We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Tor Park Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 81 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town Centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Although we do not have a bar, guests are welcome to bring their own alcohol and enjoy it in the comfort of our lounges and outdoor patio. We have a pool table and dart board for guests to enjoy during their stay. Our hotel is conveniently located near a train station, which is only a 5-minute walk away, and is also on a main bus route. We have ample park on two sites and free on street parking
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Car park
Free internet
Patio
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Public wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
757Reviews48Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 264
  • 291
  • 128
  • 50
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adelaide P wrote a review 4 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was unfortunatley put into to hotel under very bad circumstances from a dv relationship i entered the hotel and was placed i a room with very little to offer no working tv a kettle and dirty bed covers a broken window in the bathroom felt very vunurabal that night i went out for a smoke to find people out drinking and loud music i ressumed back to my room that night i managed an hours sleep due to being scared and people knocking on my door to sell drugs and wanting tobbaco after a few nights things did not improve my door lock was changed to digital and the system did not work so i would return back to my room of an evening to find my door open and empty bottles of alchol eventualy after a week i went to staff and was told i would have door fixed evently after me saying somethink to a member of staff due to people fighting and totally high i was removed by the council and said i was rude i have now been in travelodge and all is so much safer cleaner alchol and drug free and now suffering with more anxiety and issues im pleased to have been removed glad the council find people a lovely safe haven to deal with there issues
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Dont go here unless you have no self respect and want to have drugs and alchol as your stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Adelaide, your review is somewhat fabricated. Obviously, you hold a grudge as you were asked to leave the hotel due to your behaviour. The things you have reported are totally absurd and this review is just a vendetta against the hotel and staff. Unfortunately, I find your comments totally untrue and a mis representation of our hotel. You were looked after during your stay and now, due to you being asked to leave decide to hit back with lies. Very unfortunate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jay100chelsea wrote a review 4 Apr
1 contribution
Website stated they had entertainment and breakfast. I arrived on holiday with my 6yr old son to be told no entertaintment, no breakfast, no bar. Really put a downer to our plans. The rooms are ok pictures look alot nicer than they actally are. No soap provided and 1 loo roll in bathroom. Not a family stay hotel. The reception staff however was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jay100chelsea, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are perplexed regarding the website advertising entertainment, as we do not advertise that we have entertainment or a bar. Soap is provided in dispensers in all rooms and extra loo rolls are available. Rooms are serviced when requested.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian P wrote a review Mar 2024
Probus, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Wasn’t the hotel we booked Wasn’t impressed Was told the hotel we booked had a problem so were rebooked into the sister hotel tor park Was told we had an upgrade , we booked a double room was put in a twin ( upgrade). It was further away from the centre Was told it was a no smoking establishment yet the reception stank of smoke . Room although was clean (ish) look better than it actually was Beds were so rocky and un comfortable we took the bedding off and slept on the floor. I feel we were duped this hotel actually were offering rooms for less than we paid but no refund for the difference was offered
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking in the area not good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ian P, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate that you were relocated due to a fault at your original hotel and we apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We will investigate the comfort of the beds as mentioned.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jude B wrote a review Mar 2024
England, United Kingdom3 contributions
Not sure where to start with this one. Experience was terrible it felt more like a hostel than a hotel. When arriving we noticed that there was no restaurant and no breakfast until the fourth day when we saw a breakfast menu on the receptions desk. There was no communication that the hotel was having work done changing the locks on the room doors to digital which was heard all night by the loud disrespectful residences who party till early hours of the morning that seem to live at the hotel.Walls are paper thin so you have no chance to relax watch tv or even sleep. The hotel itself needs a lot of work doing it seems to be wasting away and not being used to its full potential the rooms were clean but it was questionable on how long they had cleaned it for. The only good thing about my experience is the staff that we had seen were nice but wouldn’t say they made an extra mile that other hotel staff do. Due to this experience we decided to check out early
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 863judeb, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise for the inconvenience you may have been caused by works being conducted to improve the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie V wrote a review Mar 2024
Helston, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a large party at the weekend. A good value hotel, clean with very nice staff. Plusses were huge bath towels and a full length mirror in the bedroom (so rare!) Negatives were no bar! There is lots of lounge area, the hotel is missing a trick, especially where there was a large group staying! Also, it would have been nice to be able to choose what breakfast items you got! I would have requested various items but instead was served all and so wasted some.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear juliev203, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your nice comments. We do not advertise a bar, however, guest are allowed to bring their own alcohol and use the facilities. Guests are allowed to choose what they have for breakfast, apologies if this was not conveyed to you correctly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lil P wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I said we are checking out soon and the guy said no you’re leaving now and then said you have 10 mins. So is it now or ten minutes Confusing. He came back less than 10 mins and said he was calling the police as we were ‘refusing’ to leave Which is lies
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: don’t leave too late they’ll threat
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear lilp184, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are confused regarding this review, as no mention has been made of why you were asked to leave.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
thomda wrote a review Dec 2023
Runcorn, United Kingdom288 contributions164 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this hotel in the 1980s and made a nostalgic return to see the place on a three night stay. This used to be a Shearing’s hotel and whilst it is very clean and tidy, the hotel is still very dated. There are a few free car parking spaces but plenty of spaces on the road too. It was really disappointing to find that wifi is only obtainable in the communal areas, not in bedrooms. It’s a must for so many people in this day and age. Now ran by H&H the hotel has dispensed with half board and charge for breakfast (currently they offer room only) but it does offer meals to order and snacks from reception. It was admitably winter, but the hotel was quite lifeless, no evening entertainment (maybe they do this in the peak season), but it does have a dart board and pool table. They operate a strict no smoking policy which is fine and letters in your room warn of a £150 fine for breaches of this. Whilst I don’t smoke, a welcoming letter in the room would have been a bit more inviting than a threat to fine. Breakfast is from 8am to 10am and I tried it only the one night, it was awful. I was told at reception whilst paying that the sausages were vegetarian so opted against, what arrived with not bacon at all but some sort of vegan streaky bacon. Tea and Coffee is served with plastic spoons and the entire setting for breakfast is not inviting at all. H&H have some learning to do to get right delivering a better hotel service, I stayed in 30 hotels this year, and the management were irritating, even though I had already paid they phone to ask if I was still coming, and then when I did check in, hours later I got a WhatsApp asking when I would be checking in…
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Stanley, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear thomda, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and we can assure you that improvements are now being made, along with extensive refurbishment. We have two sites to park your car with over twenty spaces available. We are pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi will be available throughout the hotel, we are removing the signs regarding smoking from the rooms, as we agree with your comments. We do not have entertainment anymore as we have moved on from the coaching holidays (it didn't work very well for Shearings). We are, also, reviewing our food offerings and our suppliers. Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dawny ♥️ wrote a review Sept 2023
246 contributions27 helpful votes
Good points near good bus service number 12 regular into town Newton Abbot Paignton and other areas quite regular about 1.30 to town centre or longer journey 2.00 each way..Parking not many spaces but road parking is available if u find a space.friendly staff comfortable bed and good pressure on the shower. however basin tap took ages to get hot had to run for few minutes.Lift not working and quite few stairs if on 2nd floor.tea and coffee kettle in room and big towels.However minimal Cleaning just about acceptable carpet looked clean but dusting non existent walls needed wiping down and radiators full of dust and bits.looks like only minimal cleaning done to most rooms. Due to this reason I didn't eat there.I would stay again if cleaning improved otherwise wouldn't want to risk it.walkable distance to Town centre about ten minutes to bottom of town
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check room before you pay try and get ground floor due to lift been out of action for a while...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Johnson, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Good evening. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Rest assured, our hotel is cleaned every day and is perfectly clean enough to eat in. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kayleigh I wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
This has been by far the most comfortable stay I've ever had! I suffer with mental health and anxiety and my two girls also suffer anxiety. All the staff made Me feel at home and made sure we had everything we required. One girl in particular Memphis was absolutely amazing! Made our stay even better. She is a credit to that hotel. She's only been working there a couple of months which shocked me, I thought she had worked there years! She brought both of my girls out of there shells and made them feel like they were at home at a very difficult time in our lives. We will forever be grateful for what she did for all of us during our stay! highly recommend this hotel to others and to be honest I didn't want to leave. Will 100% be returning 😊 thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Johnson, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Good evening, Kayleigh. Many thanks indeed for your excellent review. We all really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nick W wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
i requested a low floor due to our disabled sister in law..and was told there was none available.the lift was out of order which caused even more distress.rooms where very basic...we had to keep going to reception to ask for tea.coffee etc..and towells each day has they where not changed..bed was bumpy..parking was atrosious Parking quite a walk away when you have trouble walking.Breakfast wasnt buffet.tv in lounge no reception..only you tube etc..needs a complete refurb throughout
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Worst hotel we have stayed in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Johnson, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Good evening. Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering an exceptional service and value-for-money accommodation with many guests returning again and again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
£43 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tor park torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TOR PARK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Torquay)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tor Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include DT's (0.2 miles), The Boulder Bunker (0.09 miles), and Torquay military museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tor Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, baggage storage, and free public parking nearby.
Which room amenities are available at The Tor Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
Is parking available at The Tor Park Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indi-Yang, Bull & Bush, and The Noble Tree.
Is The Tor Park Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Torquay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.5 miles) and Friends Of Oldway (2.3 miles).
Is The Tor Park Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.