We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gullivers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed in the hotel for a night to visit my brother who lives in Brighton. The room was sufficient for a nights sleep but we wouldn't recommend staying there for more than one night. The decor was very dated and the pictures online gave a much more modern look than what you get. The bathroom ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine A
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jasmin A, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your feedback. We have a very exciting refurbishment plan in place for the hotel over the winter months and hope to be able to address many of your observations. We are happy to hear nonetheless that you enjoyed your visit to Brighton and would be delighted...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

Booked in here Monday to Friday, arrived Monday to a very shabby room, uucomfortable beds and not even tea and coffee. Tuesday husband taken ill and we spent data at hospital. Informed staff we were returning home next day but we're told we could not have a refund. Manager never even got in touch with us. Returned home so husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liverpooleq
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liverpooleq, Thank you for staying with us last month and we are sorry that your visit was cut short. Unfortunately we do operate a strict cancellation policy, however usually when mitigating circumstances are involved we do make every attempt to be flexible e.g. attempt to resell the room perhaps, so that we can relinquish some of the penalty charges...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last minute. Small room and friendly staff. Room a bit dated but good price. However made the mistake of not reading the room description carefully enough when booking. I had a room without an en suite bathroom or toilet. Hate that but my mistake. Great location near the sea front and St James Street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher B, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Unfortunately it is true that our single rooms are non-en suite and whilst we do make every effort to ensure that this is clearly described on all booking sites, we understand that mistakes can happen. If you...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I wish I'd heeded the feedback from spyr088. We stayed in 309 and it's all very down at heel; I'm not sure how this qualifies as a boutique hotel - the fixtures and furnishings are old, grubby and just need updating. Breakfast was a ramshackle affair and they 'ran out' of bacon at 9.30am on a Saturday morning! I considered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you for your recent custom and we are sorry to hear that there were a few misgivings during your stay. Your concerns have been reported directly onto our heads of department do that they can be followed up and we can ensure standards are improved for the future. Kind Regards.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel The Gullivers hotel New Steine road Brighton is without doubt one of the biggest dumps I have ever stayed in!!! At a half price September rate of £125 for two nights for two persons I brought my mum here for a pre 70th birthday treat. On the plus side. The beds are nice the room is decorated nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dogboarder
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dogboarder, Thank you for you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are very sorry to hear about the numerous issues encountered throughout your visit and your notes have been passed onto all our heads of department so that they can be followed up and we can ensure...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed in a Deluxe Double (room 309) but like other reviewers I'm not sure how you could describe this room as 'Deluxe'. The staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in. When we first entered the room the bed looked lovely and huge, but on closer inspection it was made up of two singles pushed together, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spyr088
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spyr088, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your detailed feedback. Guest feedback both positive and negative are a vital means for us to continue upholding standards and expectations and so we appreciate you taking the time to elaborate. Your notes have been passed directly onto senior management and we hope to be able to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My wife, my son and I stayed in a triple room for one night to go to our daughter's graduation. It was a nice and big room on the top of the building so it was very quiet and we had a good rest ! We needed to have the room a little bit earlier than check-in, but we called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobNigel12
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thebignaine54, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are so happy to see that you found our facilities and services to be welcoming and relaxing and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future. Likewise please don't hesitate to...

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Not sure how this hotel got 4 stars. OUr room was a twin deluxe no.309 don't know what was deluxe apart from maybe the sea view. On the upside the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom, especially shower very small. Spent one night awake due to i assume drunks and worse in the green in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann O, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel during your recent visit to Brighton and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very sorry if there was disturbance from outside the hotel during your visit. Unfortunately we are in a very popular and busy part of town and so it is possible that weekend...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed in a family room on the top floor, the room was a decent size and the staff were lovely. We got there early but they still let us check in after making sure room was ready. There were no towels but they remedied that by the time we returned. However, once we got a proper look round it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kazbah
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kazbah, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit. We are happy to hear that your were made to feel welcome by our reception staff and that small issues were efficiently remedied upon your arrival. However I am very sorry to hear that there were oversights on behalf of...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I booked Gullivers for myself and 4 others for a 2 night trip to brighton for a friends birthday. I booked a double room and a triple room a few months in advance of our arrival. When we arrived we were told that they were going to take 20% off the triple room as there had been a "small leak"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaynorF22
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GaynorF22, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel for your group visit to Brighton and we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the level of service offered during your visit. Please rest assured that this incident was indeed a rare and unanticipated event and not a longstanding issue. We do apologise that you were not contacted...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#46 of 99 in Brighton
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 99 in Brighton
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#39 of 99 in Brighton
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#31 of 99 in Brighton
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#70 of 99 in Brighton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: £46 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to a Travelodge instead”
 of 5 bubbles spyr088, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in the front and very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles anno787, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find an ibis hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Kazbah, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“307 is in the back and is up 3 flights of small stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles stevinazo, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“En suite, near beach, clean”
 of 5 bubbles lelliec, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay