We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Commodore Hotel Southbourne near Bournemouth is on the Dorset cliff tops at Southbourne adjacent to the cliff lifts and Fisherman's Walk with easy access from the A31 and A338. The spectacular views across Poole bay take in Swanage to the West and Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight to the East. The Commodores location, close to the New Forest, and Bournemouth town centre, makes it an ideal base from which to explore Hampshire and Dorset. The Commodore was built in 1928 and was originally called Crawford's Tea Rooms. In the war it was used to house serving American airmen. In the early 50's an extension was added and it became Crawford's Bar and Hotel. Not long after that, it became The Commodore Hotel. A very popular holiday location. There is limited car parking provided by the hotel but ample on-street car parking within a few minutes walk.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
50Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
269Reviews
55Photos
5Q+A
62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 82
  • 30
  • 20
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Absolute shambles. Manager is massively incompetent as is a male member of staff behind the bar. Totally ruined our daughters baptism event. Nothing was ready as promised on arrival and we did not receive anywhere near what we paid for. Manager rude and unapologetic. Both him
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Stayed here for 2 nights over a recent weekend.The stay was good value and the rooms were modern and comfortable.Building work was taking place,and this reduced the parking to just 4 spaces.Free parking was available in the nearby side streets, but at times was hard to find.The
Read more
Response from stuartwallace2015, General Manager at The Commodore
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we have taken them all onboard and hope that we will deserve a 5 on your next stay.
Read more
We purchased drinks and a few snacks. They don’t do cheesy chips just ordinary ones just under £3 for a tiny bowl with about 12 chips, onion rings same price for a tiny bowl with 8 small rings and cheesy nachos an absolutely pitiful amount just under £7. When asked about the
Read more
Response from stuartwallace2015, General Manager at The Commodore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your food. Hope you return to give us a try to restore your good faith in us.
Read more
Good value for money hotel in great location,lovely helpful staff,good food ,reasonable prices,we had a room on 1st floor overlooking the sea,,most rooms have a sea view,Bournemouth a very pleasant couple of mile walk from the hotel,will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Response from stuartwallace2015, General Manager at The Commodore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Drove up to The Commodore to find it covered in scaffolding !! Large skips outside the entrance and dust everywhere, not a good first impression. When checking in we were told the lift was out of order and had been for several weeks. Not what you want to hear when your room is
Read more
Response from stuartwallace2015, General Manager at The Commodore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As I have discussed with you, the lift is being repaired and the scaffolding is nearly totally down. When you next visit we will be back to normal, look forward to seeing you then.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Filthy sink plug
Not a bad view
Shower
Extractor in shower room complete with cobwebs
This is the sink in our room on arrival
PreviousNext
123
If you stay with your dog are they allowed in the breakfast room with you?
Although dogs are welcome here. I didn’t see any dogs in the breakfast area
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, We have 2 rooms which are dog friendly. Room number 1 and Room 16. Both rooms are standard double bed size.
0 votes
Show all answers
Trying to book online. Which rooms are dog friendly plz? Which rooms have the best views plz?
Well, when we went only one room was available and it wasnt a good one. No view, next to a public lavatory used by staff I believe and under a very noisy family room :( A member of staff told me there are normally 2 rooms but one was being refurbished.
0 votes
Make sure you complain and get a refund. That was so unacceptable and disappointing for you.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Is it a separat toilet for each room in this hotel ?
"Room 1 doesn't have a direct sea view, but is quiet as it is accessed through an intermediate door from the main corridor."
"Request Sea View"
"Good, sea facing establishment."
"Room 1 was on the side so had side seaview, but although compact was suitable for our needs."
"Don't try ringing to book a table!"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing