We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
christchurch
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Food was warm,small and bland. 2 glasses of wine £15.10 😱 drinks very expensive (London prices),queue for the bar 5 deep,,we were tucked away down stairs where you had to go back upstairs for the toilets negotiating the stairs around staff carrying trays of food up and down. Don't think the evening was worth what we paid ,the dance floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezza21
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked for one night on a Thursday as seeing a show at the BIC and this was perfect. Very good value for mid week too. Beautiful views over the sea as high up on hill. Staff friendly and welcoming. Room clean, fresh and comfortable bed. Sister hotel has pool & sauna so perfect as we had a couple of hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Truwick
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff uninterested and not customer driven or focused!! Unwelcoming and disinterested check in with this feel continuing throughout the stay. Which is a shame, as hotel looks immaculate and in a great location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janka J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a room for myself as me and some friends where going to see madness at the Bic the room was £25 for the night and it was perfect a massive bed very comfortable and wet room with a nice hot shower and friendly staff definitely recommend this hotel 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloryhunter01
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding reception here in October 2016 and we couldn't have asked for better service! Our wedding coordinator Brian was the best, so passionate and enthusiastic about this job. He made the whole wedding planning journey an absolute joy and I loved every minute. He was very attentive and would reply promptly to any emails I sent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saffymanz
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival lucky to get a parking space. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who informed us that the bill for the room has already been deducted from my account even though the confirmation of booking stated that we would pay at the hotel. The room was clean although very warm. We had a nice view from the window....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiefitzz
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby, restaurant and spa area of this hotel are lovely and really well presented and maintained but the rest of the floors (common areas such as stairways and landings specifically) are a bit tired and could definitely do with sprucing up. The floor boards are particularly squeaky, especially on the 4th floor and the wallpaper is damp in places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BunjiZim
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first stay here was fantastic so we didn't worry about booking again but what a mistake (in fact we should be there now) Unfortunately the room we had this time was really awful. I did not book budget as I know that can be bad previous experience but if the room was not budget I would hate to think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letitia S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last night I had a business meeting on in the hotel so decide to stay as the meeting ended up going on late. I got a twin room number 475 there was barely enough room to squeeze around the bed . I had to leave the next morning at 6.30 for a long day of travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garrett P
Nuno G, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Garrett P, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't had an enjoyable stay. I can only apologize for the inconvenience of not having hot water in your room. Unfortunately issues like this sometimes happen in hotels and there's nothing we can do apart from offering options which in this case I am happy to hear that we did by...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We originally wanted to stay one night but ended staying 2 nights (Sat/Sun) the first night we stayed on a ground floor twin as the hotel was fully booked. The reception staff were very accommodating and managed to provided us for the second night sea-view top floor suite for the same price as a twin!! This is a nice located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rapsromeo
Nuno G, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear rapsromeo, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Great comments about the staff and service. We will be looking forward for your next visit. Please contact our central reservations team on 01202 298 350 for the best available price. Kind regards Nuno Gomes

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double (16)
Viewed
Superior Ocean Front Double (21)
Viewed
Superior Ocean Front Twin (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 78 in Bournemouth
1,692 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 78 in Bournemouth
3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#50 of 78 in Bournemouth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Brilliant new bar menu launched, serving a great selection of Fresh Salads, Light Meals and HOMEMADE BURGERS. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: 32 East Overcliff Drive | Seafront, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England (Formerly The Cliffeside Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffeside Hotel Bournemouth
Cliffside Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In winter, a non sea facing room due to noise disturbance in poor weather conditions and avoid 4th floor as the floors are super squeaky.”
 of 5 bubbles BunjiZim, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 237, a twin room is lovely, with the best beds”
 of 5 bubbles Nickif65, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms above the kitchen are noisy. Some parts of the hotel are under refurbishment.”
  • Window frame in need of renovation
 of 5 bubbles Katie61237, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check your room first”
 of 5 bubbles sonnyboy014, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles KentUKSunlover, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay