We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (883)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (137)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#40 of 61 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £15 per night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
3,607Reviews39Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 894
  • 1,018
  • 786
  • 491
  • 418
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jason H wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
My wife and I were given a night away at a SPA hotel as a gift and chose this place, So luckily I didnt pay for it ! Im very thankful for this because I would have been quite annoyed if I did. Staff - no complaints at all with the staff, friendly enough. Room - the room itself was OK, the bathroom though was terrible - the drain didnt work and the whole thing really needed to just be ripped out. Food : Starter was Calamari - chewy but there was a nice dipping sauce. Main - Burger - I'm not a dramatic type of person at all, but honestly this was the worst burger I've ever been served. It was inedible. It was a huge slab of processed meat that stank of gone off Spam. I dont know if they'd ran out of what they normally serve but my god it was horrific. How hard is it to make a fresh burger ? literally some mince meat, onions, salt and pepper. I really would rather they just say they are off menu if they run out of fresh stuff, but again I dont know if this just what they normally serve. I can still taste the one bite I had now. Dessert - no complaints was nice, but I felt quite sick from the burger lol SPA facilities - not bad, but it was busy as it had a lot of members who I guess use the on site gym etc Massage /breakfast - no idea we left early because ....... The NOISE was horrific, someone above was screaming and shouting and dancing and doing other stuff ( you know what I mean) all night. So I get that the hotel cant control it to a certain extent BUT, when you think of a SPA hotel you think of a quiet place to relax - this aint it. We left more tired than we arrived. If you are looking to actually spend money on a booking here and expect a relaxing time - then dont bother - if you want a base to use and go out and get drunk then by all means do it - but id imagine you could find somewhere cheaper for that. Also dont pay the £15 quid a night parking charge - which is clearly just there to rinse people who have used a gift certificate - park in the surrounding streets which are free and pretty well empty. Overall - Id rather pitch a tent under a bridge than stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Saidy74 wrote a review 12 Apr
Guildford, United Kingdom4 contributions
Stay was ok, location great, plenty of parking. I would have preferred that parking was an option at booking and £15 a night is too expensive for hotel guests. Cleanliness and maintenance in the Spa could easily be fixed. Staff weren’t very welcoming or friendly at reception or the spa, we felt a bit of an inconvenience for them. Room was very clean, lacking power points, especially by the bed. Work men talking loudly outside both our door and window early in the morning. Definitely felt a little unwelcome. An ok stay, a smile from the disinterested staff would have made a huge difference. We had a voucher for £250 and I could see the price of a two night stay on their website, which was less, I didn’t mind, however it didn’t include breakfast and we then had to pay £30 for parking and £30 to use the spa. Just a bit much really. On a positive note, when checking out the young man on reception was charming!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Spa is down steps, which were ok for us, but could be tricky for some.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JonWB wrote a review 2 Apr
Rye, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
The downside to this hotel is the menu being the same every evening and when staying for 5 or 6 nights becomes very boring. Some traditional items and variation would have been welcome. The room was comfortable but for a 4 star hotel I would expect tissues and a bottle of water in the bedroom, which I have had in 3 and 2 star hotels. Would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Honest Traveller 14 wrote a review 2 Apr
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Visited this hotel for the first time and must admit I feel a bit disappointed. I booked this hotel for my girlfriend’s birthday present for a spa weekend with Virgin Experiences for quite a bit of money and when we arrived we are faced with plenty more hidden charges and building works. When we arrived we were hit with a £15 charge for parking with no security features which I believe is extremely high when other businesses like premiere inn charge £6 for 24 hours in a secure underground parking area. Secondly when you have booked a spa package you would believe that robes and slippers would be included (not a massive deal but a principle really) which are not, you have to head down to the spa and pay £6 per set so for a couple that’s £12 rental which kind of takes the luxury from the hotel. Additionally I was aware the lifts would be out of order due to maintenance but was not made aware works would be started at 8am with lots of hammering and shouting? Is this really acceptable! Additionally I would like to mention that the rooms are a little dated compared to other businesses around. I’m not all negative, the positives are that the hotel was a comfy night stay with brilliant smart tv’s and service was excellent. Must shout out Kayleigh the massage therapist, me and my partner had an amazing massage with lots of attention to detail and checking with us all the time to make sure what she was doing was at the correct pressure etc. The food in the hotel was excellent. Would I stay here again? I possibly would but would rather book it not being a spa weekend and just book independently with Kayleigh as I would not class this as a spa break.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda B wrote a review 1 Apr
Farnborough, United Kingdom81 contributions17 helpful votes
Based on some recent TripAdvisor reviews our expectations were pretty low but unfounded, A lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Food was very good. We didn't have a recently renovated room but it was just fine, absolutely nothing to complain about. It was a shame that the pool was out of order all day Saturday & Sunday morning & we never really knew why, although that wouldn't have changed anything. Not a big deal for us as we were there for a weekend function & were not personally affected as we wouldn't have used the pool anyway. Lift was also out of order but to be fair, we were informed in advance. Our interactions were with Lorraine & Sam from "events team" & Bradley dealing with the bar/food etc. all excellent. Overall, we had a very good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Its great to hear that we surpassed your expectations and were able to achieve our goal of all guests having a great stay. Lorraine ,Sam and Bradley will be pleased to get a mention and know that they helped to make your stay great success We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
suehare wrote a review Mar 2024
Bagshot, United Kingdom32 contributions22 helpful votes
We came to this hotel for an event. We stayed in room 74 and it’s one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was really lovely . Clean , bright and motel . Beautiful walk in shower . Huge and very comfortable bed. Bedding and towels were super soft. Despite there being 2 events in the hotel the staff couldn’t be more helpfulz The food was really superb and they have a good selection of wines. There is a spa and an indoor and semi outdoor pool . The only negative was no fried eggs at breakfast but did do scrambled and boiled. The lift was out of order as they are refurbishing it . This wasn’t a problem for us as it kept our step count up! You won’t be disappointed with a stay here
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you come in the Sumner there is also a lovely garden and semi outdoor pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sue, Its is always good to read a five star review. We strive to ensure that every guest has a great stay and makes some memories so great that we did achieve our goal. Its great to hear that you liked our newly refurbished deluxe room and were able to use the spa and hopefully relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pauldee74 wrote a review Mar 2024
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom119 contributions60 helpful votes
just returned from a 4 day break, what a lovely hotel, sure there were some problems, lift being broken and not inform was not great but we got by, Shame about the old guy on 3rd floor that had problems walking and it took him 15 mins to get down the stairs, I was behind him with a member of staff and she said she was going to get him moved! staff very good, apart from day one they were not helpful and dod not advise us of anything just wanted us to do the car park and pay the 15.00 per day but got better as week went on! did not eat in hotel please see other reviews on where we eat but highly recommended pinocchios! drinks are not too bad in price and great selection, did not use spa but what we saw looked nice, great place to stay for a few days close to everything but if going soon please check on lifts as 3rd floor was a killer! room very nice, bathroom dated and could do with a bigger shower head, bath nice and big, not sure on sellotape on mirror, light did not work on mirror, bed was comfy, we opted out of cleaner coming in each day, could do with drawers in room 66 but we got by, hairdryer, iron and board in room and a fab massive TV you could go into apps and use your own netflix,prime all the main ones, if we come back to Bournemouth (not sure we would as changed so much) we would defo be back and use more of the facilities
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: check lift working get 2 keys when checking in, we were given one then took all day to get...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Pauldee, Thank you for the five star review. Its great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. I apologise if you did not get a note regarding the lift as it should have been on your confirmation and I will check this is resolved. I am sorry that there were a few things that marred your stay and we will address these shortfalls at our weekly management meeting . I am sorry to hear that you did not eat in our restaurant which is slowly building its reputation with our residents and locals with our new head chef ,hopefully next time. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards , General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
weymouthlocal2015 wrote a review Mar 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just had a lovely overnight stay here on a spa weekend deal. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the afternoon tea and breakfast were very good. The lift was out of order, but we were told about this beforehand, and the reception staff offered to take our luggage to our room for us. The parking is charges at £15 per night, but there is adequate free parking nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Its always great to read when we have achieved our goal for everyone to have a great. I will pass you comments onto the team who will be pleased to see that they have helped to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Kind regards, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee wrote a review Mar 2024
Emersons Green, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked this hotel as in the past ( 3 previous visits and also recommended it to friends ). we had enjoyed everything about it from the breakfast to the Spa. We arrived on the 8th March to be asked if we had received email regarding the lift being replaced which we hadn’t. Our room was on the 4th floor. When I informed her due to knee problems I wasn’t sure I could get to the 4th floor all she was interested in was can I pay my parking before I’d even checked in. Very rude and not offered anything in the way of discount or anything complimentary due to having no lift. After a struggle to our room ( no offer of a room on a lower level). Room was advertised as a deluxe as it had air conditioning but at this time of the year that’s irrelevant AND that is where the luxury ended. 2 bottles of water the size of panda pops 1 still and 1 sparkling ( who drinks sparkling water ) these where at room temperature as no fridge. Broken toilet seat, rainfall shower that’s was more like a waterfall shower as due to the holes all being blocked the water just gushed out of the connection on the top. We then decided to book up the spa only to be informed that the spa pool was not accessible, I asked as this was the case would it still be the same price to which I was told they don’t know and will have to ask the manager ( who wasn’t around ), I said I would return later. At reception I asked if it was possible to have a couple of still waters as we don’t drink sparkling only to be told to go back to my room 4th floor and retrieve my sparkling and she would swap it, I explained I wasn’t going to go all the way back upstairs and therefore was told I couldn’t have the water. After a short walk we returned to the spa to ask about the price due to the pool being shut only to be fobbed off again that they didn’t know and would have to find out BUT the pool would be open the next day as it was now being heated. Breakfast WOW the worst I have ever experienced, everything was dry and tasteless ,if you didn’t like scramble eggs then tough as they did not offer any other option apart from a pre-pealed boiled egg sat in cold water. Unfortunately for us we had to endure this hotel for a second day and still the spa pool was not open, told we could use the main pool but to me that is not a spa experience. Staff were rude and uninformative. WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN OR RECOMMEND IT.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to email your comments. I apologise that on this occasion your stay was not what it should have been. As a valued customer and having stayed with us a number of times and enjoyed your stay we would like to discuss your comments so that we can action them and that we can then get you to return to the hotel and continue to use the Bournemouth West Cliff as your preferred choice. Please email me tony.giauna@bournemouthwestcliffhotel.co.uk with your contact details and a time that is convenient to call you or just call the hotel 01202 751000 and ask for myself. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily G wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unfortunately I don’t have anything good to say about my experience. It was an absolute waste of money. The whole spa experience is sold as “luxury” but it is the complete opposite. The staff had absolutely no idea what they were doing, not to mention they were patronising. Half the facilities were closed and out of order yet we were still charged the same amount. This hotel is at the very most a 2 star, certainly not 4 star. The spa smelt mouldy. And the afternoon tea was also disappointing. We waited for 20 minutes to be seated yet there was only 6 guests in the entire restaurant. They also had no clue what they were doing. The waitress decided it was acceptable to shove alcohol menus in our faces when all we asked for was afternoon tea, again, the after noon tea took another 20 minutes to come. The tea was PG Tips and when you’re paying good money for these things you don’t expect cheap tea. The food was also cheap and nasty and in general just wasn’t at all what it was advertised. We only ate the Scones and had tiny bites of the rest of the food which as mentioned, wasn’t nice. And on a side note, hidden parking charges, completely unacceptable. £15 to park for the day??? Robes and towels were also extra for the spa, (for how much they charge it should be included) and they also aren’t as advertised in the pictures. Builders are also surrounding the place at the moment which isn’t mentioned. They walk into the spa treatment rooms unannounced and the pool etc, made us really uncomfortable and other guests were also complaining. Nothing about the experience shouts “luxury”. Won’t be returning, nor will I be recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Giuana, General Manager at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Emily, I apologise that your Spa experience was not what it should of been. Unfortunately there was an incident in the spa that led to the hotel having to close the spa pool due to the spa pool and jacuzzi having to be drained and refilled and then the water having to reach temperature. All other facilities were open ;sauna, steam room, relaxation room, aromatherapy room including the leisure pool upstairs and I am sorry that the spa pool was closed along with the jacuzzi. It is not acceptable that you had to wait for your afternoon tea and I will speak to the team and the head chef regarding your comments. If you wish to discuss the matter further please email me your contact deals to tony.giauna@bournemouthwestcliffhotel.co.uk and a convenient time to call you or alternatively feel free to call the hotel on 01202 751000 and ask for myself. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bournemouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bournemouth hallmark hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BOURNEMOUTH WEST CLIFF HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Smokin' Aces (0.3 miles), Coastal Comedy (0.2 miles), and Poole Hill Brewery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Twelve Eatery, Lolas Restaurant, and The Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Bournemouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.9 miles), Quay (4.2 miles), and Adam's Grave (2.9 miles).
Is Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.