We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (582)
Room & Suite (397)
Dining (140)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Alfriston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
1,477Review18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 755
  • 418
  • 179
  • 90
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
John G wrote a review Jan 2024
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy4 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice staff and a good restaurant but the hotel has low water pressure meaning the shower took about 15 minutes for hot water to come through. The next morning we couldn't even get any water from the hot taps at all. It does mention this in the information folder in your room. However, I would not have booked the hotel if I'd have known. I also did not fancy changing rooms in an attempt to find a working shower.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Steve W wrote a review Jan 2024
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom1 contribution
A thoroughly enjoyable stay. All the staff were really friendly and attentive and gave the impression they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. The dinner was superb. Our double aspect bedroom offered superb views over the very flooded Cuckmere valley. Warm and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Spjosh wrote a review Jan 2024
Brighton, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
Such a wonderful retreat, our second Christmas stay at Deans Place. From front of house, and all who cared for us throughout our stay faultless. Lovely clean room with stunning views of the Sussex Downs So much attention to detail in the the bar lounges and dinning areas The food was exceptional interesting menus each sitting and the staff in all areas of the hotel gave so much time to all guest i Thank you to every one, we wish you every luck and success for 2024
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You won’t be disappointed, cream tea in the garden in the summer not to be missed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ivor wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
We had been to Deans Place last New Years as part of a large group. We booked again this year, again as part of a large group. Unfortunately, my father was taken into hospital seriously ill the day before we were due to go. Additionally, my brother was taken into hospital with kidney stones. Because of this we were unable to go the hotel. Admittedly it was very last minute, but in view of the extreme circumstances, our previous custom and also the many people we had recommended to the hotel, I thought that the management would grant us at least a partial refund. However, the staff were completely unsympathetic and refused to give us any compensation at all. I am very disappointed at this total lack of customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Dopson, Owner at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear Ivor, As you quite rightly say, your partner contacted the hotel at very late notice. The terms of the booking for the New Year package were very clear and your partner was in agreement that she knew the booking was non-refundable. We were however happy to not charge for the additional third night which was added separately to extend your booking. We agreed that if we were able to resell the 2 night package to another couple then we would be able to refund you, however due to the extremely late nature of the cancellation, we no longer had an active waiting list as all possible guests had already found alternative venues for their New Year’s Eve celebrations. We are unable to amend cancellation terms in the manner you are suggesting, as it would be entirely unprofessional and unfair to other bookings. As discussed on the phone, I would always recommend adequate travel insurance is taken out for any high value non-refundable booking. We wish you all the best for 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LK_MBE wrote a review Jan 2024
Colchester, United Kingdom1143 contributions226 helpful votes
+1
Our 5th visit to this charming country hotel, this time we took their New Years Package. We had a lovely time. The staff and owners here are fabulous and we were made to feel very welcome. Room 17 was lovely and cosy. Huge comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. The weather was too windy and rainy to use the balcony which overlooked the swimming pool (need to come back in the summer!). Room 17 has a wet room and it take a little while for the shower to heat up, but once it does, it's fine. We had two breakfasts and two dinners as part of the package, the food was superb both evenings and service top notch. The breakfasts are some of the best I have eaten in any hotel. My compliments to the Chef.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the controls for the bathroom heater is just outside the door
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ECCLondon wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Did not feel the hotel represented value for money. There was no hot water on the morning of my stay, and although I was given a discount I don't knw if it would have been spontaneously offered. Room was comfortable and clean but nothing special for the price. A comfy armchair would have been a good addition and some softer pillows. Also was asked to pay on arrival, which seems a bit off for this type of hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Expedition576256 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We stayed two nights including the New Year’s Eve celebrations. The location was great, the staff lovely and the food excellant BUT the accommodation and management were not what we would expect from a four star hotel. The room information warned that hot water may be slow in coming through because the vintage plumbing but when we tried to take a shower on New Year's eve not a drop of water at any temperature appeared at the shower, bath or basin. On reporting this the the manager his repeat response was that "he could do nothing about the plumbing" - which was probably true. But he could have done something about two disappointed, unhappy and frustrated guests other than say " don't let it spoil your evening ". If you do stay , I advise avoiding room 3; we had the same problem with the hot water on the morning of New Year's Day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 3
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
raypcs109 wrote a review Dec 2023
Ditchling, United Kingdom82 contributions31 helpful votes
This is the fourth time we have spent Christmas at Deans Place, we are welcomed as friends and as with all residents are treated really well. We had really good food and a comfortable room. My wife and I are vegetarian and also alcohol free as well as my being diabetic. The food was provided sympathetically to meet our requirements and the choice of wines was also exceptionally good. We will certainly be returning in 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian D wrote a review Dec 2023
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom26 contributions22 helpful votes
A very pleasant setting despite local area flooding. A place in need of a bit of TLC but the rooms & staff great. Room was the right size for me with all appliances working. Quiet & a comfortable bed. The staff were most helpful at all times. Meals a little variable & service similarly. However when part of a group this really didn't matter. Would I stay again - definitely yes!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gina B wrote a review Dec 2023
Eastbourne, United Kingdom1 contribution
Great welcome, upgraded us to rooms 23 & 24 overlooking the gardens - although flooded by recent rainfalls, the view was stunning and teaming with wildlife. Amazing warm spacious rooms, the bathroom will soon warm up once the hugely fluffy towels are removed from radiator / towel heater. 24 has lovely William Morris wall paper and recently refurbished. Food amazing, wonderfully presented and tasty including breakfast. 6 foot wide beds, cotton bedding. Pillows are not feather but we travel with our own! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There’s no lift but very helpful staff available to carry luggage
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alfriston area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
deans place alfriston
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexAlfriston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DEANS PLACE COUNTRY HOTEL AND RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Alfriston Clergy House (0.1 miles), St Andrew's Church (0.1 miles), and Much Ado Books (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include badgers Tea House, The Singing Kettle Tea House, and The George Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Alfriston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Deans Place Country Hotel and Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.