay and will definitely be returning in the near future. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 4 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review we look forward to seeing you both again next time you visit Babbacombe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rob and Jackie wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is one of the best places we've stayed, Jacqui and David are genuinely friendly and very helpful, our room and the whole of the guest house was spotless, breakfast was lovely, it's only a 10 min walk to the sea front We could not find any faults, we will defiantly re-book, We highly recommend Aveland House, once again thank you both for helping us have a lovely weekend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Thank you Robert & Jackie for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Babbacombe . The weather was so good and I know you visited many places in the area . We look forward to seeing you again when you come to Devon .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann C wrote a review Aug 2019
Derby, United Kingdom11 contributions15 helpful votes
We originally booked one night at this B & B and we enjoyed our stay so much we booked an extra night. The owners Jacquie and David made us feel very welcome, their customer service was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble for them, the whole building was spotlessly clean, the bed and the room was very comfortable with good quality bedding, towels and toiletries as well as very nice beverages and biscuits. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. Overall we would be happy to stay here again and would be very happy to recommend Aveland House to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 17 Aug 2019
Thank you for your lovely review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to see you again next year . Hope the wedding plans go well and you have a lovely happy day .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Niek F wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
Good single room with all the required facility and shower ./ toilet en-suite. Very friendly host, who took all the time to show me around and inform me about where to shop and eat in Babbacombe. Also there was a nice TV lounge. Excellent English breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room at the back are quite, but view from the window is not special
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Thank you for taking time to post your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us . You were so lucky with the weather for your walking . Hope to see you again when you are walking this way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stephen m wrote a review Jul 2019
Walsall, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
What can I add to the long list of praise for this excellent Hotel. We were met by Jacqui who welcomed us with a much needed cup of tea & coffee after our journey from the Midlands. After a brief chat we were shown our room and settled in. We were a party of four occupying two rooms. Breakfast was superb. We had the full English with all the trimmings. Nothing was too much trouble. All our needs were catered for. The hotel was spotless and we were well looked after. We had a good tour around in our four day stay visiting Torquay & Brixham but we found Babbercome to be just what we were looking for. Clean beaches, good pubs & restaurants serving good food at decent prices. We love the South West and will return, and if Jaqui & Dave are still running this place we would be happy to return. Thank you both for your warm welcome and your hospitality. All the best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 1 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was really nice to meet all of you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly visited a lot of places in the area during your four day stay and the weather was so good too ! We hope to see you all again next time you are in the South West. Best wishes to you all. Kind regards Jacqui
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gurdeep B wrote a review Jul 2019
Enfield, United Kingdom27 contributions22 helpful votes
We were underwhelmed by our stay. After walking the Coastal Path all day, feeling exhausted, we were moved from one room to another because the shower did not work. The room was small, with barely enough room for our luggage and the price for bed and breakfast did not feel good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 1 Aug 2019
I am so sorry you felt you had to give us a bad review due to you having to be moved once to another room as you were unable to use the shower, these things do happen from time to time. The room you were moved to was a smaller room but plenty of room for your 2 large suitcases cases which were delivered earlier in the day, along with your backpacks. As you were only with us for a one night stay I can understand that you did not want to unpack and put the suitcases away which obviously restricted your movement in the room. We do always try to accommodate South West Coastal Path Walkers with one night stays throughout the summer months. On leaving you did say that you had enjoyed your stay, especially your breakfast and that everything else had been fine. We know that we do give good value for money by our repeat business and our excellent reviews on this site. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. I
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ablingdon wrote a review Jul 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia163 contributions108 helpful votes
If you see my other reviews, you will see I was caught short in Babbacombe after having a horrible time at another place. However, despite extreme short notice, the lovely owners of this B&B welcomed my son and I in. We were greeted with tea and biscuits. The room was large and with very comfy beds. Breakfast was great - the best selection of jams ever!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark R wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
Very Friendly welcome with a nice cup of tea which was much appreciated after a long trip from Gatwick. Made space in garage for two motorbikes and very Biker friendly Short walk to sea front and selection of pubs/restaurants Enjoyed our stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Debbie P wrote a review Sept 2018
Oxford, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
We were very stressed and had driven miles to the only accommodation that had a room left at such short notice but Jacky and Dave were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble- room lovely and comfortable and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was great - will definitely be back next time we are in the area. Feel we have found a gem of a place. Can’t seem to click on the other ratings but whole heartedly give this place 5 stars for service, value and sleep quality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacquiavelandhouse, Owner at Aveland House
Responded 19 Sept 2018
Thank you for your review.so pleased you found us and that everything turned out well for you the next morning. Hope you are having a lovely time look forward to seeing you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVELAND HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Torquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about Aveland House
Which popular attractions are close to Aveland House?
Nearby attractions include Babbacombe (0.2 miles), Tessier Gardens (0.2 miles), and Plainmoor (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aveland House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a golf course.
What food & drink options are available at Aveland House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aveland House?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aveland House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bay Tree Cafe, Labrows Bistro Bar, and the usual plaice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aveland House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including German and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Aveland House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (1.2 miles) and Friends Of Oldway (3.1 miles).