We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wingrove House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wingrove House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

A warm welcome but it went downhill from there. We enjoyed coffee on the verandah outside our room, but were surprised to find the tray still there on returning from the restaurant. Maybe it would be removed when our early morning tea (offered by reception on our arrival) was delivered but this never appeared. The bathroom: three tissues in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTrev
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Intrepid Trev, we are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in September. We are unable to address any of your comments as it was four months ago however you must have caught us on a rare day.

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Wingrove House a couple of weekends ago and enjoyed the experience very much. We had room 5,a very pleasant room. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The location was quiet even though on the main village road. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and throughout. We enjoyed the tasty cooked breakfast, home made jam,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loxbury
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Loxbury, thank you! Well done for completing the South Downs Way and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Do come and see us again for a relaxing stay.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had been recommended the Wingrove and thought we would try it out for dinner with friends We weren't disappointed The food was excellent as were the surroundings. The lounge was very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the restaurant The only mild criticism was that the staff seemed nervous and collected plates without noticing that one person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenwbrooks
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear kenwbrooks, thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the food and were able to relax in the lounge. We hope your enjoyment wasn't hampered by an over enthusiastic member of waiting staff - it can take a little while to develop the finer skills.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at Wingrove House. The room was nice and comfortable though a bit noisy from cars. We like to open our window for fresh air but if you don't mind that, it's very quiet with the windows shut. My review is really to say thank you to Elsie, a member of staff. I think Elsie is one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mitzimcnabs
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Mitzimcnabs, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Elsie is thrilled to be thanked in such a way - yes, she is very special and always happy to wear many hats! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Five of us stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our friend's birthday and had a really lovely weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were terrific - they even served the toast when we like it (ie at the same time as the cooked breakfast and not before!). We had dinner at the hotel on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Elaine C, thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you here. Here's to the next birthday!

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Friends had asked us if we have been to Wingrove house before and the answer was no. So went on Friday evening for dinner and it was excellent no complaints on the food, service and hospitality 1st class. I have now booked to go back again in December.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billtrathen
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear billtrathen - thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so please that you have discovered the wonders of Wingrove and look forward to seeing you in December.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Had another meal here for a different occasion this time. A family get together so mildly tense as it was our choice of venue. No need though as food, service and drinks were all perfect....... missed the lamb though?! London fine dining in Sussex........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamienpowell
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Hello jamienpowell, we're so pleased you had a lovely time and that we exceeded your expectations! Come and see us again soon.

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I asked for roast beef a little rare and that's what I got. But plenty of it and accompanied by 6 vegetables, all nicely cooked and presented. My wife chose confit of rabbit which she also found delicious. Add very pleasant starters and puddings, which we shared, all served pleasantly and promptly in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindfieldresident
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Thank you lindfieldresident, we're so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and look forward to you coming to see us again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Sunday lunch in refurbished restaurant . Rather limited wine list . Very good starters , in particular , chicken liver parfait also a plate of local charcuterie . Super pickled veg . Loads of veg with main courses . Roast of the day was local Sussex lamb , pink and tasty . Interesting desserts , in particular , a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller270890
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and found the service to be attentive. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

You have to top up your own wine but at least it is reasonably priced. Food is pretty good overall. My wife had smoked salmon with beetroot to start and enjoyed it, had to ask for some lemon and small portion. My son and I had crispy pork belly salad nice but again very small. For mains pan fried fillet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itmakessense123
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review - its always lovely to be appreciated and we're delighted you enjoyed your meal. It was very kind of you to leave a tip for us. I can assure you that 100% of all tips comes to all staff. The main reason we don't usually accept gratuities on credit card is that...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
168 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,333 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,392 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wingrove House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wingrove House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were there for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles lindfieldresident, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is not huge but has a king size bed and balcony and is on the lst floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Morgancouple, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Balcony rooms are special; the others are not.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasT857, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, and outstanding value”
 of 5 bubbles johnhH8379YR, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are in the top rooms keep the windows open and the air blade on to create a beautiful breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles keatsandshelly, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5