We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Forge at Totnes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Forge at Totnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Lovely garden, wonderful breakfast selection, 5 minute walk from town, quiet, and clean. My room was nice, but as most places in Totnes a bit overpriced. I think walls were a bit thin as I could hear people talking in their room. The high rate is the only thing keeping me from coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara2b
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Quite simple great. Cosy little accommodation in a lovely part of the world. Breakfast is out of the top drawer, everything about it was delightful and felt like it was prepared by a caring, and talented, family member. We were two couples there for two nights for a wedding and our hosts recommended a great local pub on Friday night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James R
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The Old Forge is an interesting historic building well situated for easy access to the town. Although we had a small room with no space for chairs it was adequate.It was clean and tidy well maintained. Yes there is some noise from adjoining rooms due to the old stud partioning but it was not excessive and we slept well on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This place was ok, but there was no welcome host or hostess, just an administrative hello and key given. No registration , no forms at all. One of our rooms was fine, the other was weeny. But clean and ok. Breakfast was good but the strangest feature was having a hot tub in the conservatory/breakfast room. No conversation with any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan T
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. As the owner of the Old Forge, I showed you both to your rooms. I am not sure what you mean by a welcome host or hostess but I definitely said more than hello and give you your keys!!! We already had all your details from the time of booking and we find that...

winchester
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The lady owner was very pleasant, the room and bathroom spotless but my room was so small it was a big disappointment and the walls are so thin we could hear people groaning and moving about in the other rooms. This has nothing to do with it being summer and the windows open, or the fact that it's an old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tango44Winchester
St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

One of the cleanest and comfortable places I have ever stayed. We had a family room which was effectively a wing to itself with a outside terrace. The room was cosy but airy, lovely soft sheets and comfortable beds (which is not something I say often). The room was spotless even down to freshly clean curtains. Breakfast was served in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sallyf449
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed here one night whilst in South Devon and it was just lovely! The hotel is situated very close to the centre of town but just away from the noise of the main road and the centre so lovely and peaceful! The hotel he a car park which is very handy in Totnes as car parking is limited. The hote...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jackemmet3
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Booked at last minute, so unfortunately not much choice .small , garden facing room, barely big enough to swing a cat. Could hear guests talking in adjoining and above rooms. Electric shower sounded like a 747 taking off , which could also be heard from neighbouring rooms, together with plumbing noises. Good location, and with a little tweaking , could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerry K
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were less than delighted with your accommodation. I am glad, however, that you enjoyed your breakfast. You did stay with us during an extremely hot spell when everyone was sleeping with windows open and that probably made the noise seem bad. This building is 600 years old and some...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Booked 2 rooms - one was the family room with a terrace for my husband and I to relax in. One for my mother . Both very clean . Bathrooms looked new. Best breakfast Iv ever had at a B&B. Only 5mins walk to middle of Totnes town. Will defo be going back. Fabulous B&B lovely owners/staff

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judith G
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Room was lovely & clean & cosy. Only problem was the walls are paper thin, so could hear the flush of the toilet through the night of the couple next door, could also hear the snoring too. Wasn't a quiet nights sleep for me I'm afraid. We did have a lovely breakfast in the morning though & the owners were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annastone2010

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
87 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#5 of 25 in Totnes
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Old Forge at Totnes

Address: Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Price Range: £77 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge at Totnes 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Old Forge at Totnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge At Totnes Hotel Totnes
The Old Forge Totnes
The Old Forge At Totnes Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Forge at Totnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All looked lovely”
 of 5 bubbles sallyf449, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs room might be better option.”
 of 5 bubbles 219jerryk, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Family Room away from other rooms and has a terrace”
 of 5 bubbles JudithG679, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had the small apartment which is good for friends as it has its own little lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles 447shelaghl, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Want a bigger room ask for room 9”
 of 5 bubbles teamy, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay