We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Pines Hotel

Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (143)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Swanage
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

The Pines Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Swanage, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as National Coastwatch (1.1 mi) and Anvil Point Lighthouse (1.6 mi), guests of The Pines Hotel can easily experience some of Swanage's most well known attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

The Pines Hotel features room service. In addition, as a valued The Pines Hotel guest, you can enjoy free breakfast that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you like Chinese restaurants, The Pines Hotel is conveniently located near Wok Chef.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Swanage Pier (0.9 mi) or Lucy's Farm (0.8 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Swanage!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Separate dining area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian

Location

Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT England
The Pines Hotel
765Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 324
  • 259
  • 112
  • 49
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rory561 wrote a review 19 Feb
Windsor, United Kingdom256 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
Booked this last minute for partners 60th. We arrived and couldn’t park, the car park is not adequate for the hotel, and impacted by building works. Outside impressions were not good, however the lobby and welcome were. The lounge and bar looks recently renovated with stunning views to one side. Very comfortable and friendly helpful staff, Room: we didn’t have a sea view but couldn’t expect one as only booked previous day. We overlooked the car park. The room was quite noisy with lots of banging, possibly just doors, but it was distracting. The room itself was clean, carpet and curtains looked new. White bedding, comfy bed, windows that opened (quite unusual but welcome). The bathroom was tiny and has seen better days with stained grout, one row entirely cracked and missing, so small it was very difficult to get into the bath. The bathroom mirror didn’t match the decor at all. Shower was hot and powerful, nice white towels too. The bedroom and bathroom ceilings are like an old office block, dropped polystyrene tiles. Very surprised to see them in an obviously refurbished bedroom. An inspection hole was cut in the wall in front of the door, obviously to access pipes, this was wonky, and left uncovered. Hairdryer is ancient, screwed into a frame in the drawer and had no power meaning I had to go out with wet hair, no iron provided. Tea and coffee area was helpful but there was no lighting for that, meaning the two bright lights in the main room needed turning on to see. Moving the coffee area into the main room and using the space to expand the bathroom would seem to make sense. Breakfast: restaurant has panoramic views, again very welcoming staff, breakfast itself was ok, the buffet was disappointing and we chose to order from the items cooked to order which were fine. We ate in one evening and found the menu limited, and expensive. However the food we had was fine. Overall we had a nice stay, largely due to the views from the lounge and the staff. We did feel overall the food and rinks were overpriced, and also that some attention to detail in the room we had would be easily achieved.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - it is good to read your detailed feedback. Apologies that you had trouble parking when you arrived. At this present time, on busy nights we have struggled with car park spaces due to the building work as you mentioned. This is only a temporary issue fortunately and our reception team are more than happy to help with assisting in arranging other cars to move to free up spaces but please do accept my apologies for the inconvenience. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme in the hotel when we close every January, we only have a handful of bathrooms left to refurbish now, without being sure which room you stayed in, I can only assume that this room is one of them. I am sorry that your hair dryer wasn't working, if we had been made aware we would have been more than happy to get a replacement up to you straight away. I'm really pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and made the most of our wonderful views whilst you were with us. Please do come back and see us again. If you give our reception team a call before booking, they have excellent knowledge about each of our bedrooms, which are all different and will be more than happy to allocate you one that suits your needs and preferences. Thank you again for your feedback, it is really useful and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare N wrote a review 18 Feb
Tiverton, United Kingdom70 contributions21 helpful votes
The best view of the ocean, comfy bed , lovely staff nothing was too much trouble. Our waitress even saved our half empty bottle of water for us for the next evening! The food was totally amazing every night and breakfast was good too . Car parking was a bit restricted and I expect it would be difficult in the high Summer . We will go back .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meals too - we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rob C wrote a review 16 Feb
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Greeted by wonderful sea views and very friendly staff. Breakfast very good and was included in the price. Room was a little noisy and The toilet and shower room could do with modernisation but bed very comfortable. 10 minute walk into Swanage either through nearby streets or down the steeps steps from the sliding doors. The steps lead to a lovely walk although not much space to manoeuvre along the seafront. I would recommend and definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your 4* review following your recent stay - we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme here with regard to our bedrooms and bathrooms, we just finished our last round of refurbishments 2 weeks ago and look forward to completing the few that are left over the next year or two. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ladykb27 wrote a review Jan 2024
Swanage, United Kingdom78 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Wow NYE Gala Dinner was amazing!!! The food was incredible 5 courses with a carafe of wine per couple then chocolates and sparkling wine to see in the new year… deffo value for Money. We also attended last year and this year i would say the food was even better.. menu was very similar but that didn’t matter at all
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Eve gala dinner with us! We very much look forward to hopefully seeing you again this year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stratford wrote a review Dec 2023
11 contributions2 helpful votes
The shower was awful. Just a drop. The bathroom light. Lit up the whole of bedroom. So woke up partner. Nice sea view. Double bed very narrow. Not good for sciatica. There was another room which we never asked for. Which was cold. A single bed. I slept in it. As had sciatica from other bed. Breakfast help yourself. Lot of fat from sausages. I had muffin and bacon was ok. Supper very expensive. Soup out of a tin. Lamb was ok. Not much on menu. Pricery. Puddings alright not handmade. Wine glass expensive. Nice sea view from room and walk down alot of steep steps to sea private beach. Then up again long walk. Outside of hotel not very impressive. I would not stay there again. Nearly, £300.00 for b&b and dinner
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Expensive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am sorry to read you were disappointed. We have a variety of rooms here which can all be let in different ways, we did have some empty rooms the night you were with us and therefore had we have known you were unhappy with your room, we would have happily moved you to another to ensure you were more comfortable. I am happy to reassure you that our soups are all homemade and not from a tin, together with our desserts which are also all homemade. We have a talented team of chefs in our kitchen who produce twice daily changing menus, this is why our menus have 5 or 6 dishes available instead of a menu of 12 or more that stays the same for weeks. We really are lucky to be located on top of a cliff with our stunning views and direct access to the beach - 154 steps, certainly not for the faint hearted as you mentioned. Do please still return to Swanage, there are so many wonderful things to do and beautiful places to explore here on the south coast.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevinchristopher1976 wrote a review Dec 2023
24 contributions5 helpful votes
Have just spent 1 night at The Pines Hotel Swanage. What can I say, fantastic staff, lovely room, great breakfast. Reception staff, very helpful, room lovely and clean, bed very comfortable breakfast very tasty. I will be back. Thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5* review - I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and very much look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
angiefletcher wrote a review Nov 2023
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed one night in the Purbeck Suite. It totally exceeded our expectations in every way. Beautiful views of Swanage Bay from the large balcony and from the large bed. Remote controlled curtains and balcony awning. Luxury loungers on the balcony. We chose to have breakfast delivered to our suite. What luxury! We just wish we could stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your stay in The Purbeck Suite - I am delighted to read them, it really is a spectacular room isn't it? We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future for a longer stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Passport36736467125 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Very pleased with this hotel especially getting chatting to Anthony in house waiter from Manchester he was so helpful if only all hotels had someone as friendly and professional as As this young man thank you Anthony for all your help and support.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Anthony - wonderful to read!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Escape06728043538 wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions
Comfortable hotel with everything we needed. Lovely views from the lounge area and restaurant. Everywhere was very clean. Friendly staff who went the extra mile. Amazing beach below reached by steps down the cliff from the hotel. Good parking. Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your 5* review following your recent stay - I'm really glad you were so comfortable whilst with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gingerbreadgirls wrote a review Oct 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
I stayed at The Pines exactly two years ago with my daughter and so we decided to return this year, this time with my parents as well. Although we weren’t lucky enough to get rooms with a sea view this time around, we cannot fault our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating ( big shout out to Anthony from Manchester in particular, who was super friendly and helpful - he even found some Marmite for my daughter’s toast!) Loved the morning sea views from the dining room windows. We didn’t try the evening meals but the breakfasts were very good, as were the sandwiches we had in the lounge on our last evening. I’m sure we’ll be back at some point!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Holt, General Manager at The Pines Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay - I am delighted to read your comments and have passed them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Swanage area.
PRICE RANGE
£108 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pines hotel swanage
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetIsle of PurbeckSwanage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PINES HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Swanage)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pines Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pines Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Swanage Putting Green, Tennis & Outdoor Bowls (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pines Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Pines Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pines Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pines Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Down The Beach, The Cabin, and Sea Breeze Restaurant.
Is The Pines Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Swanage.
Are pets allowed at The Pines Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pines Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pines Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jurassic Coast (1.4 miles), Fort Henry (1.7 miles), and Keates Quarry Dinosaur Footprints (3.1 miles).
Does The Pines Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Pines Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.