We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seadragon Backpackers

Save
Share
36 Waterloo Street, Brighton BN3 1AY England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Seadragon Backpackers
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 47 Speciality lodging in Brighton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a Backpackers hostel situated in the centre of Brighton city. Ideal for those seeking accommodation on a budget, we provide rooms with either 4 beds, 2 beds or double private rooms. Reopening on July 15th and looking forward to an awesome summer sharing Brighton with Backpackers from all over
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Laundry service
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
68Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 17
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lauren E wrote a review 25 Jul
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent facilities, very comfy beds and lovely staff. Would highly recommend. Located in a great area, just minutes from the seafront. Perfect place to stay on your own or with friends. Will definitely be returning when back in Brighton.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cameron M wrote a review 14 Jul
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Avoid staying here. The person who served us (Joe) was hostile from the beginning and escalated this into very aggressive and rude behaviour, literally shouting and swearing at us for minor issues. The main issue was a broken lock on the bathroom door - for which he took £40 from the security deposit (without providing a receipt). But he was disrespectful throughout, shouting at the group for things like trying to find a bathroom in the hostel or knocking on doors. I've rarely been treated so poorly by someone who works in a customer-facing role. Avoid this hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Seadragon Backpackers, Owner at Seadragon Backpackers
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Cameron - Thanks agin for another review. I also appreciate your follow up email stating "If after 25 years of working in hospitality you think it's appropriate to shout and swear at customers, no wonder you are where you are". You are actually on camera in front of a staff member when charged £20 for the replacement - Trying to inflate this for your friends benefit is an excalation of your spite towards the fact that you were in the wrong and breaching several Covid Protocols, which in turn put other guests at risk. You have already been told that you are no longer welcome . The fact that you think it is okay to be a keyboard warrior after the exchange of 25 emails, and 4 calls between us just to help you set up the weekend plus an extra room for you free of charge to avoid having to do lateral flow tests, and a comprehensive sit down on check-in to explain the protocols means, means you have a skewed version of facts - maybe because you were a bit worse for ware all weekend. I should have trusted my gut and ejected you after the first night. Goes to show how wrong I was considering you are now trying to find any message board to vent to. Regards Joe
Read more
Hester H wrote a review 1 Jul
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Joe is thee best host you are ever likely to meet. Best time of my life . Prime location and everything close by. Very clean and extremely comfortable bed. Best nights sleep I have ever had. I can't emphasise how highly I rate the seasragon hostel. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Seadragon Backpackers, Owner at Seadragon Backpackers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Hester, Thanks so much for the review, really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and our memory foam matresses. Hopefully you can come again later in the year once restrictions are lifted, until then, have a great summer, Regards Seadragon
Read more
Alphoncina B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It was really lovely to stay there! The room was cozy and the bed very comfy. The shower/toilets were very clean which was appreciable. I visited during COVID-19 and all the safety measures were applied. The hostel is well located ( 15 min walk to city center and about 5 min to the beach). Lovely neighbourhood, with a lot of restaurants. I recommend! I decided to come a few days so I could work in a quiet but also nice environment so all my expectations were met. 🇫🇷 For my fellow French people, si vous cherchez une auberge de jeunesse, bien située et avec un excellent rapport qualité/ prix, n’hésitez pas!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
laurakorner wrote a review Jul 2020
Emmen, Switzerland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Reasonable price for a hostel close to town center. Very clean rooms and shower/toilet!! The area is quite. Due to Covid we had a 4 bed dorm to ourselfes which was very convinient. We could use facilities like the kitchen due to Covid which was fine tho
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Seadragon Backpackers, Owner at Seadragon Backpackers
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We will have the kitchen and lounge open again as soon as government restrictions are lifted , hopefully you can drop back and enjoy the Hostel to its fullest extent soon. Till then, Happy Travels Seadragon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Seadragon Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Seadragon Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include 76 Hen Events (0.3 miles), Maggie Mae’s (0.3 miles), and Medusa Bar Brighton (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Seadragon Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Seadragon Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Seadragon Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baqueano, Nanninella Pizzeria, and Constantinople Restaurant.
Is Seadragon Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Brighton.
Are there any historical sites close to Seadragon Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Pavilion (0.8 miles), Kemptown (1.3 miles), and St Bartholomews (0.9 miles).