We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Orchid Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Orchid Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Start your review of The Orchid Hotel
 Click to rate
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent 3 nights in the Hotel staying in a family room. Great size room with king size bed + single and all very clean. Compact bathroom, not much space to actually put anything, but great shower. Friendly, accommodating staff throughout the Hotel, who we saw at varying times of the day, so very hard working. Good breakfast and wide selection....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights. I booked the room in December last year in preparation for a surprise birthday party held nearby. A few days before our arrival I received an email stating there was a function being held on the Saturday evening so there would be some noise. We were offered a quiet room, which we accepted. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Wiltshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Brilliant place for our few days away. All staff encountered were normal and as helpful and efficient as can be. Accommodation clean and comfortable. Afternoon tea was great and location quiet but just a short (5 / 10 minutes) from centres of activity. Free internet! Thanks a million!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireJudd
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A comfortable, beautifully refurbished hotel, with helpful, friendly staff, cleanliness second to none. Cuisine is wonderful and reasonably priced. A small bar with a wide selection of drinks, especially gin. Will certainly be using this hotel for our mini breaks to Bournemouth throughout the year. Nice stroll into town, situated in a quiet road. Don't take my word for it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlantis
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arlantis Thank you very much for your glowing 5 Star Review. We were delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the cuisine wonderful and the hotel itself to be spotless! All our Team work very hard to ensure our guests receive the best in Customer service from Check in to Check out so thank you-...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, very friendly and attentive staff and lovely clean and comfortable room. We had a lovely stay and would definitely book here again. Highly recommended. The breakfast was just amazing with plenty of choice and cooked to order.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marycj71
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marycj71 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 Star review. It was a pleasure to read you found our staff friendly and attentive and that you would definitely stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards Christina Ioannides Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful hotel, extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel were lovely, especially the bar and restaurant staff. We stayed as a birthday treat for me and couldn't of asked for better. The bed was very very comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous and spotless !! There was plenty of tea/coffee in our room and even two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen P
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen P Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review and rating us as "Fabulous" Delighted to read you found all our staff lovely, food delicious and you especially appreciated the "home form home" atmosphere which we have all worked hard to try and create for all our guests. Once again thank...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Now I have very mixed reviews of this place. I work in the industry as a rosette level chef so I won't lie was a little let down with my food at dinner. Lamb overdone dauphy a bit dry and greens were gritty. Breakfast on the other hand on both occasions was brilliant. I did feel not all things were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamie B
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie B Thank you for your review and for all your comments. Of course I was very shocked to read you did not find my Staff or the food to be up to scratch when we have so many reviews complimenting us on both? Could you I kindly ask that you please send me an email directly to the...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a 1 night Groupon stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel and rooms. And the restaurant wow !!! the food was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we will be going back. And I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane760
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dewar jane760 Thank you for your 5 Star review- was an absolute pleasure to read you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and rated our Restaurant as "Wow" with amazing food. I was also delighted to read that even though you were part of a Groupon deal you did not feel like you were treated differently in any...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I got married at The Orchid Hotel 10 years ago. We have since moved away from Bournemouth so when we noticed that it had been fully refurbished we wanted to return. The Orchid does not disappoint. The hotel is not full of facilities but what it does offer is a relaxed stylish environment (almost boutique without being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sijlee
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sijlee Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 Star review and how wonderful that you were married here 10 years ago to then return and not be disappointed. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back where next time you can also enjoy our delightful Restaurant. Kind Regards Christina Ioannides...

Bristol
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The welcome we received at reception at The Orchid was the best we've had anywhere. Our room was spotless, spacious and a very comfortable king-size bed. Bathroom immaculate with nice toiletries. Dinner was amazingly delicious (chef has a Michelin star!) All staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. We watched a singer after dinner called Diane who was brilliant - all this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rednovember
Christina J, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rednovember Thank you for your 5 Star review- we were delighted you had a Perfect Weekend and found our Staff exceptionally friendly and our food delicious! We are very lucky and proud to have such wonderful staff and an amazing Chef and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future where it will be our...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
3,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has almost completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. 90% of the refurbishment has now been completed with the last phase being our new restaurant which we aim to have open by this Summer, offering informal elegant dining emphasising on simplicity with great food and service. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Orchid Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Orchid Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware any functions being held, you will almost certainly hear the music.”
  • Compact bathroom
  • Single bed in our Family Room
  • Shower over bath
  • King size bed in our Family Room
 of 5 bubbles U993TKandyc, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any really”
 of 5 bubbles WiltshireJudd, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cant it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles jane760, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 106 which was really adequate for us”
 of 5 bubbles janiced30, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nothing to say!”
 of 5 bubbles SteveFa2013, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5