Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa

32 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AQ England
Traveller (472)
Panorama at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
360
Panoramas (11)
View from my room after an amazing storm (4th floor)
Room & Suite (225)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
£86
£80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#36 of 61 hotels in Bournemouth
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Serving a great selection of Fresh Pastas, Light Meals and HOMEMADE PIZZA. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

32 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AQ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Bournebouth Intl Airport
Eastleigh Airport
27.4 mi
See all flights
800Reviews30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 343
  • 195
  • 105
  • 76
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathpur wrote a review Jan 2020
Colney Hatch, United Kingdom27 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 2 night stay in this lovely 3 star seaside hotel .
The service was excellent and the staff so so very lovely and very accommodating ; truly nothing was too much trouble .
There is a lovely Italian bar / restaurant on site which serves up hearty Italian dishes and an area to enjoy drinks .
The breakfast buffet offers plenty of choice and freshly served hot and cold food .
Positioned right in front of the sea front , a 10/15 minute walk either left or right will take you to Boscombe or Bournemouth Pier .
Bournemouth town is only a 20 minute walk away although the area is well served by public transport .
Parking on site can be tricky but there are parking bays available on the sea front for a fee .
Rooms are basic but very comfortable .
We really enjoyed our stay .
Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nuno Gomes, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Kathpur, Thank you so much for sharing such great comments. It's always great to have such fantastic feedback. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Nuno
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracie D wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom124 contributions111 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked an overnight stay with Groupon.
The hotel was welcoming and the staff very friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean, crisp white bed linen and towels.

We booked two treatments in the hotels spa.
Hot stone massage – OMG was amazing… I also had an anti-aging facial, one hour of pure luxury. My friend also had the same treatments and was pleased with the results.

The spa is lovely, located in the basement, many chairs to chill on with relaxing music playing.
Both therapists were good.

It’s such a shame that you have to hop to the hotel next door to use the sauna and pool. You can get a towel from hotel reception.

The pool area is really nice but would benefit from having some loungers to relax on. The sauna was also good. The changing rooms, however, are in need of a lick of paint and just upgrading.

Breakfast was good, the usual buffet style. There was cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and full English. All very tasty.

Our evening meal, was included in the price of the stay. We had sautéed mushrooms on ciabatta, which was nice, this was followed by seafood linguine. This tasted good, however it was a bit dry.

Overall, good service and all of the staff were friendly, polite and charming. Would deffo recommend this hotel

BTW, it’s a 15 walk into Bournemouth Town and a cab will cost you around a fiver.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nuno Gomes, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Tracie_d_10, Thank you so much for sharing such great comments. It's always great to have such fantastic feedback. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Nuno Gomes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian F wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel would of had four or five star based on value for money, and location. If only (all) the staff were proficiently trained to explain parking fees and how to get to all facilities. As some knew and some didn’t.

Also there was an annoying fine that came from the parking company used, even though I entered my details correctly into the tablet. I received a £100 demand twice after calling regarding the first instance. Hopefully it is sorted out now. Nevertheless very upsetting at the time.

Should these issues be corrected the place would of been fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nuno Gomes, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Adrian F, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Nuno
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sian wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday, only for 2 nights the room was expensive at £140 per night. The room was very disappointing a small box with barely any room to move around. The shower was cold and had barely any power it was basically impossible to shower properly. The bed was like a rock gave both me and my partner back ache from the first night in. The parking was unbelievable not half enough spaces for the amount of customers they have and on top of that they ask you to pay £8 a day on top of you room price! Outrageous. The breakfast was also extra charge at £8 a head per day which when we payed £270 for a room for 2 nights seemed stupidly expensive. The only good point I can make about this hotel is the location. It is very easy to walk down onto Bournemouth beach presuming you can find parking which is unlikely. The only nice part about the hotel was the friendly staff. I will not be returning and will be telling everyone I know to stay clear of this outrageously expensive and throughout awful hotel. If I could give it a small rating I would. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Dear 96shannont, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us. I am truly sorry you had the experience you describe. I would like to offer you my sincerest apologies. i must say that quite a few of the issues you mention do not reflect the reality . I am not blaming anyone, however when someone books a room should know if breakfast is included for example. We have all types of rooms, from economy doubles to superior sea views. with regards to the parking situation we do clearly say in our confirmation that parking is on a first comes first served and all our guests are welcome to use any of the 3 parkings we have with our sister hotels on the seafront. The tariff or £8 for 24 hours is the cheapest in Bournemouth area. Of course parking is free of charge in all out properties for guests who booked directly with the property or our central reservations team. Please note that a member of our team is always available to assist should you need assistance or you have something that needs attention . If we have no feedback while you are with us , then we simply can't do much. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in our property and be able to offer you a nice and relaxing experience. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robin w wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom36 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to Begin! I have to say, that this hotel is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in! You will see from my other reviews of hotels arround the world that I am usually very complimentary and positive, however, there was almost nothing good to say about this place at all! Let me start with the positives. The staff were lovely, kind, considerate and, as much as they could be under the surcumatamces, helpful. Unfortunately, that's where the positives ended! The hotel has no real parking. Nor do their sister hotels (where they suggest you go if they are busy). You are therefore only able to find parking off site which is roughly (£14 per 24 hours) which isn't terrible but is totally unsecured. I arrived after spending an hour finding somewhere local to park, feeling very hot and bothered but was at least given a nice welcome and a key to my room. The room was hidious (see pictures) holes in the door, cobwebs on the toilet window handle, peeling wallpaper, stains on the radiator, wall plugs and sockets in disrepair, no plug near the bed to charge a phone, broken TV, the list goes on. I couldn't get room service without a £5 charge (which is annoying since there are no shops within a 10 minute walk to buy supplies) and was told even then it might be difficult so had to order a delivreroo service to the hotel to eat in my room. Even the TV didn't work and they couldn't help because "they had no staff available" or anther room to move me to so I had to watchTV on my phone. The hotel in general was OK. Fairly clean and tidy. The lift was slow and rickety, the signage to rooms poor. The toilets in the public areas were clean and tidy and the staff did their best to keep to bar areas clean. Unfortunately, there were way too many negatives to give this anything other than a bad review. I'm not sure if I simply had the most unlucky experience imaginable but it was certainly bad and something I've not experienced before. So, as I write this, I'm lying in a room, surrounded by peeling wallpaper, a TV that doesn't work, holes in the walls and the front door to my room and wondering whether this might all be a big joke! It isn't. It's true. The bed was also very lumpy and uncomfortable so I hardly got any sleep. I hope everyone else has a better experience of this hotel than me but I have to say, mine was horrible and I will never come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Sept 2020
Dear robinw59, thank you for your review and your feedback . I am truly very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. All your comments are well noted and appreciated and have taken your feedback on board in order to improve our facilities and services. It would be great to have the chance to welcome you again in the future and offer you a different experience that would compensate for your recent one. i remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require in the future. Kind regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann B wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom14 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely 2 night stay with my partner and cocker spaniel in a dog friendly room. Beautiful art deco style hotel, with nice cocktail bar and restaurants. Very welcoming staff, especially Zach the friendly, professional operations manager who really went the extra mile in making guests feel very welcome. Also, the staff at breakfast who worked hard and were always smiling!
Would definitely return to this hotel. There are dog friendly rooms which allow one dog at £20 per night. The bar serves amazing cocktails and the meal was superb in the a la carte restaurant. Ensure you receive a 'Guest Privilege Card' on check in to receive 10% off meals/spa treatments etc.
There is an outdoor pool weather permitting, can also use the indoor pool at the Suncliffe Hotel next door.
Cannot wait to return to the Oceana. Thank you to Zach and his team for a wonderful, memorable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 28 May 2021
Dear Ann B, Thank you very much for choosing Oceana Hotels for your getaway. We really appreciate all you feedback and compliments and we'll make sure , these are passed to our team members. All our colleagues are working hard to make everyone's stay special. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotels very soon. Best regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chantelle wrote a review Aug 2020
Leicestershire6 contributions
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel a few weeks ago for a long weekend away and after speaking to the team a few weeks prior to going and had being told the wrong information re: room occupancy. When I called the reservations team en route I had a rude member of staff referring to me as a liar ranting about health and safety rules. Due to this I wasn't then looking forward to my stay but expected health and safety to be a president. When we arrived the check in time was half an hour later than stated and agreed in one room and 2 hours later in another. It was a very warm weekend and none of the rooms had fans. When I asked at reception I was told they had no more....surely one should be availble for every room edpecually at a beach hotel down south on a hot August weekend. On our first night at dinner a large family allowed their children to literally run riot and play catch around our dinner table and not one member of staff mentioned anything so consequently we had to ask them to politely stop so we could enjoy our meal or play elsewhere. Why this wasn't addressed is beyond me with many people leaving because of the disruption. There is one very small lift to access the higher up rooms, so with the heat and a small child not to mention being pregnant the stairs were extremely hard work being on the 3rd floor.
Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful so that was a plus point. There is a sister hotel that had a pool party and DJ which I couldn't quite believe when we are still amidst a pandemic with social distancing out of the window.
The carpet on the stairs was hanging off which was extremely dangerous and the pool is on the ground gloor with people walking through the breakfast room wet and up the wooden slippy stairs to order food, drink or go to the toilet. Our one room had a heated towel rail on high throughout and cracked tiles on the floor. When they managed to dusconnect the tiwel rail there was no cold water. The car park is girst come first served and extremely hectic qnd very tight with the hotel next door having people oustide partying in the garden area till 3am so without a fan on a very hot night in a small hotel room sleep was a miniumum as the window had to be kept open. Yet again noone said anything almost a law to themselves and felt like being in the middle of ibiza.
I was really looking forward to this trip and it wasn't the cheapest and with a reservation manager stating about health and safety laws and standards of the hotel I expected a lot better.
The staff are definately overworked and the poor lady on reception had had so many complaints one night she looked exhausted and not very happy herself. There is no leadership especially of an evening and a long list of to dos to put right. The potential is there but no back up for correction and guest satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Chantelle, thank you very much for your review and your feedback. i have read carefully your feedback and all the points you indicated. I must accept August has been an extremely busy month with the opening of the season finding us short staffed after many of our furloughed staff returned back to their countries without prior notice. This is not an excuse but just an insight. All our team has worked very hard in order to accommodate every guest and also training the new staff . I must admit our check in procedure has slowed down significantly with everyone queuing and the extra room sanitizing . I would like to start with apologizing for all the trouble and inconvenience caused during your stay. You mentioned that one of our colleagues from central reservations team called you a liar when you spoke on the phone with them. I find this so hard to comprehend since all our colleagues are always so professional and always trying to help. We do provide fans in ll the bedrooms. They are available upon request and free of charge. You mentioned one night in our a la cart restaurant many guests ended up leaving because children from a table next door running around causing disruption. I can only honestly say that it's the first time that comes to my attention and didn't have such report from my manager on duty in the restaurant nor from any other guest. Our lift is a medium size lift and can easily and safely serve up to 4 adults. Regarding our sister hotel and their party with DJ on a Sunday afternoon , i am afraid i can not comment as it's not our property or the property you actually had your experience. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your breakfast as everyone is working very hard in order to ensure every guest will be happy, from chefs and waiters to managers. I do see your point 100% about the potential with the right guidance and believe me we are doing everything we can in order to have the right results. I only hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future and have the chance to make it up to you. i am always at your disposal Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danie wrote a review Feb 2020
Reading, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Got a free night after a horrific stay in the summer. Wanted to have changed my mind but the problems haven’t changed.
The main issue is despite the modern rooms the main things are lacking. Staying in winter and no heating came on all night it was freezing and we woke up full of cold! The fan heater we found was broken and the one they gave us in the morning let out heat ten seconds at a time then turned off for 3 mins!
We had a sea view room, beautiful full view of the sea but very very small.
There is two heavy chairs at the end of the bed that aren’t even facing the view, and no table so you can’t really enjoy it unless your in the bed.
The water in the tab came out dark yellow to start with! No idea why but hoping it had some sand in pipes. It did clear.
Coffee is tasteless! I don’t expect the best but it was awful. Like warm water.
Restaurant food quality was outstanding but playing funeral songs and no ambience despite having potential for it!
What is worse about this is the staff are miserable, not very helpful and such a shame because the sister hotel the suncliffe which has dated decor is so lovely everytime I’ve been.
The best example I can give to this service is just before arriving my suitcase handle snapped offf. Heavily pregnant and trying to carry it and an 7 year old alone I tried to get through the door with everything. The receptionist on the desk just watched with no offer to help while my seven year old tried to push the door open. Again at the desk. Despite me saying I was worried about carrying it to my room at the top of the hotel no offer off help and instead barked at me “NAME”
I would be worried about staying when it’s busy like the summer and I certainly wouldn’t pay more then bottom prices.
I’ve stayed in almost every hotel over the last 8 years and I have to say this is my most disappointing because it has so much potential there. It’s that bad I wouldn’t even stay for free again to be honest. I go away to have fun and I feel like I’m not welcome when I’m there and being happy or having fun isn’t welcome either!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear Guest , thank you very much for your feedback and your review. we are sorry to read about your experience. please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to discuss further. Kind regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben H wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Ocean Beach during the hottest and busiest period during the summer. The staff were quite stretched but always did their best to give good service, be attentive and keep a smile on their face. The rooms were adequate if a little tired and a bit creaky and the food was pretty good with a great breakfast. We enjoyed the pool but (as with every hotel) sun-loungers were at a premium. The hotel is well placed between Boscombe and Bournemouth piers with paths to the beach about 5-10 mins away. Parking can be difficult when the hotel is full, you can park on the promenade but it is £14 per day.

Overall a good stay with friendly, helpful staff and great placement for the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Dear benh001, thank you for taking the time to post your review and offer us your feedback. I am so glad you had a nice time during your stay with us, and you appreciate everyone's effort during this busy time. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the team. We hope we will see you soon again in our hotel. Make sure you always book direct with our team for the best offers and deals. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Silence wrote a review Aug 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had family celebration at Ocean Beach Hotel. The manager was really helpful helping us with the decoration and accommodating us with all our needs. All staff members were happy to help with everything we asked, something my parents really appreciated is how they ask every think just to make everything just how we want it. Food just on time and it was so good that everyone enjoy it
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Silencety, thank you very much for your beautiful review and your lovely feedback. I am so happy to read everyone enjoyed this special family moment. We all feel proud you chose our property for your birthday celebration. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our team. I am sure they will be very pleased to hear. We look forward to welcome you again in our property. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Rose Guldede
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
If you book direct there is no car parking charge. If you book via third party websites £12 per a day. Many thanks Rose
Christine P asked a question Mar 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Could anyone tell me if they supply towels for the pool or do you need to take your own
Answer from Hencharding
Trowbridge, United Kingdom179 contributions78 helpful votes
Yes from the hotel next door where the pool is
Sar asked a question Jan 2020
what disabled facilities do you have
Answer from Jane S
Bournemouth, United Kingdom9 contributions
There a disabled chair lift up the steps at the front of hotel. There is a room on first floor that has disabled facilities. Be warned the lift in hotel is quite small.
Miles D wrote a tip 3 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"iron in the bedroom where possible "
Read full review
Lisa J wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not included the food package"
Read full review
Betsy N wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t park in the hotel car park, you can park in the road outside for cheaper "
Read full review
paul m wrote a tip Feb 2024
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Possible ear plugs required, walls and doors are thin, so if your a light sleeper earplugs my be a must "
Read full review
Inspiration820982 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drink elsewhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bournemouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cliffeside hotel bournemouth, cliffside hotel bournemouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Cliffeside Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN BEACH HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.3 miles) and Bournemouth Natural Science Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ventana Grand Cafe, The Escoffier Restaurant, and El Murrino Pop-up Beach Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.5 miles), Christchurch Priory (3.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (3.8 miles).
Does Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bournemouth HotelsBournemouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BournemouthHotels near Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire