We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound Inn

6.7 miles from Dorchester centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
26 High Street | Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of The Greyhound Inn
 Click to rate
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We lunched at the special price of £12.95 for 2 courses. It was excellent. Dining room is clean and spacious, staff were courteous and food was excellent, especially the hake served with samphire. However, the normal menu is much more expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlbertfromDorset
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here back in the summer, just remembered to write a review! All the staff were very welcoming, they were having building work done on a new extension, but didn't affect our great time. We were shown to our room and was immediately happy with the feel of it. It was well stocked and had a warm cosy feel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank funkygorilla
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to this well-known country pub for Saturday dinner with local friends. There is a good selection of beers and wines, although it's worth avoiding one or two of the cheaper reds. The food was excellent in parts but well below par in others. For our main courses some people had the risotto which was almost cold on arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny L
Radstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having just returned from a midwinter 3 night stay at The Greyhound I wanted to write a review to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very welcoming & helpful. The food excellent & the willingness for flexibility over breakfast time meant that for once the effects of my disability (which leaves me with severe pain...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PeruSpirit
Crawley
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night and must say this hotel was excellent. Rooms are across the car park from the pub so nice and quiet. The room was spacious and comfortable. Food in the pub was excellent as was the service. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Would stay again if in the area

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamesd2705
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, who went above and beyond, delicious food, lovely rooms... This is a charming and welcoming place to stay. The staff were incredibly warm and helpful. We had Sunday lunch and it was exceptional, as was the wine! Would love to go back and stay again sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jayne B
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Great pub in a beautiful picture perfect Dorset village . Rooms are in a separate block across the car park so are quiet and unaffected by pub noise . Rooms are a good size with really comfortable beds . Bathroom had really good shower and everything was very clean . Pub is really nice , great food menu and food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank matthew231
england
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed at the Greyhound for 2 nights recently and it was a great experience! The staff were all wonderful, Matt, Anne, the bar staff and the cleaners were all friendly & helpful and ensured that we had a great stay. The rooms were clean and tidy, we stayed in James Brown, (great room), nice comfortable beds and good sized...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nugget00
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Haven't been to this pub for quite a few years but decided with friends to have dinner there. Very charming dining room with space around the tables excellent service and beautifully cooked food from the starters to the desserts my duck was excellent and the ham hock was a winner with our men defiantly will be making a repeat appearance...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carole P
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointing, this pub has an excellent reputation and yet we were kept waiting over 30 minutes after ordering, the food wasn't particularly hot, the chicken was tasteless and the red wine jus had split. A very disappointing visit and one we won't be repeating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieF72
Matthew M, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am upset to learn that you were disappointed with lunch yesterday. First of all, due to extreme unforeseen circumstances, at very late notice, we lost a couple of staff members back of house, which may have had a bearing on the 30 minutes you had to wait from ordering, all that said, our chicken...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
6.7 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
140 reviews
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
820 reviews
21.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
298 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012 this is Dorset's Dining Pub of the Year twice in the past three years. Handsome 18th century coaching inn in one of England's prettiest villages, full of thatched cottages with a trout stream running through. Mentioned in Thomas Hardy's novels and the setting for Hollywood films of his work.Six newly refurbished bedrooms, dvds, ipod docks, proper pillows and duvets, wellies for bad weather and an award winning restaurant just across the car park from our stable block rooms.Families positively welcomed and we'll make you something to eat no matter what time you arrive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: 26 High Street | Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range: £82 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Dorchester
The Greyhound Inn Dorchester, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Woking, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I should imagine they are all good, we had James brown and we saw nellie inside which also seemed nice”
 of 5 bubbles funkygorilla, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the little extra and get the bigger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nugget00, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Possibly the rooms on the second floor are better”
 of 5 bubbles Birdwatcherhampshire, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a place to stay if looking for a room with a view but you don't have to walk far to get one.”
 of 5 bubbles 550annetted, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I should imagine all the rooms are good; we were pleased we were in an upstairs room though in a sunny corner.”
 of 5 bubbles 100garyp, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5