We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norfolk Royale Hotel

Traveller (211)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (240)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
128Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
37Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,406Reviews
490Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 876
  • 855
  • 406
  • 161
  • 110
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is very comfortable, serves good food and is yards from the centre of Bournemouth town with its shops, leisure facilities and and very pretty parks. The hotel serves enjoyable food and has the additional attraction of being a short distance through pretty gardens to
Read more
Had afternoon tea, courtesy of a Groupon voucher. Made to feel very welcome, sandwiches were excellent and fresh, cakes were also very good. Scones were wonderful, much better than some we have had for afternoon tea elsewhere. Oh, and also a glass of decent champagne ( not cheap
Read more
Response from Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel
Responded today
Dear DorsetHubby Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager
Read more
We stayed on Saturday night for an event that we were attending, and stayed in room 226 on the second floor. As we were running late for the event, I didn't really have time to complain or ask to get moved. The hotel: The hotel isn't just tired - its exhausted and it
Read more
Response from Norfolk_GM, Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Paul James Deputy General Manager
Read more
Lots of maintenance issues, cleanliness of the room was not up the scratch (stains, dirt and holes in furniture and bath panel was coming off). Not what we were expecting from a four star hotel. The hotel is also very dated- definitely not as advertised.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager
Read more
We have been here many times and always enjoy our stay. This visit was very disappointing. The check in was not good. We always arrive early and understand that the rooms will not be ready until 3 pm, but normally do the paper work to save time for everyone arriving at 3 pm.
Read more
Response from Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear billybluehat Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you experienced some dissapointment during this stay, I will be taking these issues up dierctly with the staff involved and ensure corrective training takes place as this is not what I expect from my staff. I do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Twin room, everything you need.
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNorfolk Royale Hotel
The Standard Suite at the Norfolk Royale Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNorfolk Royale Hotel
The Honeymoon Suite at the Norfolk Royale Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNorfolk Royale Hotel
The Executive Double at the Norfolk Royale Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNorfolk Royale Hotel
The Double Deluxe at the Norfolk Royale Hotel
PreviousNext
12345647
When I asked the lady in reception was there a room above this one she said no.
0 votes
What are the mini double rooms like?
I just looked at the website again to remind myself. If the rooms on their website are as stated then it clearly has had a major overhaul since I stayed there. Our room was tired and old.
1 vote
Show all answers
Booked in for two nights June 14-16, do I need to book car parking place
You let them know that you're parking there once you've found a spot underground (hotel) and then hand over your registration to them when checking in. Then when it comes to check out you pay £15.00 per night. 👍🏼
1 vote
Show all answers
Are pets welcome
In all our visits I have only ever seen 2 dogs there I would suggest a phone call
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi the hotel is almost in the town centre so the price is about right for the hotel. There aren't any side roads you can park. The road is straight off the dual carriageway. Hope you have an enjoyable holiday. Regards
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Rooms on the back are quieter though possibly not in Summer since there are a lot of outside facilities."
"Go high and luxury"
"Use lift to top floor, walk down for exercise!"
"Rooms 129 & 130 are above the restaurant & music noise carries up."
"Not at the back, a long way round and noisy at 5 am in the morning."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
norfolk hotel bournemouthhotel norfolk royale
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing