We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castleton

Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A Charming & Luxurious 4 star gold award winning Victorian Guest House, full of character, on the stunning World Heritage Jurassic Coast and located just 100 metres from Swanage's glorious sandy beach and a short level stroll along the seafront to the Town Centre with its many attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
55Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
325Reviews
50Photos
1Q+A
68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 46
  • 17
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Owner is a horrible lady who needs to learn some manners!! Don't come here it's dirty and horrible. There are nicer B&Bs in the area who don't have a horrible owner. And the price is silly for what your getting. I would never spend that much to feel insulted by some woman
Read more
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton
Responded yesterday
Hello, we are very sorry to hear you had a a bad time. Please could you tell us your exact dates of you stay so we can pinpoint when the problem was. We are sorry you found it dirty but as you can see from our other reviews we try to keep our cleanliness at a high standard. I appologise if you found Rebecca rude, but she is at work every day, elsewhere and Mollie tends to deal with customers so we are just enquiring as to what the incident was. If you'd like to email us with details so we can improve the matter that would be great. Thanks
Read more
We recently spent three nights at The Castelton and had a wonderful time. We were welcomed by Mollie who looked after us brilliantly and was very informative with suggestions of things to do and info about the area. The bedroom was spacious and warm (room 8) which for a family
Read more
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We love to hear such positive feed back and we are so glad you had a lovely stay with us here. We will be happy to have you back any time and you were and absloute pleasure to have (from Mollie!). Thanks again!
Read more
We stayed here for 2 nights whilst The Swanage Blues Festival was on. It is a clean, comfortable and pleasant place. It was ideally situated a short walk along the seafront into the town centre. The breakfast was good and staff very friendly and efficient. Would definitely
Read more
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us! So glad you had such a great time and can't wait to you again!
Read more
Lovely room, it was warm, clean and comfortable - there was a great breakfast and very friendly and welcoming staff. I would definitely recommend it, and look forward to returning next time I'm in the area!
Read more
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton
Responded 8 Jan 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Castleton. We are happy to hear everything was up to standards, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
We stayed over Christmas while visiting family. Molly was so accommodating and in the spirit of the season we were offered an extra room so we could have a bit more space. Our rooms were lovely, clean, warm and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent and my vegan brother was given
Read more
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton
Responded 8 Jan 2019
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period, and can't wait to see you all again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementThe Castleton
Guest Bedroom
This was a ground floor room No 10. There was a choice of a superking or 2 singles
Photo provided by managementThe Castleton
En-Suite Bathroom
PreviousNext
12
"Windows can be left open in second floor rooms without any noise disturbance."
"Ask for a large double"
"Some rooms face onto the quieter side street , but even the Main Roads not that noisy."
"Family room has extra space."
"ROOM 2 only for view not room layout"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$129 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of PurbeckSwanage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing