We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castleton

Save
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crows nest”(16 reviews)
“family room”(19 reviews)
“full english”(23 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
242
41
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
242
41
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrows nestfamily roomfull englishsmall hotelmain bedroombottled waterthe ground floorthe pubguest loungeshort walkthe perfect place to staybus stopdouble bedbreakfast was excellentvery comfortable stayb and bbed and breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly welcome, perfect english breakfast and large airy room with nice bathroom (room 10). Tiny gripe was our bed was two soft singles put together which meant we couldnt cuddle together in the middle but next time I will book through hotel direct and specify...More

Thank Bob F
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The CastletonResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review! We are glad you liked the staff as we try to have fun whilst working very hard here at the Castleton! Sorry about the bed, its the only room that has this so should be easy to find you a different...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The shower in our room was very ineffective-the water trickling out but not strong enough to actually wash you.when mentioned to staff they helpfully allowed us to use a shower in a vacant room,unfortunately this was only slightly better. Parking is an issue here,there are...More

Thank Martin C
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The CastletonResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this feed back, we are sorry to hear your experience here wasn't the best it could be. Apologise for parking being first come first served. We hope you'll come back again and enjoy your time here more.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 3 night stay and enjoyed it, the room was spotless, in fact the whole hotel was very clean, great breakfast, helpful staff, especially the young lady who seemed to be running the place, lovely smile and always willing to help. Very close...More

Thank jem1961
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The CastletonResponded 1 week ago

So glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review. We'd be happy to have you back anytime! Thanks again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a short two night stay at the Castleton hotel Swanage in June. The single room was very comfortable and clean, very good value, staff were very helpful and a good breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel

Thank Stevegibbons2018
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The CastletonResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review, hope you come back and visit us again one day.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Castleton is in a really convenient location being only yards from the beach and the lovely restaurants and shops of the pretty seaside town of Swanage. Our room and en suite were spotlessly clean and well-equipped, and the hotel breakfast was fantastic - catering...More

Thank sjm292018
Response from Rebecca K, Owner at The CastletonResponded 1 week ago

Great review! 'Best hotel you've stayed ever' is fantastic to hear, thank you so much! See you again.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$130 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$130 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Castleton staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Windows can be left open in second floor rooms without any noise disturbance."
Read review
"Ask for a large double"
Read review
"Some rooms face onto the quieter side street , but even the Main Roads not that noisy."
Read review
"Family room has extra space."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing