We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Miramar

East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (440)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 61 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Miramar is Bournemouth's Country House Hotel by the Sea. An elegant and stylish Edwardian Villa set among beautifully landscaped gardens with stunning sea views across Poole Bay - with a vista to the Isle of Wight and the Isle of Purbeck. For discerning guests who are looking for individuality and elegance, a hotel set apart from larger chain hotels. All rooms at Hotel Miramar offer either sea or garden views, with some rooms and suites featuring large sea view balconies. Rooms are individually styled and are well equipped and comfortable. You will discover a cosy Drawing Room and bar area, with extensive terrace and deck for al fresco dining or relaxation. Service at Miramar is friendly and attentive yet unobtrusive, and the award-winning kitchen brigade offer a super range of food in Restaurant No 43 and the Ocean Bar & Terrace. Daily changing menus in the restaurant offer Anglo-Mediterranean dishes, together with bistro style options and the Miramar Afternoon Tea by the Sea choices. Hotel Miramar is a favoured wedding and functions venue, available for exclusive use by prior arrangement. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre, five-minute walk to the beach and the sea, and Bournemouth rail station within a mile. The popular New Forest National Park is within a 30-minute drive, and the world-famous Jurassic Coast within an hour's drive. Guests booking direct with the hotel enjoy free private parking and complimentary breakfast. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
1,410Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 887
  • 281
  • 129
  • 66
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Joanne B wrote a review Today
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
Such a lovely hotel, the rooms were lovely and spacious and very clean and the views over the sea are breath taking. The breakfast was brilliant and the manager who has just started was so attentive and made time to talk to us. Would highly recommend and can’t wait to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ghjj wrote a review Yesterday
United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Just had a lovely stay with you,room was clean... breakfast was wonderful and plenty of choice...... lovely new manager oksana was helping out , she was very friendly and welcoming...we will come back soon....... thank you hotel miramar...........
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, General Manager at Hotel Miramar
Responded today
Dear Gavjuj, Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning Oksana. She will be delighted to have been mentioned as she only joined our team two days ago! . I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Patricia Green General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Malanie H wrote a review 14 Apr
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We have just spent a delightful weekend at the Miramar Hotel. The hotel has a small, country house style and has been maintained to a high standard and the caring staff look after you from the moment you arrive. From a light lunch on the terrace overlooking the sea to a hearty, served breakfast in the morning, you could not ask for more. Will most certainly be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, General Manager at Hotel Miramar
Responded yesterday
Dear Malanie H, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Miramar is a treasured place for so many people and I am very pleased to read you have had another memorable stay with us. We look forward to your next visit, Kind regards Patricia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mulberry5050 wrote a review 12 Apr
East Anglia, United Kingdom162 contributions69 helpful votes
As regular diners of 15 years at the Miramar we were massively disappointed by our visit this lunchtime. We headed for the outdoor terrace and found a table but there were no staff to be found. My husband headed into the bar and ordered drinks and sat down with menus. 15 minutes later and no drinks in sight he headed inside again to order one sandwich and chase up the drinks. Another 10 minutes later we finally had drinks and another HOUR after that, having chased the sandwich order twice, we were served a burnt club sandwich! Excuses ranged from short staffed, new staff and that the coffee machine was broken - we hadn't even ordered coffee!!! There were eventually 6 occupied tables with 3 staff members, more than adequate cover and yet someone from every table ended up heading into the bar to chase their orders up. When my husband went to the bar to pay he overheard a woman telling the staff she had been visiting the hotel for 20 years and that she would never return. We visit many bars and restaurants and have never encountered such incompetence and indifference. No management visible or chain of command in sight for the floundering staff. Time to up your game quickly for the summer season. You rely on your regulars and all of us were shocked by just how poor the standard of service was.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, General Manager at Hotel Miramar
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and I am saddened to read you review. I would really welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in person and as I don't have your contact details, can I ask you to call me direct at the Hotel on 01202 556581. I sincerely hope to hear from you, Kind regards Patricia Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jay wrote a review 8 Apr
10 contributions4 helpful votes
I really like this hotel but we had a few issues during are staying. The room we stayed in was in dire need of upgrading and decorating. Paint work was chipped and grubby, the wall paper was coming off in places. My room had pigeon feathers inside on arrival, also in the walk in wardrobe we found an empty whisky bottle. The duvet cover had a hole in it. The shower pressure was dreadful. On a positive note the staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, General Manager at Hotel Miramar
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Jamesbmth74, I am sorry that you had some issues during your stay and these have already been discussed with the team in order that we can improve our services. It is very pleasing to read that you found the staff very friendly and attentive and I hope that we will see you again in the future. We would sincerely welcome the opportunity to ensure you have a perfect stay next time. Kind regards, Patricia Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam H wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I held my baby shower at Hotel Miramar and couldn't recommend the hotel enough! I dealt with Brian the event coordinator in the run up to my event and he answered all my questions quickly and efficiently and had some really helpful ideas on how to make the most of the room. The rest of the team were equally as helpful, especially on the day. We had an afternoon tea and all the dietary requirements were met with no question. The food and service was fantastic! The young lady who looked after us was very friendly, popping in to make sure there was anything we needed, and taking lots of photos of me and my guests which was great. As I own a decor company, I decorated the space myself and was allowed in the day before to do this, which was a huge help, and took away any stress on the morning of the event. I've worked at Hotel Miramar on many occasions and can't recommend it enough, its a beautiful hotel with lovely helpful staff with a fantastic view as a bonus! we got lucky and the sun was shining for us on the day, which added to the beautiful view we had out of the library room. I work at a lot of hotels in Bournemouth, and I'm so glad I chose Hotel Miramar to host such an important personal event for myself and my friends and family, it was defiantly the right choice!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, General Manager at Hotel Miramar
Responded 5 days ago
Dear samhl4111FC, Than you for posting such wonderful feedback and we are all delighted you had such a great time with us at Miramar. We wish you every happiness and joy with the new arrival and hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you all again soon. kind regards Patricia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicky S wrote a review 6 Apr
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Booked a 3 course lunch for 22 people for a 60th Wedding Anniversary in the Library Room, lovely room with beautiful views to their gardens and the sea. Food was lovely staff were amazing, nothing too much trouble from the moment I emailed them the enquiry, sent through a plan of the lunch and what food, wine etc we had asked for. I would highly recommend them for any event you may need, such a friendly, warm welcoming when we arrived top
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Miramar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Miramar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear nickysM3316CB, Thank you for your wonderful review and we are all so delighted you had such a great time with us celebrating a special family anniversary. It really was our pleasure to host you and your family. I will share your comments with the team and i hope we will see you again sometime soon, Best regards Pat Green General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David S wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had our Rotary Presidents night there again. Food service was next to nothing. We had a super event all because of there help. We have also booked 2 more events and cannot wait stress free. This must be our 10th event at this hotel, best place in Bournemouth .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Best place in Bournemouth
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Miramar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Miramar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words and continuous support. It is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
moonwalker wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We have used the Miramar for our Ladies Festival for the last 20 years and left many 5 star reviews but are unable to do this year as the Food quality and service in the restaurant was very poor. Breakfast also sub standard waited half hour for it to arrive and it was not busy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Miramar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Miramar
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are all disappointed that you did find some aspects of our service below your expectations and the high standards that we set ourselves. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Your comments have been shared with all concerned, and any shortcomings would be addressed, as necessary. Hotel Miramar's F&B offering has indeed proven popular with hotel residents and local patrons alike, not least because everything is cooked fresh to order using locally sourced produce whenever possible. Finally, may we take this opportunity and thank you for your custom and feedback, and once again, offer our sincere apologies for the fact that you were disappointed on this occasion. We would like to assure you that the satisfaction and comfort of our guests is of paramount importance and every member of "Team Miramar" strives to achieve the highest of standards in our profession. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phil42bognor wrote a review Mar 2024
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom162 contributions44 helpful votes
The Miramar is a superb hotel, we knew we would like it when one of the previous reviews said it was old fashioned. We would tend to agree with that review but in the best possible way, we like "old fashioned". We had the Shelley room and it was excellent , it was large, with a lovely private balcony. The only criticism was the television which was much too small for a room this size and it had very few Freeview channels tuned in, and those that were had a poor reception and kept breaking up. The staff were all superb and very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent, well cooked and a good selection, but not sure where the £17-50 price tag came from ?. We ate in the No43 Restaurant one evening and again it was to a very high quality. We have tried four hotels in Bournemouth over the past couple of years and the Miramar is definitely the best, and we will be returning for our next visit in October
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: take some binoculars for watching the TV ??
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Miramar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Miramar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Your wonderful feedback has truly made our day and we are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience at our lovely hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bournemouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
miramar hotel bournemouth, bournemouth hotel miramar, miramar bournemouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MIRAMAR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Miramar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Miramar?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.1 miles), Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.1 miles), and Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Miramar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Miramar?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Miramar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Miramar?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Coconut Tree Bournemouth, Agora Restaurant, and Revolution Bournemouth.
Is Hotel Miramar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Bournemouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Miramar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Miramar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Miramar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Miramar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.1 miles), Christchurch Priory (4.2 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (4.2 miles).
Does Hotel Miramar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.