Bonnington Beach Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bonnington Beach Hotel

Twin Room
Traveller (108)
Double Room
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#45 of 53 small hotels in Bournemouth
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Bonnington Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Bournemouth, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Bonnington Beach Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free internet access is available.

The small hotel offers baggage storage, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a lounge. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as The Square (0.3 mi) and Bournemouth Pier (0.3 mi), guests of Bonnington Beach Hotel can easily experience some of Bournemouth's most well known attractions.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Crab at Bournemouth, Chez Fred, and Arbor Restaurant, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Bournemouth is also known for some great gardens, including Lower Gardens and Boscombe Chine Gardens, which are not too far from Bonnington Beach Hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Bournemouth!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

44 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Bournebouth Intl Airport
Eastleigh Airport
28.3 mi
See all flights
417Reviews5Q+A67Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 106
  • 73
  • 49
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AmyJaneTun wrote a review Oct 2011
14 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in July. It wasn't planned - we travelled from Brighton to Bournemouth for the day and ended up staying for two nights.

Upside:

Manager is great - let my boyfriend use his iphone charger and recommended some great pubs and places to eat;

Breakfast - two full English on two consecutive days, I felt spoilt;

Location - awesome.

Downside:

The rooms are very warm (but it was July);

The hotel is noisy (but it gives the place a buzz);

£50 for a midweek stay isn't a great deal (but it was so close to everything to make our stay more than worth it);

The chef was shouting at one of the waitresses because she was offering guests extra toast. Bit uncomfortable to witness.

All in all, I'd stay again, no questions. And the reviews stating that the staff creep in and out rooms - complete bull! Staff were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lana M wrote a review Mar 2015
London, England, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic cheap no frills room with clean sheets and shower tea making facility is available as Web site states but there is no actual tea/coffee and Web site needs to state this. Cot charge was 2 pounds but I was charged more not a huge problem but Web site needs updating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kitty3279 wrote a review Aug 2011
Aylesbury, United Kingdom6 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the hotel last minute as an overnight stay on a family trip to Bournemouth. It is only 5mins walk to beach which was great and we were lucky to get a parking space, although spaces are very tight.
It was ok for a place to sleep but there are no creature comforts, no towels as their laundry had not been delivered that day. Very, very, very basic.
Although it wasn't awful we wouldnt stay there again and would find somewhere better for same cost if not cheaper.
Not really value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Expect a bed in your room & nothing more otherwise book another hotel!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LMT wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst place I've stayed in my life, hasn't seen a vacuum. Felt like a cell, very grubby and depressing and cold, no proper heating, no soap, only 1 teabag. Didnt even book this Hotel, it's a con, given false information. Need Trading Standards involved. You shouldn't pay for something you haven't booked for. Don't know how they get away with it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colav f wrote a review Sept 2011
London, United Kingdom1 contribution39 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first time in my life that I've been viciously attacked. But I'll come to that soon.
Here's why you should stay away from this hotel:
1. My family were disturbed by people passing through the heavily trafficked corridor.
2. We paid extra for hotel parking, and when i complained about being blocked in, was told I could walk to the beach!
3. The minimum one expects in a hotel is a comfortable night's sleep. Well, my bed had springs which jutted out and made for an agonising night of torture (which I eventually ended at 4am with a stroll).
4. Incredibly and worst of all was my treatment by the staff. I complained at checkout but was told manager was away and nothing could be done. I left my number yet had to call three times before I git through to the manager.
His indifference, hostility and stone-walling turned to vicious aggression and threats when I finally told him that unless he resolved this fairly I would have no choice but to leave a bad review.
How about this for a new low expectation: we don't pay to be treated like a criminal. this hotel certainly has a new take on hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madaggie wrote a review Feb 2012
England54 contributions119 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had pre booked 3 nights B&B by phone for myself & my daughter, one night I was staying
alone, but was quite happy to pay double room rate & paid a deposit to secure
the room. I was told by the member of staff that car parking was included in the
price. We arrived at the Hotel early evening & before we had even got out of the
car could see a male inside glaring at us in a really hostile fashion. When we
tried to book in, he was really aggressive for no apparent reason & said we had
to pay £6 per day to park. I explained I had been told this was included & he
got really angry, shouting at me that this was not the case! He then said it
would be cheaper for me on my own to book in at the Hotel over the road!!!! I
explained I had booked there & wanted to stay. He then said he didn't have a
twin room even though I had booked it & paid a deposit!! He said we could look
at a triple room, which we did. He then started shouting at me that it was a
party Hotel & so bad that they had to have bouncers on the door & I wouldn't
like that would I!!!!! He then atacked my daughter saying as she lives in
Bournemouth she should have warned me the area is really noisy!! Then yelled at
me again that I was a cheapskate & at the price I was paying he couldn't make
any money!! The price had been given to me by his Hotel staff!!! We felt very
threatened by him & felt forced to leave We were so concerned by his aggressive
threatening manner that we reported it to the police!!. We then had to walk the
streets in the dark & pouring rain, two lone females looking for another Hotel.
He obviously regularly takes advance bookings at a reasonable price but then
rents the rooms out to people calling in & paying a higher price. We were told
at the lovely Hotel we found later in the same area that he has a really bad
reputation locally.THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!! Select all the negative reviews & you will see many other people have had the same experience!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Huw A wrote a review Oct 2011
London, United Kingdom1 contribution25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After making a booking by phone, my girlfriend and I turned up only to be told there were no vacancies and that they wouldn't have taken a booking because they were full. This was after he did a double take of us when we turned up in person. Maybe he didn't like my beard or maybe because we are a mixed race couple. But he told us we didn't call him, so we did a redial on my mobile and suprise suprise HE ANSWERED!!!! DIRTY LYING ----------
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy123bartlett wrote a review Feb 2015
2 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived and the owner was already funny with us for not paying card and only paying by cash which we've never had before considering we stay in hotels often, we arrived in our room which we never complained about whatsoever everything was how we would of expected it for the price until.... 9 o'clock in the evening we get a bang on our door telling us we've got better accommodation and we need to move upstairs (even though we've come in with lots of luggage and had unpacked everything and made ourselves at home) we asked why this was and he replied 'bournemouth hospital have given us a disabled patient and because you're on the first floor and we have no lift we need to move you' which we understood but we had already paid for that room and could have been asleep at that time as we had an early start the following morning which we explained when we arrived. Unhappy with this we asked if we could be refunded to which he originally replied he would, but a couple of minutes later had said to us that we cannot get a refund and he can evict us if we didn't move room so we decided we would seeing as we'd already paid. He gave us a complimentary bottle of wine which we found very nice of him to begin seeing as he had told us it was a £15 bottle of wine which we then searched on the internet and realised it's under a fiver so that was another lie to the bundle. The new room we were given was okay, slightly better than the previous room which he did promise us, so we continue to pack are stuff out and watch a bit of tv before we sleep. 11oclock we were both woken up to the loudest of banging and shouting 'open the door now' so I jumped out put my clothes on and answered the door 'there's blood on the bed it's soaked through the mattress we will charge you for the mattress' it was my girlfriends time of the month and she had leaked the slightest bit of blood onto the sheet that we know for a fact because we took a picture of this just incase anything was said, there is no way possible that the slightest bit of blood had gone onto the mattress he then accused me of beating my girlfriend and asked if it had come from a head injury to my girlfriend, I genuinely couldn't believe it he then asked if he could check our arms if we were junkies even though it was the obvious that we weren't as we are a clean presentive couple, when we told him the situation about my girlfriends time of the month he belittled her and basically had a go at her and then asked her if she had any blood related diseases in a aggressive manner which he was to me and her the whole time, we then closed the door and neither of us could sleep as we didn't know what was going to happen I've never in the last 2 years seen my girlfriend so upset and shook up, I then realised he had left a voicemail on my phone which I have saved for evidence if anything is ever brought up on him telling me it was originally the sheet that got the blood on not the mattress, so as he was walking up the stairs he clearly knew that he could claim more money seeing as we had then seen a programme on him 'Nick Davis' who is in grands of debt. I'd also like to bring up the fact when he told us there was no hotels around which we knew there was he told us he owned three hotels and a nightclub? Which clearly isn't the case seeing on how eager he was to charge and wouldn't tell me which ones? With my girlfriend shook up by the aggressive behaviour, we rang other hotels but unfortunately the closest hotels were fully booked so we decided we would have to stay the night which neither of us were happy about as we didn't feel safe around this man. They have advertised this hotel as a budget hotel but trust me on this one there are better and cheaper hotels in and around bournemouth so think twice before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
reviewn01 wrote a review Nov 2010
Church Crookham, United Kingdom17 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friends stayed here for graduation and the 'phil mitchell' lookalike decided he would square up to my mate (a girl might I add)!! He was 'fing and blinding' in her face and when she asked him politely to give her back some of her personal space he got even madder!
This guy has truely got issues and we felt that if he got any madder he would have hit my friend - DO NOT STAY HERE!!
Customer service is definately not this hotels forte, he was creepy waiting outside our room and has got servere anger management issues - all in all he shouldn't be owning a hotel - cheap as it may be but rules and regulations are broken when he wishes especially when other people that stayed there are up for flirting with him - I would say your safety is at risk.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
orgazmobile wrote a review Jul 2011
Newbury, United Kingdom1 contribution18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here twice with my girlfriend in 2008 / 2009. On the first stay everything was fine until we went out and when we came back the lock on the inside of the door had been unscrewed and removed, meaning we couldnt lock the door. On the second visit we were put in a room halfway up the stairs, which had an unlockable door as it had been unscrewed and removed like the room on the previous visit. At one point i was in the shower and my girlfriend was in the bathroom having a wash and putting make up on. When we both came out of the bathroom the doorstop was in the midle of the floor and it was not there earlier. Looking back it made me think if someone had come into our room while we were in the bathroom, which i am sure happened, they must have known we were both in there so were we being watched? We went out that evening and i purposefully put the doorstop in a position i would remember. When we got back the doorstop had moved and my girlfriends suitcase was ontop of her boots. These were expensive boots and there is no way my girlfriend would have left them like this. We also heard someone coming up the stairs not long after we got into our room, they only sounded lke they went halfway up the flight of stairs, the only thing halfway up was our room, you had to go up another flight of stairs to get to the corridor of rooms. I put my ear against the door to see if i could hear anything and as my hair brushed against the door i heard someone going down the flight of stairs to the reception.
The owner / boss was always very friendly and always asking where we were going when we went out, makes me think he was trying to gauge how long we would be away.
I cant advise strongly enough that you stay away from this place unless you want to be listened to and spied on.
I didnt even want to rate this as a 1 out of 5 but thats the least they would let me do.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caroline s asked a question Feb 2019
97 contributions65 helpful votes
Is this hotel on the beach and if so do any of the rooms have a sea view?
Answer from RachaelJ552
Southam, United Kingdom26 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel is a complete farce. The website is completely out of date showing facilities that aren’t even there. When we went the owner was incredibly abusive and rude and has since given a highly incorrect management response to my review. There are many amazing hotels in Bournemouth but this one and its sister hotel the Carisbrooke are just glorified hostels for contractors.
Fahy1973 asked a question Oct 2017
Clanfield, United Kingdom91 contributions60 helpful votes
How far is it from bars /clubs etc ?
Answer from Leanneastridge
Eastbourne, United Kingdom498 contributions240 helpful votes
10 minutes from the town centre , not far at all .
Wendy V asked a question Jul 2017
1 contribution
do you have wheelchair accessible room/rooms
Answer from Barry C
Southampton, United Kingdom38 contributions6 helpful votes
They didn't have a lift, so I wouldn't bother!
Andrew B wrote a tip Nov 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don’t think they have nice rooms"
Read full review
Maggle wrote a tip Oct 2018
Daventry, United Kingdom74 contributions68 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
sarahh99765 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor"
Read full review
Niklucif wrote a tip May 2017
Portsmouth, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Relax. This is a slightly eccentric hotel, with a mixed cliental, have fun."
Read full review
ggbowley wrote a tip Apr 2017
Melksham, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we stayed in room number 24 top floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bournemouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BONNINGTON BEACH HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bonnington Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Bournemouth (0.2 miles), Boom Battle Bar Bournemouth (0.2 miles), and Be At One Cocktail Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free internet access, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Twelve Eatery, Lolas Restaurant, and The Place.
Is Bonnington Beach Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Bournemouth.
Are there any historical sites close to Bonnington Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.5 miles), Christchurch Priory (4.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (4.8 miles).
All Bournemouth HotelsBournemouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BournemouthHotels near Bonnington Beach Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire