We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Suncliff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,742: English reviews
Start your review of The Suncliff Hotel
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was a bit of a mix of acceptable and good quality and condition but generally for the price was very good value. Parking is limited but managed to squeeze my car in somewhere. Indoor pool was nice, clean and warm. Breakfast was amazing - not to be missed!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saintsmatt
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear saintsmatt, Thank you for taking your time to post some feedback for us. We appreciate all guest feedback as without it we cannot improve our service. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and the breakfast and we really hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations on...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this Hotel almost 50 years ago and had a wonderful time. We then stayed again some years later and it was just as good. We decided to return for a short break and again enjoyed the location of the hotel, delicious food and the efficient staff, particularly in the dining room. What more could we ask for!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dee, Thank you for your review and thank you for your loyalty! I am happy to know that even after 50 years your stay was as enjoyable as before. We hope to welcome you back to the Suncliff in the nearest future and for one of our latest offers, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Team on...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have visited Bournemouth many times and having tried elsewhere put this at the top of my list. My room was very large, comfortable and clean. Slight noise from I guess the heating system which affected my 1st floor front room at the early hours. this is only time I've experienced any issue here and it certainly won't put me...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your nice comments! We really appreciate your feedback and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Suncliff. Our apologies about the noise - most likely it was the kitchen fan, however it is off in the evening when kitchen closes down. I am glad that nevertheless you had a great...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great Hotel. Walking distance to the station and the center of town. The room looked to have been redone recently and was in a great condition. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and the onsite gym was well equipped with friendly staff. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James22222
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James22222, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking your time to post some comments about our hotel and the service we provide. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend our hotel to your friends and family. We look forward to your next visit and should you wish to receive one...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly & helpful staff. Nice hotel and only a 10 minute walk to town. Indoor dip pool and sauna were a bonus. As other visitors have mentioned, parking can be an issue at busy times: just ask reception for advice. Otherwise a great break-away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrypark2a
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barrypark2a, Thank you for your nice review and marking us 5 stars! We really appreciate all your lovely compliments and I am glad that your stay was truly enjoyable. Although we do have limited parking, there are 4 hotels in total where we allow our residents to park and street parking is also available and is free from 8pm....

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Suncliff on the 17th of Feb for my Birthday. Stayed in room Zara which was a lovely size the views from the balcony were stunning! Bed was nice and comfy, now the downfall for me was the room needs decorating, walls dirty and all woodwork was chipped and looked tacky. All the furniture was marked up I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey0512
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stacey0512, Thank you for taking your time to post some feedback about your recent experience at the Suncliff. Our apologies that you were not really happy about the room - I am sure that if you mentioned your concerns to our Reception Team, we could have solved the issue for you. We are going through a refurbishment programme so...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 5 days at the Suncliffe Hotel and enjoyed our stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable and we especially enjoyed the beautifully warm indoor pool and the sauna. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Exceptional value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suelin2017
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suelin2017, Thank you for taking your time to leave a nice review about your experience at the Suncliff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel exceptional value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, so to get the best rate available please do not hesitate to contact our...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and the wife went for 2 day get away for her birthday. Had a absolutely lovely time. The sea view room is a must as the balcony had a great view and gives something extra to the atmosphere in room. The room we had was small but very clean and had everything we needed. Staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritz s
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ritz s, Thank you for your wonderful comments! We really appreciate your feedback and we are excited to know that you had a nice stay and would do not hesitate to recommend our hotel. Best rates are guaranteed when booking directly with the hotel, so please contact our Reservations Team should you wish to revisit Bournemouth. Kindest Regards Julia...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we have stayed at the suncliff over many years, and also at the 2 sister hotels. ALL the staff are always willing to help and assist and make you more than welcome the food is excellent with quick friendly efficient service. extremely clean and tidy throughout with great attention to detail. On our last trip receptionist Carolina went above and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldmac2017
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donaldmac2017, Thank you for such great review! It is a rewarding one for our staff to read, particularly for Carolina, who I am sure will be thankful for such wonderful comments. We really look forward to your next visit as it is always a pleasure to welcome regular guests back. Please book directly with our Reservations Team on 01202...

Southampton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is lovely best one i have stayed in so far in Bournemouth penthouse suite is stunning and will definitely be returning. Breakfast was also well worth the money and staff we're brilliant and very helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsty247
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kirsty247, What an amazing review! Thank you very much for such a high mark and I am really happy to know that you had a great time. Thank you for complimenting our staff and the breakfast and we really hope that you will return to the Suncliff in the nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations...

583 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double (20)
Viewed
Four Poster (20)
Viewed
Harry Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Single (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
3,222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunday Carvery
Sunday Carvery
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Mold
over a year ago
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Greater London
over a year ago
Staffordshsire
over a year ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles saintsmatt, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a superb room at the top of the hotel , the view was fantastic but the room was a little cold , not surprising as the weather was bitterly cold , no central heating , just electric fans . ”
 of 5 bubbles 494RosemaryC, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are lucky to get a floor on the 4th floor , seem largest.”
 of 5 bubbles lonelytraveler190784, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“there's always discounts available so would recommend upgrading to a penthouse room. ”
 of 5 bubbles W546ZPalisonb, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Penthouse rooms have spectacular views when the weather is good”
  • View from the balcony
  • View from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles mizliz_uk, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5