We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (189)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#23 of 47 hotels in Brighton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new Brighton i360 is right on our doorstep.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Car park
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English
163Reviews0Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 32
  • 21
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DCSTEED wrote a review Feb 2024
63 contributions30 helpful votes
disappointing really , At nearly £300 for one night in February I expected more . Check in is not till 4pm and the queues meant we could not access our room till nearly 5 . Room , small but adequate and clean . We booked a slot at the pool and spa for 5.30 , supposedly adult only time , when we got there it was so packed with children there was no room so we just left . Seems pointless booking a spot if there is no management of numbers . Another gripe is that unless you subscribe to the loyalty scheme there is a charge for wifi which seems extortionate , it is free in most basic and budget hotels
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 3 days ago
Dear DCSTEED, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced during your time at our hotel. We regret that the value for money did not meet your expectations. I understand that the check-in process was delayed due to queues, and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused. Please be assured that we continuously strive to improve our check-in procedures to ensure a smoother experience for our guests. Regarding your experience at the pool and spa, I apologise for any overcrowding and lack of management during your booked time slot. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will review our procedures to ensure that future bookings are managed more effectively, especially during designated adult-only times. I also apologise for any frustration regarding the Wi-Fi charges. I understand that complimentary Wi-Fi is an expectation for many guests, and we will take your feedback into consideration. Our Wi-Fi is a benefit for our Hilton Honors member, which is free to join. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. I hope that despite these challenges, you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more positive experience. Warm regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bella wrote a review Jun 2023
England, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Stunning room, floor to ceiling windows with Seaview and large balcony. Beautifully decorated and brand new. Excellent customer service at reception. The general feel of the building is grand, marble staircase, paintings etc Breakfast was varied and good quality The swimming pool and changing rooms need renovation and the pool water looked murky, needs more chlorine. In general the swimming pool and changing rooms do not match the standards of the rest of the hotel… perhaps last to be renovated ? Overall, very happy with our stay and loved the Seaview balcony and excellent service
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Cottrell, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 2 Jun 2023
Dear BellaKhan123 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate the 5* rating! I will ensure that your comments about the pool area are shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Brighton again very soon. Warm regards Joe Cottrell Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D H wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel in general is nice, it’s high ceilings and open reception area with wide staircases and corridors give it a grand feel to it. The staff were friendly and they did try to accommodate our needs the best they could. It’s located in a perfect location right in the centre of town on the seafront. There are only a few negatives that I can mention… Check in is quite late (4pm) although we did pay £25 for early check in which gave us another 3 hours extra. The pool: I feel there isn’t enough done to ensure a nice flow of people using the pool at any one time, we were told we had to book a slot to use the pool (which we did) Whilst talking to other people using the pool we found out that there were other people who didn’t book and just turned up, even people who managed to walk in and use the pool without staying at the hotel or even paying… it’s set up in a way that any member of the public can just wonder in with swimwear and a towel and just help themselves to the pool and spa and just write a random name and room number on the form as you enter (as these are not checked or there is no way of checking that they have actually paid to use the pool/spa) We deliberately booked the pool for just before the children were supposed to leave (5pm) as we didn’t want to be surrounded by kids… it got to 5:30 and it was still full of kids so no member of staff comes in to ensure the kids leave at the time stated… it got to a point that we just left as it was way too busy with kids and non paying adults. Also due to the spa/pool facilities being open to the public I did notice the state of the changing rooms/showers were absolutely filthy… I felt dirtier after using the showers then I did before to be honest so ended up having another shower when I got back to my room. Bearing in mind I paid almost £300 for a room for just 1 night it was a shame that not only was I sharing the facilities with random people off the street who did not pay, I was met with such poor shower/changing facilities. When trying to book the pool/spa, it took me half an hour of constant calling, I eventually had to call through to reception and inform them that I couldn’t get through to the spa to which they told me they would run down themselves and speak to them and call me back. (They called back within 5-10 minutes and all was ok to head straight down) The room itself was ok, it was clean and tidy but a lot smaller and basic than I thought it would be for such a popular and expensive hotel. All in all it was a nice stay but personally I don’t think I would pay the amount to stay again but that is just my personal opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 5 days ago
Dear A6014XFdh, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's atmosphere and appreciated our central location and grand interior. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our pool facilities. Our pool is indeed open to both hotel guests and Health Club members, and we strive to ensure a pleasant experience for all users. We do monitor entries to the pool area and have technology in place to track access. However, we are sorry for the miscommunication about the children's pool opening times. We will take steps to ensure this is more clearly explained to our guests. Regarding the cleanliness of the changing rooms and showers, we sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. This is not the standard of cleanliness we aim to maintain, and we will address this issue with our team to ensure improvements are made. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will use it to make necessary improvements to enhance the guest experience. We hope that despite these issues, you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more enjoyable experience. Thank you, Grace Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael K wrote a review Feb 2024
Slough, United Kingdom127 contributions80 helpful votes
Have stayed here several times before and on this visit, overall, a good stay. Reception staff are always exemplary, the room spacious with a sea view, breakfast offering a plentiful and wide choice. Since lockdowns, housekeeping seems to be the one area that struggles to cope to get things done in a timely manor. Disappointing to leave at 9am and return at 4pm to find room still to be made up.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Michael K, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole, I'm delighted to hear that overall, you had a good experience with us. It's wonderful to hear that you found our reception staff to be exemplary and enjoyed the spacious room with a sea view, as well as the plentiful breakfast offerings. Your kind words will be shared with our team, who work diligently to ensure every guest feels welcomed and well taken care of. However, I want to extend my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced with the housekeeping service during your stay. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team, and we are actively addressing this to ensure improvements are made to enhance the overall guest experience. I understand the importance of timely and efficient housekeeping services, especially during your stay. Please know that we are taking steps to address any challenges and ensure that all rooms are promptly attended to in the future. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and enhance our service standards. We appreciate your understanding and patience as we work to address this matter. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable experience in the future. Warmest regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
androo b wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Took multiple payments due to fault their end. Made to feel it was my fault and my issue, nothing to do with them. A week later still not heard back. Managed to cancel two payments with my bank still waiting for one refund on my credit card that was taken 3 days later. Been a Hilton member for years and used many hotels, customer service has made me consider no longer using Hilton. Hotel looked tired, bathroom had a couple of issues and the breakfast was adequate at best. Didn't sleep due to worrying how I was going to finance myself over the next two weeks and ruined the concert I went to as could not relax.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear androo73, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole. It's deeply concerning to learn that you faced challenges with multiple payments and did not receive the level of service and support you deserve as a valued Hilton member. Please know that this falls short of the high standards we strive to maintain, and I assure you that your feedback will be addressed with our team to prevent similar incidents from occurring in the future. Regarding the refund for the payment issue, I understand the urgency and frustration surrounding the delay. I want to assure you that our team is actively working to resolve this matter, and I will personally follow up to ensure it is processed promptly. Please rest assured that your concerns have been escalated to the appropriate departments for immediate action. Additionally, I apologise for the condition of the hotel and the breakfast experience not meeting your expectations. Your comments regarding the tired appearance of the property and the breakfast quality have been duly noted, and I will ensure they are addressed with our management team to make necessary improvements. It's disheartening to hear that your stay with us impacted your overall experience and enjoyment of the concert. Please know that your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we deeply regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused. Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings of your recent stay. Your feedback is incredibly important to us, and we are committed to making things right and regaining your trust as a valued Hilton guest. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a truly memorable experience. Warm regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HELLO076 wrote a review Feb 2024
London119 contributions44 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in the centre of Brighton overlooking the seafront. We just stayed for one night over the weekend and had a lively stay at the Hilton. The room was lovely with a comfy bed. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a sea view room and this was lovely. There are 2 windows you can look out into the sea and promenade. We came to celebrate my husbands birthday which we had been celebrating for the last 2 weeks ha ha. It was a special one. Lucy at the front desk ensured we had everything we needed. The room came with tea coffee and water. Toiletries were also available and if you required tooth brushes you could call down to reception. The shower was over the bath and this was an old style shower with not much water pressure but as we were there for an only a night we made do. The hotel also came with slippers and robes which was lovely. Breakfast at the hotel was super. So many times to choose from and all fresh and delicious. The hotel itself has been around for a long time but inside it’s very modern and fresh. Didn’t use the pool and sauna but did have a look and they looked very nice. Parking is expensive as all of Brighton is, the hotel has their parking in the basement. Overall a lovely hotel and a nice place to spend the weekend. Would 100% recommend and return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Seaview rooms are lovely
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear HELLO076, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole. I am thrilled to hear that you had a lively and enjoyable stay, celebrating your husband's birthday! It's fantastic to know that you found your room comfortable, and I'm delighted that you were able to enjoy the upgrade to a sea view room. Lucy will be delighted to hear that she ensured you had everything you needed for a memorable stay. I am pleased that you appreciated the amenities in your room, including the complimentary tea, coffee, and water, as well as the availability of toiletries and the option to request toothbrushes from reception. Your feedback regarding the shower pressure is duly noted, and we will certainly look into this to ensure a better experience for our guests. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection, and we're thrilled to hear your positive comments about the modern and fresh ambiance of our hotel. It's also great to know that you had the chance to peek at our pool and sauna facilities. I understand that parking can be pricey in Brighton, but we're glad you found convenience in utilising our on-site parking in the basement. Thank you for your glowing recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay. Warm regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigel wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions7 helpful votes
Overall, for the price we paid, we are extremely disappointed with our stay. 1st the good points, breakfast was plentiful, good choice and quality, the bars manager Valentina is also a credit to the hotel, it’s a shame she is leaving. The hotel is clean and well maintained, and now it starts to deteriorate. Staying Friday and Saturday night we paid well north of £400, the room on the Saturday night was just short of £265! We thought we had booked a premium room with a sea view, we got the sea view but not the premium. The room was tiny, and the bed was only a double although the receptionist insisted it was a queen size bed. The bathroom was so small, you could barely open the door and step in, it almost touched the toilet, additionally there was just a shower over the tiny bath, if you want a bigger room or bathroom, DO NOT BOOK this type of room. On arrival, there was 1 receptionist checking in all guests, and this was the same with checkout on the Sunday. She was clearly embarrassed as she kept apologising, but no one came to rescue her. After being given our room card, I had to go back to reception to make sure we had been allocated the correct classification of room. I was amazed we were being charged so much for such a small room. I was told it was the correct allocation, and if I wanted an upgrade I would have to pay a additional fee, nothing about how much, what our options were, just we had to pay the additional fee. I was told there were no similar rooms with a sea view available, so we had to settle for a side sea view ( no offer of refunding the premium I paid for the sea view ).Yes the room was larger, we also had a bigger bed, but no biscuits on the tea tray, the milk was just sachets and the supplies were limited. On the Friday night we had a couple of drinks in the bar, these are charged to the room, no problem. On the Saturday night, we tried to do the same, but the bartender said there was no credit on the room, so I would have to pay cash, I asked him to check with reception, to which he refused, I told him we done this the night before, but he would not listen and as he walked away he called me “Fella”😂Think I am old enough to be his grandad. We used the spa facilities, the gents changing room is tired, not that clean, and did not appear to be attended to during the day, take note you need to take towels from your room to use in the spa - not sure why. Checking out on the Sunday was another painful experience, slow, had trouble printing my room charges. Bearing in mind I was told my room had no credit I was charged £93.99, which was £43.99 on drinks and £50 room credit. I queried this but was told it was normal practice to do this, and it would be refunded , but it’s the 6th Feb, and I am still waiting, additionally we were not told there was a car park close by with preferential rates, no doubt to busy checking guests in. So, overall a disappointing stay, I have spoken to the hotel, but this got me nowhere. We are frequent visitors to Brighton, but will not be booking the Metropole again, I am sure there is better for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You need to take your room towels to use at the leisure facility.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Boff1962, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. I want to sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit. Your experience does not reflect the level of service we strive to provide, and I understand your disappointment. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the plentiful breakfast and found our bars manager, Valentina, to be a credit to the hotel. However, it's disheartening to learn about the issues you faced with the room size, bed type, bathroom condition, check-in/check-out process, bar service, spa facilities, and billing confusion. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken seriously, and we are actively addressing each concern to ensure improvements are made. I understand that one of our managers is already in communication with you to discuss the above matters in more detail. We genuinely value your feedback and want to ensure that we do everything we can to make things right. Once again, I apologise for the disappointment you experienced, and I hope we have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. If you have any further concerns or if there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out. Warm regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annabelt78 wrote a review Feb 2024
Orpington, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
Our Queen Suite was everything we wanted. Huge, clean & quiet. Lovely sea view to one side although sadly high rise building works to the other, but hey you can't have it all. We really enjoyed our bar experience in the Met too - Valentina went above and beyond guest expectations. All in all a very good experience and we would book again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Annabelt78, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am thrilled to hear that our Queen Suite exceeded your expectations and provided you with everything you wanted for your stay. It's wonderful to know that you found the suite to be huge, clean, and quiet, and that you enjoyed the lovely sea view. While we apologise for any inconvenience caused by the high-rise building works nearby, we're glad that it didn't detract too much from your overall experience. I'm delighted that you had a great bar experience at The Metropole Bar, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Valentina for going above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future! Warm regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
krisldn1711 wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom8 contributions
The room was fantastic, it had the most gorgeous sea view and I could hear the waves in the morning - a nice relaxing stay. The on-site restaurant was also really good for a late lunch, and the breakfast was great too. The staff are really nice and helpful. Will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Venture44374035113, Thank you for your wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed the gorgeous sea view from your room. I am delighted that you found it to be a nice and relaxing experience. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals at our on-site restaurant and that both the late lunch and breakfast met your expectations. Our team takes pride in providing excellent service, and we're delighted that you found them to be really nice and helpful. It's fantastic to know that you had such a positive experience with us, and we would be honored to welcome you back for another stay in the future! Best regards, Amy Parker Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julieann B wrote a review Feb 2024
13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Traveling with my elderly mother in law, there were a few things I wish had been different, but overall, after speaking with guest relations, they do care about any issues you may encounter, so please just speak up right away during your stay so they can make things right. First, upon arrival, the ramp was unusable due to the door being out of service. This makes entry into the front of the hotel difficult if you have a lot of luggage or any mobility issues as there are no bellhops or doorman. So if you have any mobility issues or need a hand, contact the hotel as apparently there is another entrance and if staff is made aware before hand, they will be happy to help. Our stay was also in the off season, so perhaps that is different during the summer. Parking. Yes, the negative reviews are correct. This garage is at first a seeming maze with zero intuitiveness about flow of traffic, and location of entry into the hotel. The entire car park is VERY tight and you must make sure your vehicle is not too tall or long. Having a longer vehicle proved to be difficult to park in this garage during low season and probably would be too difficult in high season. If you are extremely careful, slow and methodical you should be ok, but be prepared for backing up, and making a couple of 4-5 point turns when you don’t get it just right. I had tremendous difficulty the first day even just finding the entrance and recommended the hotel do what they can to improve signage. The fee of 25 pounds per day is reasonable considering the location and you can come and go as you please. But you MUST be careful as other reviewers have mentioned. Rooms: We had two connecting rooms with a view of the Channel and the views are worth any extra cost you may incur. Diamond members should probably not expect an upgrade during high season due to this property’s location so book exactly what you want the first time. In the off season, you will probably get lucky. The building inside clearly has a long history with lovely crown molding, and touches of its history, many of which my mother in law remembers from decades ago. Bedding: I found the pillows to be in good condition, but the mattress should be updated as I have slept on better ones at Hilton properties. For Diamond members, the breakfast is on the plus side compared to other Doubletrees in the UK we have stayed in. Highly recommend the folks that will cook up eggs or an omelette to your exact liking. The cut up fruit could have been fresher, but the overall selection is very good for a Doubletree with something for everyone. The restaurant/bar/lounge service staff for the evening are welcoming, kind and easy to interact with having a good sense of humor. The pool/jacuzzi: If you are looking for a true hot tub, one that relaxes your muscles after a day of walking the beach and The Lanes, this may not be the place for you. When I tried it out, unfortunately it was too cold to properly relax in and several other guests that we interacted with felt the same. When speaking with guest relations we were told they keep it between 36 and 38 degrees. So if you like you prefer a luke warm bath with lots of jets, this will be perfect for you. Room Service: Getting a hold of someone proved to be difficult, leaving me imaging they must be short staffed. Our solution was to call the front desk and they seem to be used to getting calls, because both times we were told they would have someone call back. Someone did call back within a few minutes and food was delivered on and before the time we were given. The Spa: The Metropole promotes the spa online, on the tele and with in room promotional papers. We found the spa VERY difficult to locate and after asking several people for assistance, when arriving and expressing our concerns to the staff they said that it was a problem and their requests for better signage had been turned down by the hotel. Overall, a fine stay for excellent location with some suggestions for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the view you want in high season, speak to management right away with any concerns, read up...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Julieannb558, Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback about your recent stay at The Doubletree by Hilton Brighton. We appreciate your thorough review and the valuable insights you've shared. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the view from your rooms, and we're glad the staff at the restaurant/bar provided a welcoming and enjoyable experience. We appreciate your positive remarks about the breakfast offerings, especially the personalized cooking of eggs and omelettes. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced upon arrival. Your comments regarding the parking, spa and room service will be passed on to our senior management team for review. We'll also take note of your feedback on the mattress quality and ensure it is addressed. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing constructive suggestions for enhancement. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an even more pleasant experience. Thank you, Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brighton area.
PRICE RANGE
£93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton brighton metropole hotel brighton, brighton metropole
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
321
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON BRIGHTON METROPOLE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Nearby attractions include Pier Pressure Brighton Escape Rooms (0.3 miles), Hatchet Harry's Axe Throwing Brighton (0.3 miles), and The Quadrant (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pamukkale Turkish Restaurant Brighton, Ephesus Brighton, and A Taste of Sahara.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Brighton.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Brighton Metropole?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Pavilion (0.5 miles), Brighton and Hove Museum (0.5 miles), and St Bartholomews (0.8 miles).
<