We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ocean Breeze Guest House

5 Westby Road Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA England

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 33 B&Bs in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
85Reviews3Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 14
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cjudd414 wrote a review Nov 2017
Northampton, United Kingdom9 contributions
My daughter and I stayed here on the 17th. We had a very warm welcome, our room was so clean and warm. It was a great size. Breakfast was delicious. Parking in right out the front. It’s 5 minutes from the o2 which is great. 10 minutes to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay there and would most definitely use them again. Thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 21 Nov 2017
Amy, thank you so much for such a glowing review, it is always appreciated when Guests take the time to post a review, especially one that makes us feel as good as yours did. Many thanks Amy and we are glad you and your daughter enjoyed the gig at the O2. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
steventvbbc wrote a review Nov 2017
Havant, United Kingdom44 contributions46 helpful votes
We stayed overnight after seeing Clean Bandit at the 02 Academy. Perfect location from the beautiful Boscombe Beach and 2 minute walk from 02.We were greeted warmly by Danny when we arrived and met Jean at breakfast.Both very nice people. Room was very good with a comfy bed tea and coffee also available. Home cooked breakfast very good. Would stay again if we go to 02 Academy. Thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 3 Nov 2017
Thank you for your very kind review, really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again to Ocean Breeze if you are tempted to return to O2. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rfeustel wrote a review Sept 2017
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Very friendly, nice, clean room. My husband forgot house keys, and they were posted back to us, received next day. I like my bacon crispy, and they went out and got different bacon so that I could have crispy bacon for breakfast!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Breakfast included in price.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 6 Sept 2017
So pleased keys reached you safely! Thank you for such a lovely review, we always try and go out of our way to make our guests' stay a happy one, we hope to welcome you to Ocean Breeze again. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina D wrote a review Sept 2017
London, United Kingdom56 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed at the Ocean Breeze with my husband and parents for a long weekend (4 nights). The owners Janet & Danny are very friendly and welcoming. Check in was quick and simple. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and were cleaned every day with fresh towels given. Plenty of tea/coffee in the room. There is a welcome folder with lots of information as well as lots of leaflets in the reception entrance for days out / things to do etc. Breakfast was very good every day with the option of full english, cereal and continental - my mum likes her bacon extra crispy, without us asking Janet & Danny went out of their way to go and buy extra fatty bacon to make mum happy for the following 3 days (thank you!). The B&B is a 2 min walk to the local shops and 10mins to the beach & Boscombe Pier. If you like walking you can walk along the beachfront into Bournemouth (around 20-30mins). I will definately book to stay here on my next trip to Bournemouth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 6 Sept 2017
Tina Thank you for your review, I couldn't have written a better one myself, we will have to employ you to do our advertising! We always try our best and it is so rewarding when our efforts are appreciated, so thank you. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lennielazer wrote a review Sept 2017
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
just returned from a 3 night stay 3 person family room which was very comfortable very clean with separate bit for my daughter and a good breakfast convenient for the beach would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 6 Sept 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, your daughter's face was a picture when she saw the room and it was the one she had seen online which was great. It is always nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you to Ocean Breeze again. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
schumil wrote a review Sept 2017
tel aviv129 contributions55 helpful votes
Visited Bournemouth for 3 days, and enjoyed staying in Ocean Breeze. Nice and comfortable room for 3, with a separate niche for our teen. clean room and bath, worth all the stairs up. Convenient parking, good English breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: try to ask for a room downstairs if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephanie T wrote a review Aug 2017
Maidstone, United Kingdom33 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed in room three, a large airy family room. Well placed for Boscombe beach - 10 minute walk - and a short taxi/bus ride from central Bournemouth. Would recommend for anyone wishing to stay in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 27 Aug 2017
Stephanie thank you for your very kind review, it means so much to us that you took the time to post a review and your stay with us was a happy one. We hope to welcome you to Ocean Breeze again. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caroline D wrote a review Aug 2017
Hampshire, United Kingdom27 contributions7 helpful votes
My Husband and I stayed here for 1 night as we were going to the Proms in the park in Bournemouth. Lucky to book for 1 night as you usually have to book for 2. I think this was due to a cancellation or someone not booking for the full week. Parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Our room was at the top of the building, which was no problem for us with stairs. Nice room with on suite with everything you need. Good English breakfast. Janet the owner told us of some restaurants on the seafront, which is a 10 min walk down the hill. Booked a taxi through United 01202 556677 to the park and walked backed to the B&B along the seafront as it was a warm/clear evening. It took us around 50 min, if you like a walk.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 22 Aug 2017
Thank you Caroline for such a lovely review, it is always much appreciated when Guests take the time to post a review, we were only too pleased to help make your weekend at the Prom in the Park a success. We hope to welcome you to Ocean Breeze again. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joan S wrote a review Aug 2017
Peterborough, United Kingdom52 contributions15 helpful votes
Following the positive reviews on TripAdvisor my husband booked a two night stay at this B and B for my birthday. I have to say that we were both extremely disappointed when we arrived and we're shown to our room. However I will state the positive points first: Parking on the premises, the sea from is a shore walk downhill and the bed was reasonably comfortable. We travel a lot all over the world and in the UK and always look for the positive in our accommodation but the points above were all we could find. The negative: the room was dark and dingy and not welcoming at all, there was no proper ensuite as the toilet and wash basin were in one cubicle in the room and the shower was in another dark corner with a plastic concertina door - unbelievable!!! This is the 21st century and the facilities were definitely so last century. At breakfast there was no fruit nor yoghurt available, the coffee was bitter tasting and instant, the sauces were out of date and there was no butter with the toast. This is a B and B that Alex Polizzi needs to visit and revamp! Bournemouth has a lot to offer and the beaches are wonderful. We ate a wonderful birthday meal at Urban Reef on the front at Boscombe which included a free glass of Prosecco and dessert for my birthday. A lovely touch.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 12 Aug 2017
Joan we are so disappointed by your review, in 11 years we have never had a complaint about the room you were in, indeed my husband took a lot of trouble to make the shower and toilet more attractive by adding a "beach hut" style roof. I realise the weather was bad during your stay but the room is south facing with a door leading to a courtyard, so enjoys full sun. Our Guest House is in a Victorian building and the room you were in has a genuine Victorian fireplace so we feel ultra modern furnishings etc. are out of place but I can assure you all furnishings are regularly updated, in fact the lamps, bedding, carpet and bedroom chair are recent additions. Thank you for drawing our attention to the sauces, we regularly check these and have replaced any that were out of date, we apologise profusely for this. Butter is always available, if you wanted butter you only had to ask, also fruit is freely available for continental breakfast. We will provide yoghurt on request but we have thrown a lot away as it is not so popular. The coffee is Nescafe, unfortunately we cannot afford a coffee machine, we have looked at trade shows but the cost is extortionate. We do all we can to make our guests' stay a happy one and fortunately as you can see from our reviews we succeed, your comments about Alex Polizzi were particularly hurtful, especially as we have a Silver Award from VisitEngland which means we have a number of mystery visits and they have found that we run our Guest House to a high standard and as I have a heart condition the stress of your comments is hard to take in such a review, it would have been kinder for you to say something about your concerns during your stay. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martyn H wrote a review May 2017
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Really great bed and breakfast. Room was tidy, clean and well serviced. Fresh towl each day as well as fresh tea and coffee ect each day. Comfy bed. Had room 9 which has door to outside patio area and car park. Single room perfect for my needs. Very good breakfast. Choice of full English or contenetal both are very good. Also offers a packed lunch service. Highly recommended bed and breakfast. Hosts/owners are very welcoming. Thank you very much.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Ocean Breeze Guest House
Responded 31 May 2017
Martyn, thank you so much for your lovely review, it makes our hard work worthwhile and is so appreciated, we hope to welcome you to Ocean Breeze again soon. Janet
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bournemouth area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN BREEZE GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices (Bournemouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Breeze Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Marvo Mysteries Escape Room Bournemouth (0.2 miles), The Black Cherry - Theatre Cafe (0.1 miles), and Squirrel Cafe and Mini Golf, Boscombe Chine Gardens (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include English Rose Cafe, Pizzeria Via Roma, and Cafe Boscanova.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Breeze Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (1.5 miles), Christchurch Priory (2.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (2.8 miles).